Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Safs

Posted by inkpop on November 24, 2009

When Safura Abdool Karim (aka Safs) posted an inkpop Forums thread called “Let’s Pay It Forward People,” inkpoppers flocked to the post to weigh in.  

Safs set a new tone on inkpop when she wrote, “Come on guys, let’s be a little selfless and give a hand to other amazing people on the site! I’m all for the self-advertising but I think it’s a good time to take off the selfish and pay back some of that good juju that we’ve all gotten on this site.”

The high-ranking Trendsetter’s selflessness carries over into her personal life. The 17-year-old who lives in Durban, South Africa, graduates from high school on the day this post goes live (November 24, 2009), and hopes to study journalism and law in college. “I want to change the world as a human rights lawyer,” she says.

What keeps Safs so involved with inkpop? In short, she’s a big fan. “My friends have forbidden me from even saying the word ‘inkpop’ because they’re so sick of hearing me talk about it!” she says.

inkpop: How much time do you spend on inkpop?

Safs: I work with an unfortunate disadvantage. Since there is an eight-hour gap between South African time and the U.S., I’m sleeping at peak inkpop times. When I log on, I have to catch up on everything I missed while I was dreaming, but I’m definitely an inkpop addict when I’m awake. I don’t think the amount of time I spend on inkpop really affects my ranking—I think it’s more about how you spend that time.

What kinds of inkpop projects are you most likely to add to your Picks list?

It doesn’t bug me if there are a couple errors or if the plot is unoriginal—the main thing is that the writing has to be good. Often I find excellent ideas on inkpop, but the writing doesn’t do them justice. I’m also a huge sucker for anything with music in it. Admittedly, I’m not that keen on paranormal or fantasy, but it really depends on the writing. At the moment I’m looking at stories that have a low ranking and trying to give them a boost.

With your “Let’s Pay It Forward People” Forums post, you basically started a “new movement” on inkpop. How’s this going?

When I first joined inkpop, it seemed like it was all about self-promotion, and while I don’t disagree that it’s necessary, I thought it would be a good to shift the dynamic of the site a little. People responded to it extremely well, and the whole idea seems to be going strong. It’s not just about recommending other people’s work—it’s about realizing that sometimes other people deserve the spotlight.

You write in your profile that your dream job is to be a writer for The Village Voice. What kind of stories do you want to write?

I am really into politics and investigative journalism. I want to make a difference in a huge way, and I think that the best way to do that is by writing. Journalists take things that make no sense and make them understandable to normal people. The Village Voice is what actually got me into the concept of “making a difference” after they published one of the best pieces of investigative journalism I’ve ever read [“Columbia’s Knotty Noose Problem”.] After that, journalism was my dream. Of course, it’s a dying career since newspapers can no longer afford to pour money into it, but I think that a career lawyer is a suitable alternative. It’s my ultimate job, but it’s only a dream.

inkpop Forums Topic: Safs answers inkpoppers’ questions.

The inkpop blog is written by inkpopAmy

Follow inkpop on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

 
