Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the week: kaaaaaaat

Posted by inkpop on October 27, 2009

kkkaaaaaaat

She’s too modest to say so, but Kat Musallam (aka kaaaaaaat) rocks both sides of the brain. 

Musallam taps into the creative side with her writing skills, and the scientific side as an aspiring doctor. Originally from the Phillipines, the 20-year-old lives in San Diego and plans to attend nursing school, followed by med school. “I am a writer at heart, but becoming a cardiologist is my top goal,” she says. “The ‘writer side’ of me knows that writing doesn’t have to be my profession for me to love it. I can write even if my name has ‘M.D.’ attached to it.”

inkpop: When did you realize you had a “writer side”?

kaaaaaaat: During freshman year in high school, I met the person who inspired me to write: my English teacher, who was also the coordinator of the school paper. She is a brilliant teacher, and I instantly signed up to be a writer for the school paper. It was definitely a memorable learning experience, one that fueled the writer in me to continue doing what I love.

What inspired you to write Lovephase, your two romance short stories?

I was inspired by Haruki Murakami’s short story On Seeing the 100% Perfect Girl One Beautiful April Morning. The plot is simple, but the flow is exceptional. I hoped to make something that was close to the beauty and simplicity of Murakami’s piece, so I tried writing a few short stories, each one dealing with a specific scene, stage, or phase of love, hence the title. I try to refrain from using names in Lovephase, so that anyone who reads any of the short stories can easily identify with the unnamed characters and the emotions those characters feel.

What do you find interesting about the inkpop community?

The influence of Trendsetters. You can definitely see that they have a big influence on which stories get recognition. Also, I think what sets inkpop apart from other writing communities is the Editorial Board. Other communities only have that writer-reader interaction, but to have a panel evaluate your work is something that we writers—especially those who aren’t so familiar with the publishing world—can only dream of. There are so many writers who have the makings of the next best-selling author, and this is the one thing that would help them get a publishing contract.

kaaaaaaat’s Favorite Writers:

J.K. Rowling:Harry Potter is one of the catalysts for my love of reading and writing, and I know that I’m not the only one in this world to say so.”

Haruki Murakami: “His style of writing is centered on emotions, surrealism, human isolation, and unexplained sadness in the mundane, everyday life of a human being.”

inkpop Forums Topic: Do you rock both sides of the brain?

The inkpop blog is written by inkpopAmy

2 Responses to “inkpopper of the week: kaaaaaaat”

  1. Nickle:D said

    Heyy you go girl! It’s awesome you made it as ink popper of the week! Yay!
    I just wanted to say that of course!:)

  2. […] by an editorial board and see what critiques must be like in the publishing world,” says the “twenteen-year-old.” “I think more writers should take this opportunity and write […]

Leave a Reply

 
