Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 1, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 1, 2010

Sleeping Beauty’s evil queen to hit the big screen! With the success of the live-action version of Alice in Wonderland, screenwriter Linda Woolverton and Disney have decided to try their luck at taking on Maleficent, the evil queen popularized in 1959’s Sleeping Beauty, via a big screen version told from the point of view of the Mistress of All Evil. The buzz is that Tim Burton has shown interest in the project. The Hollywood Reporter.

The return of The Baby-Sitter’s Club inspires entrepreneurship in girls When Ann M. Martin’s Baby-Sitter’s Club books hit shelves back in 1986, it was commonplace for girls to baby-sit in order to earn spending money. Now, with the reissue of the series (due out today – April 1), coupled with the state of the economy, it is believed that female readers will be inspired to follow in the footsteps of Dawn, Claudia, Mary-Anne, and the rest of the BSC to strike out and create their own businesses. The Wall Street Journal.

Do you Hulu? For those with limited access to a TV, or simply lacking the funds required to pay for cable or expensive movie tickets, Hulu.com’s presence has been widely appreciated. While the service, which allows those within the United States to watch full-length movies, and episodes of popular TV shows such as The Office and Family Guy free of charge is loved by visitors; network backers are unimpressed by the large bandwith bills accrued by Hulu, and are demanding that visitors be forced to pay a subscription fee to continue using the service. Ad Age.

Over to you…if you could turn any fairytale into a live-action version, which one would it be and why? Have you ever attempted to start your own business to earn extra money? If Hulu starts charging, will you stop using their service?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

12 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 1, 2010”

  1. Cara said

    My thoughts:

    I think messing with fairy tales and making them your own or telling them from a different pov is an awesome idea. I’d probably do Beauty & the Beast b/c it’s one of my favorites because it’s my favorite but I don’t know who’s pov I’d want it to be told from. Maybe the beast’s but further back into the story when he was young.

    I have started my own photography business. I’m not making that much money from it but I do earn some extra money on the side and it’s def a lot of fun.

    I have actually never heard of Hulu before but if it was primarily created for those who lack the funds for TV or cable, I think it would be unfair to charge them a fee but maybe they should have donations you can make to help them out.

    -Cara 🙂

  2. Deirdre said

    hmm… i love fairytales so much, it would be tricky to choose just one!
    I think a revamped “Cinderella” would be fun, even though it has been done a lot. I wrote a story that was a retelling of Cinderella set in 1939 New Orleans, so it was a bit of a twist on the typical high-school-retelling.
    I also agree with Cara! Beauty and the Beast is so great. One of my fave Disney movies ever, I think it could be gorgeous as a live-action… especially that ballroom scene! and they could do something cool with the beast, either a CGI thing like Avatar or a costume like Where the Wild Things Are.

    Babysitting… I do! I’m Red Cross Certified and all that. it’s fun, I’m really the only one of my friends who does it. they all hate kids! 😦

    I love Hulu, I use it to catch up on the shows my parents don’t watch… but I hate how they don’t have certain shows, mostly cable stuff isn’t available, like Mad Men!
    if they started charging, i’d probably stop using it though. there are actually a lot of other websites where you can watch shows without having to pay.

    -Deirdre

    btw, i love this blog! such a great idea!

  3. cyc said

    I love love fairytales and fairytale retellings. I collect so many anthologies, critiques, and analysis of fairytales. It’s my dream to retell my version of these stories and have them publish one day. Another dream. To actually teach a course, maybe a summer college course of fairytales. That would be cool 🙂

    One fairytale I would love to see a live action version of…That’s a tough one because there are so many. Little Match Girl. That’s such a sad story and I can imagine all the visuals and effects.

  4. Evie said

    Heya! 🙂

    If you could turn any fairytale into a live-action version, which one would it be and why?
    Hmm…this is a tough one. I love to see Snow White or (even though it’s not a fairytale) Mulan! Mulan’s one of my all-time favorites and I think Snow White would be interesting. They could do a lot with that one, I think. I also have to agree with Cara, the Beauty and the Beast would be a good one too. It’s been a favorite since I was in the musical a while back.

    Have you ever attempted to start your own business to earn extra money?
    I’ve never done one, but my dad has started a lot. I’ve thought about it, but I don’t really have any other talents and I wouldn’t know where to start or what to do for it.

    If Hulu starts charging, will you stop using their service?
    I’ve never even heard of Hulu, but now I may check it out! 🙂 But I wouldn’t if they charged because I don’t have the money. And I bet a lot of others would stop using their services if they charged too.

  5. S M Johnston said

    I am a Cinderella fan myself. One of my favorite movies is Ever After. But I would love to see a darker version of it.

    I was going to start my own PR firm, but I am too lazy with the business side of things.

    I haven’t heard of Hulu either.

