Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 6, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 6, 2010

Are you ready to get… ‘Pretty’? Rumors have swirled around Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars coming to the small screen since the book series first debuted back in October 2006. Finally the rumors are being put to rest with the announcement that the show will officially debut on ABC Family on June 8, starring Lucy Hale as Aria Montgomery, Troian Bellisario as Spencer Hastings, Shay Mitchell as Emily Fields, Ashley Benson as Hanna Marin, and Sasha Pieterse as the girl everyone loves to hate…Alison DiLaurentis. The debut of the TV series will coincide with the release of the eighth Pretty Little Liars installment…Wanted. Variety.

Actor James Franco shows off his writing skills Best known for playing Harry Osborn in the Spider-Man trilogy; James Franco shares his writing talents in the form of short story Just Before the Black, featured in the April 2010 issue of Esquire magazine. Did you know…Palo Alto, Franco’s first short story collection, will hit shelves in October of this year. Esquire.

Modest Mouse gets animated! Since 1993, Isaac Brock has been the lead singer and songwriter for indie band Modest Mouse; now he’s taking his songwriting expertise to Cartoon Network, where he is writing music for an upcoming special episode of The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack – an animated series which follows a boy on his quest for candy, and the adventures he encounters along the way. No air-date has yet been scheduled. Pitchfork.

Over to you…if you could have cast anyone in the roles of Aria, Spencer, Emily, Hanna, and Alison, who would you have chosen and why? Will you be watching the Pretty Little Liars TV series? What are your thoughts of actors who cross over to other creative fields such as writing? How do you feel about a serious musician creating songs for a cartoon? Will it make you more or less likely to watch?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

9 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 6, 2010”

  1. Cara said

    I can’t really say who’d I cast roles in for those girls. I’m not really well informed on actors and actresses haha. But ABC family always shows the best TV series hahaha. I can’t wait till the show airs. I’ll def be watching it.

    I think it’s really awesome for actors etc. to cross over to writing. It’s probably a lot easier for them to succeed and get picked up as a writer because they are already well known. The public would be curious regarding their abilities and buy their book even if they sucked. Not saying they suck, though haha. I never read James Franco stuff but now I’m curious and would love to find out just how good he is.

    I think the truly talented are able to morph their abilities to suit the audience they are being presented to. No doubt, I’m sure Brock will succeed at entertaining kids just as he was able to entertain adults. 🙂

  2. Evie said

    I haven’t had a chance to get my hands on Pretty Little Liars, which makes me sad! 😦 But most of the cast seems unknown which I like. I wish they would have gone all the way unknown. I like when they do that for books to movies/tv shows. And I’ll definitely try and catch it. I hardly ever watch tv though. I’m too addicted to InkPop and writing for that. 🙂

    I love it!! I love to act and of course write and it’s great to know that people can do both. The only thing that makes it kind of sad is that they’re already famous, so they’ll get picked up like that *snaps fingers* Whether they’re good or not. Not that he isn’t, I haven’t read his stuff, but I bet he got picked up because of his status first and his writing second.

    I think it’s great! If you’re talented, you’re talented no matter who your audience is. I have respect for him that he’s doing both and didn’t not do it because of it was a ‘lesser’ audience, do you know what I mean? I think that a great thing, but it wouldn’t make me more or less want to watch it. If it’s a good show, it’s a good show. 🙂

  3. Maya said

    I have seen people all over school (mostly girls) reading Pretty Little Liars, and I’ve been curious myself about sinking my teeth itno the series because of the general opinion that it was a good read. But I haven’t been able to grab it just yet. Regardless, I’d definitely watch the series when it debuts June 8th, although I’ll probably read the series alongside the T.V. show. I honestly have no idsea who the actors are though, but ABC generally has good shows so it probably won’t make much of a difference if I recognize them or not. And I agrre with Evie: if you’re talented and think you can do both, by all means go for it!

    As for Modest Mouse, I’d think it’d be awesome for them to make songs for cartoons; I love Modest Mouse! So anything that had their songs in it, it would probably make me want to watch it more. 🙂

  4. Michelle said

    I saw a promo about the Pretty Little Liars TV show on Lifetime a couple weeks ago. And I had thought it was going to be on there. Glad to hear it’s being aired on ABC Family though, since Comcast took away Lifetime. 😦 lol. A friend of mine read all those books, and she always told me how good they were. Never got the chance to check them out myself, but I’ll get around to it and definitely see how the show is!

    I saw that article about James Franco’s short story! Funny enough, a few of my friends here on inkpop and I were just discussing James Franco in Spiderman last night. The way I see it as, actors are still people just like any of us, and if they have a desire to write the same as we do, why not? Sure, they have greater opportunities for publication because they are well-known, but they’re still just as capable as telling a story as any writer, I think.

    I don’t see anything wrong with a serious musician writing songs for an animated show. If anything, it’s another creative outlet for them as an artist and gives them a chance to show another side of their musical range, because they need to write a song that fits that particular show. And look at songs from Disney cartoons – almost everyone knows a lot of those, and some of them have won Oscars. Music’s music in my eyes! 🙂

  5. I’m actually extremely jealous that James Franco is publishing a book. But mostly because I would really liked to have been his editor. That’s really weird of me, I realize.

    • Michelle said

      I don’t find that weird at all! It would definitely be one of those cool jobs you get to tell everyone you know about. 🙂

  6. Jenna said

    I seriously cannot wait for Pretty Little Liars to come on TV or for the last installment of the book. I have been obsessed with the books since the third one came out. It’s so addicting!!

    When I looked up the girls that would be playing said parts, I didn’t really agree with them because they don’t really look like the girls on the cover, which is how I pictured them. But if they did so well as to get the part, then that’s fine with me. 🙂

  7. Ashlie said

    I’m totally not the only one who thinks James Franco’s sexiness just BOOMED infinitely, right? I mean, he’s already a freaking gorgeous guy and I’m way saddened that the new Spider Man movies won’t feature him as Harry, but still. Knowing he writes has moved my admiration of him up a few (million) notches.

    Also. I really need to read Pretty Little Liars. I had a friend in college who was crazy about the books, and I always meant to read them. ❤ Lucy Hale is so adorable.

    Modest Mouse in general is pretty b.a., so knowing that Isaac is writing music for the episode? You know that's got to be awesome, if only the music. xD I think it's pretty awesome, though. A lot of musicians, especially mainstream, have their music in movies or television, but you don't often hear about them WRITING music FOR a cartoon. I think it's way awesome of them – wins them a few brownie points, reaches out to a larger audience, probably can help bring more audience to the show. It's a win win for all.

    Typically, the cross-over that I see tends to be musician to actor or actor to musician. Finding an actor writes? THAT wins points for me. Maybe it's just a bias of mine. xD But, a lot of people view actors in that very shallow manner – some come off as ditzy, airheaded, unintelligent. So, to see one publishing a book? I think that's pretty awesome. =D

  8. […] Little Liars’…let the countdown begin! Back in April we told you about Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars coming to the small screen; now, with just […]

Leave a Reply

 
