Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Miss Avarice

Posted by inkpop on December 30, 2009

Like most inkpoppers, 14-year-old Kailee (aka Miss Avarice) is a lit fan and writer, but what sets her apart from thousands of other members is that she’s helped to pave the way in giving fellow writers in-depth, thoughtful comments (click here to read samples). Here, the Nebraska  student shares her thoughts about her inkpop Feedback Mission.

inkpop: What’s the most interesting thing about you?

Miss Avarice: I love insects and tend to have any number of bugs that I keep in jars. I particularly like spiders and Praying Mantises. 

What’s your inkpop experience been like?

Everyone on inkpop is so supportive, and there’s never a problem in case you have questions. A lot of people are working to promote their work, and a lot are willing to read your project in a trade or simply by request. Upon signing up, you can get quite the welcoming from anywhere from one person to six dropping by to say hi, introduce themselves, and welcome you to inkpop. A lot of other sites have “closed” communities that don’t seem to care much about the newbies, but it’s very different on inkpop.

Can you give me a nutshell scoop on your inkpop projects?

The Death of a Goldfish is a random play I wrote for a teen playwriting competition. It’s my first play, and my first stab at comedy. A bunch of friends put together a funeral, and it really means nothing. It was born out of boredom, desperation, and the fact that I enjoy poking fun at the tragedies of goldfish. 

Spark takes place in an alternate history of the world, where in the late ‘90s, Sparker Syndrome was discovered. Commonly known as Spark, a person gains ostensibly supernatural powers—but with the loss of their conscience.

A lot of the characters are parts of me. They struggle with the same things I was and still am trying to understand and discover: philosophy, religion, ethics, government, the human condition, etc. The whole novel is really just a metaphor for personal growth.

On inkpop Forums, other inkpoppers have said that you give helpful comments on projects. Can you give me an example of some feedback that you’ve given to an inkpopper?

Some of the ones that stick out in my mind are the ones where I mention grammar points and where I try to solidify my train of thought into metaphors for how I view their writing style, “like cracking branches,” “this contrasts, it’s like granite,” because I notice that some people have a definite view of things, but it’s very hard to express in a review.

How do you go about giving feedback to inkpoppers?

My modus operandi is to pull up a text document and start typing as I go through the story. It usually ends up as a random jumble of thoughts, but afterward, I look at it again and sort it out. I try to find the stuff I want to praise, and then put that around things I want to criticize. For instance, putting “Good job on (x)” right before I want to add “But I think you could do a better job on (y). It would really help your dialogue, pacing, etc.”

I always end my reviews with encouragement, because I believe every writer has the right to be encouraged, and I try to take into account the subjectivity of readers. For instance, I may not like a certain way someone styles her writing, but someone else may love it. I always attempt to write something in-depth, or at least more than just “I loved it!”

The inkpop blog is written by inkpopAmy

Follow inkpop on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

 
