Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: The Butterfly Effect

Posted by inkpop on February 11, 2010

“I want to take over the world!”

That’s just one of The Butterfly Effect’s ultimate goals. The 18-year-old inkpop.com member worked her way to the peak of the inkpop Top Picks chart in December 2009 with her paranormal/romance book, Parallel: tragically beautiful.

The 18-year-old Australian (real name: Anna Jayne Oldham) is gearing up to study English and psychology at university. The “inkpopper of the Week” talks here about her experience of rising to fame within the inkpop community, her admiration for J.K. Rowling, and of course, vampires.

inkpop: What are your ultimate goals or wishes in life?

The Butterfly Effect: My biggest goal is definitely to become a published author. I’d love to write paranormal, dystopian, and fantasy YA books. My first book is a paranormal romance, so once I finish that, it’ll be one down and about a million to go.

I also want to travel the world. I’d love to see the Eiffel Tower, the Statue of Liberty, and the Egyptian pyramids. And I suppose I want what every girl age 13 to 19 wants: a vampire boyfriend who sparkles masculinely in the sun!

How does it feel to be an inkpop Top Picks author?

It’s an amazing feeling. It was so exciting to watch my book rise in rank and eventually wind up in the number-one spot in December. Nobody had even read my story before I posted it on inkpop, so I had no idea how it would be received, but it’s incredibly nerve-racking waiting for the review from the HarperCollins Editorial Board.

How did you discover inkpop, and what’s your experience been like?

I found inkpop purely by chance. I was going over some of my old stories and ideas, and I was looking for some sort of writing group to join, and that’s when I came across the site. My experience has been so much fun. I love the people, books, Forums—pretty much everything. It was kind of a whirlwind at first—I joined on November 21, and then on December 1, my book was in Top Picks!

What’s your advice for being a successful writer and inkpop member?

In my opinion, people aren’t born writers. I think they work at it and improve their skills as they go. But I do think people are born dreamers. It’s essential that a writer has a vast imagination. With writing, originality of plot is hugely important, especially in a time when the teen genre is so popular. I think the majority of people who write about vampires needs to ask themselves whether it’s absolutely essential that they have vampires—it’s kind of overdone. 

As for being a successful inkpop member, just be friendly. Don’t tell people you hate their work, explain why you don’t like it, and offer ways to improve it. It’s not really nice to ask people to read your work without at least offering to read theirs. Reciprocation is the key.

Who’s your favorite creative visionary?

J.K. Rowling. She may not be the best writer in the world, but the world she created with Harry Potter is so fantastical. And the fact that she managed to get 9-year-olds reading 200,000-plus-word books is a feat in itself. Philip Pullman is another. His trilogy, His Dark Materials, is so brilliant and imaginative. The differing universes he has created in those books are so tangible that I can imagine that maybe somewhere, they might actually exist.

So you and two other inkpop members started a project called Inkpoppers United. What’s it about?

It’s a collaboration between myself, Jinxy (Nickie), and Dinnertime (Anni). We want to write a parody of all the clichéd YA stereotypes. We’re still in the planning stages, but this is what we have so far: It’s going to be set in a placed called “Genericville,” and it’s going to focus on Mary, an epitome of the typical “Mary-Sue” character; Adonis, the mysterious bad boy with a “dark” secret; and Mary’s overlooked best guy friend, who also hides a secret.

The inkpop blog is written by inkpopAmy

Follow inkpop on Facebook and Twitter

One Response to “inkpopper of the Week: The Butterfly Effect”

  1. Sol Grisso said

    Lots of Fantastic information in your posting, I favorited your blog so I can visit again in the near future, All the Best, Sol Grisso

Leave a Reply

 