  6. isabella2296 said

    Variations of fairy tales are some of my favorite things to read/watch! It’s so cool how everyone has a totally different take on the same classic tale. One writer, Gail Levine or something like that (I’m horrible at author names), is brought to mind. I remember loving her books when I was younger, and her writing book was the first one about writing I’ve ever read. I actually wrote a seventy-two page story inspired by one of the prompts xD (It was terrible, but I was eight. What can I say?)

    Snow White would be interesting, and Cinderella. There’s one fairy tale about a girl who has jewels come out of her mouth when she speaks, and a sister who has bugs instead. Ideas are bursting in my mind just writing about this 🙂

    • FlightlessPhoenix said

      OMIGOSH you totally freaked me out b/c I read Gail Carson Levine’s (that’s her name btw, lol) stories ALL THE TIME, and then went on to write my first full-length novel that was about a modern-day version of ‘The Frog Princess’. it ended up being maybe 150 pages along. it was one of those prompts, too. i would be soooo insanely creeped out if you did the same thing. *makes a strange face* DID you?

      dude, i remember those. cinderellis and the glass hill? the fairy’s mistake?

      this is freaking me out o_o

      • isabella2296 said

        Haha, no way! Actually, the prompt I used was about a girl with one green eye and one brown eye – the green eye sees truth, but the brown eye sees much, much more…

        Something like that, anyway 😀 I tweaked it so that the green eye could read thoughts of others, but the brown eye sees inside herself.

        Oh my gosh, Cinderellis and the Glass Hill was one of my favorites by her! I remember that one!

  7. Peyton said

    I would LOVE, to see Mulan. I love the animated movie, I think it would be really interesting and popular.
    Why, you say? Because I love the plot of it. She going for her father, it’s just lovely. That’s my favorite Disney movie of ALL time.

    No. Well,kinda. All my neighbor’s that I have lived around were butt-heads.
    One time I attempted to sell *FREE* lemonade, (When I was like 7) They said, “I don’t want any stupid lemonade”
    So I have never tried anything else v_v
    A way to good way to ruin a 7 year olds dream,right?

    I have heard of Hulu, but I have only used it once, ONLY once. If it starts charging, no I guess I won’t use it.

  8. winter2 said

    If you could turn any fairytale into a live-action version, which one would it be and why?
    Hmm. The Grimm Brother’s Fairy Tales were technically made live version but I’d LOVE to see a friendly Disneyish live action Cinderella. It’s always been my favourite classic Disney animated film and to see it with real people and cool effects (and maybe Tim Burtonafied) would be spectacular for me.

    Have you ever attempted to start your own business to earn extra money?
    My friend and I actually tried to start a babysitting business. We had one customer and watched 3 children. Then we stopped being friends.

    If Hulu starts charging, will you stop using their service?
    I hate Hulu to begin with. Well, more like CBS for caring too much and not allowing full episodes of their shows ANYWHERE online.

  9. isabella2296 said

    Oh, and I forgot to mention my thoughts about Hulu –

    I used Hulu to watch the Inuyasha series (it’s anime, if you don’t know), but now that I finished the series, I’m probably not going to use it again. I use other sites to watch anime, and any other shows I like, I just borrow from the library on DVD. Honestly, I would never pay money to watch something that’s freely available with many different legal ways.

  10. GracieJordan said

    I think every teenage girl should spend some time babysitting. I mean, I wasn’t sure about kids (as in me having them in the future) but I spent a week babysitting my cousins and have never had the urge to have kids since. My husband’s family all think I’m nuts. My family is sure I’ll change my mind but I know I can’t handle it. I believe that if teenage girls are forced to care for a child for a time then they would be more careful about their activities. After I stated this opinion in my column for the local paper some years ago I got a lot of good feedback. Okay that being said, the books were before my time but I loved the series. Sadly by the time most of my classmates were able to reed them they weren’t cool anymore.
    Hulu charging? Nope, I wouldn’t pay for it. Then again, I’m spoiled rotten in the sense I work for a movie store and can usually talk my boss into buying some of the more popular series on DVD so I don’t often have to resort to Hulu but no, if I wanted the shows I’d rather pay for cabel again.
    Tim Burton and Sleeping Beauty! Can you say SCORE?! Okay, i’m a massive TB fan and would love to see him involved in that. To have any fairy tale turned into a movie I’d want Princess on Glass Hill or East of the Sun, West of the Moon. Probably the latter more than the former. Those two stories have been my favorite and I’d love to see an interpretation of them. I love seeing different interpretations of the classics. In many cases it makes things like Shakespeare and Jane Austen more approciable to turn them into contemporary settings and dress.
    Last, no. I am not abitious enough to even attempt my own business. I totally respect the people that do (I support my aunt all the way for her bath line she makes) but it takes more work than I’m willing ot put in. I make myself crazy enough with my wring. Why in the name of the the gods and goddesses would I want to do so much more?

Leave a Reply

 
