Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

Halloween costumes 2009: Got a plan?

Posted by inkpop on October 28, 2009

LadyGaga

Lady Gaga photo courtesy of myspace.com/ladygaga

I have a confession to make. I’ve always half-assed my Halloween costumes.

My resourceful (read, last-minute) costume ideas have included Football Fan (sweatshirt and hat with some team’s name on it), On Vacation (sunhat, Hawaiian shirt), and the Girl Who Forgot Halloween (jeans, T-shirt—oops!). You get the picture.

But not this year. For the first time in my life, I actually have a plan. Of course, I didn’t have to invest much effort into it. Three of my friends came up with a group-costume idea (the cast of Heathers), and helped me dig for a getup (shoulder pads and all) at a Brooklyn junk shop.

Every year, the most popular costumes center around pop culture. Two years ago, I ran around Chicago as a Handy Lady (tool belt, construction hard-hat) with my friend the Kissing Booth (the most cumbersome yet interactive costume ever), and we met a gazillion Amy Winehouses and Brett Michaels. Last year, Sarah Palin was on every block. But I doubt we’ll see any of those characters this year. Funny how Halloween costumes are a flash in the pan.

This year, I predict I’ll meet many a Lady Gaga, Hannah Montana, and Michael Jackson. And maybe a few creative types will pull off “Balloon Boy.” As for group costumes, I bet the cast of Twilight, High School Musical, Whip It, and Project Runway will be hits.

Still seeking Halloween costume ideas? Check out these suggestions:

“The Best and Worst Celebrity Halloween Costumes” (Marie Claire)”

Top 10 Halloween Costumes” (NBC New York)

“Top Ten Halloween Costumes 2009” (video)

inkpop Forums Topic: What are you going to be for Halloween?

The inkpop blog is written by inkpopAmy

Follow inkpop on Twitter: http://twitter.com/inkpop

3 Responses to “Halloween costumes 2009: Got a plan?”

  1. Definitely one of the better things I’ve read all day. Top notch stuff. 🙂

  2. I LOVE the Lady Gaga costume. If you’re going to wear it you have to go all the way though!

  3. Hey, great post, very well written. You should blog more about this. I’ll definitely be subscribing.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
