Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 8, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 8, 2010

Sookie Stackhouse returns to her roots Though everyone’s favorite telepathic waitress Sookie Stackhouse got her start as the title character of Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire mystery series, she has made the most impact via her role on HBO’s vampire drama entitled True Blood. Now, however, she’s going back to her literary roots, only this time she’ll be appearing in a six-issue mini comic book series, which will make its debut in July 2010 at San Diego’s Comic-Con International, and feature art by David Messina. It is rumored that more True Blood comics could be added to the series depending upon fan reaction. IGN.

Have you met ‘Fred’? Sixteen-year-old Lucas Cruikshank was poking fun at video bloggers on his YouTube channel when he created the character of Fred Figglehorn, a six-year-old with the voice of a chipmunk, anger management problems, and an uncaring mother. What his acting, directing, and writing efforts resulted in, oddly enough, was a full-fledged career. Lucas’ character, which has been one of the highest-rated web series on YouTube, is now scheduled to appear in his own feature film on Nickelodeon entitled Fred: The Movie, which will star Cruikshank, as well as pop star Pixie Lott. Fun fact…Cruikshank has appeared as Fred on Nickelodeon’s iCarly, and, for the Fred fanatic, merchandise emblazoned with Fred’s face is available at Hot Topic. Variety.

Say goodbye to judging books by their covers! Leaning over to sneak a peek at what book our neighbor on the subway has their nose buried in has forever been a commonality that many of us are guilty of; but with the increasing number of readers turning to electronic devices like Kindle, Nook, and now the Apple iPad, such behaviors are no longer possible, leaving publishers worried about the future of book sales. After all, an intriguing book jacket has the ability to make a winner out of a loser in the world of literature. The New York Times.

Over to you…will you be buying the True Blood comic books? In general, do you read comic books – why or why not? Have you ever watched the Fred Figglehorn web series? What do you think of Lucas Cruikshank’s overnight success? What amazing literary discoveries have you made judging by cover alone? What would make you cast typical books aside in place of an electronic reader?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

14 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 8, 2010”

  1. Evie said

    Heya! 🙂

    I haven’t even read the books, so I won’t get the comics. Although, I’m not a fan of comics anyhow. I don’t think I’ve ever had a comic. If I loved True Blood/Sookie then I probably would, but I have to read the books and watch the show first.

    I’m never on youtube and I’ve never heard of him, but that’s interesting. It amazes me what youtube does for people. Some get rich and become a star because of video or so. It blows me away honestly.

    I would never ever ever get rid of my books! Someone could give me a electronic reader for free and I’m 95% sure I wouldn’t use it. Who wants to read a book like that? That’s not a book! Gah! But, I love the covers of a lot of my books, but the ones that I picked solely based on the cover and they turned out to be fantastic: Prophecy of the Sisters, Hush, Hush, The Maze Runner, Before I Fall, there’s a few more, but I have to look. And The Dark Divine didn’t amaze me, but it was a great book, and I chose it based off the cover. This is the 21st century, yo! It’s not acceptable not to have a cool cover. 😉

  2. Jaclyn said

    Personally, I love comic books and graphic novels. They are a great way to convey a story and not actually use words; there is so much that can be said with just pictures alone. Will be buy the True Blood comics? Probably not; I haven’t really gotten into the television series, which is the only thing stopping me.

    Oh Fred. I have seen a couple of his vlogs; and while they make my laugh, the voice is so annoying! Besides that, the fact that Cruikshank has started a career based off a joke is amazing. It really goes to show just how influencial the internet can be and how the everyday person can make it in an industry that is already bursting with celerities.

    For the record, I love this last post; it’s exactly what I’ve been studying in school. The book and electronic media industries are practically playing with fire by joining together to create portable readers such as the Kindle. While there are some people who will see the obvious benefits of being able to take a book with them anywhere, there will always be the purists (like myself) who will not be able to make the switch. A book is a book, it’s self definable; a Kindle is an electronic device, the story it contains will never be a book, just memory on a hard drive. So to actualy answer the question, I don’t think I will be picking up an electronic reader any time soon.

    Besides, I’ve made some realy great discoveries by judging books by covers. The first Marcus Sedgwick novel I picked up, My Sword Hand is Singing, is probably my favourite of his. There was no summary on the back, just an excerpt from the book, so I had no choice; I did not know that it was one creepy vampire story that would keep me awake for days. Other books I found from their covers; Amelia Atwater Rhodes’ Kiesh’ra series as well as The Persistance of Memory, Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce and Melissa Mar’s Ink Exchange.

  3. Michelle said

    A friend of mine used to watch the Fred videos on YouTube ALL the time. It just goes to show if you’ve got something unique, and it happens to take off, anyone can get bumped into the limelight.

    I wouldn’t get an electronic reader, I don’t think. My brother and cousin were telling me how it’d be the perfect gift to get me since I read so much, and you can hold more than one book on them, but for me it wouldn’t be the same. I love having tons of bookshelves and boxes full of books. And I love just going to Barnes and Noble and browsing through all the books and seeing all the different covers. I’m a real book nerd; a Kindle would take away half of my fun!

    The GORGEOUS covers for the Luxe series are what drew me to pick those up and read the blurb. Now, I’ve read the entire series and loved them. And even when I was 13 or so, and A Great and Terrible Beauty came out, those covers sold me. An amazing book and its cover just go together for me. 😀

  4. Joana said

    I might get a Kindle or some other e-reader in the future, but I can’t see it replacing a good, thick, tree-killing book for people who honestly enjoy reading. Part of the experience of getting books is seeing the cover in a bookstore, or smelling that musty paper smell, or having to use whatever you can find to mark your place when a bookmark isn’t on hand.

  5. winter2 said

    Will you be buying the True Blood comic books? No. I’m not into that series.

    In general, do you read comic books – why or why not? Yes! My dad used to work for a company that shipped comic books all over the place. They also have a booth at Comic Con every year. So, we have lots of extra comics laying around that I’ve read for fun and now, Japanese Manga has pulled me in! Iron Man, Spider-Man, Pokémon, Fruits Basket… I’m a nerd. 🙂

    Have you ever watched the Fred Figglehorn web series? Nope. And don’t plan on ever watching him.

    What do you think of Lucas Cruikshank’s overnight success? Good for him. Hollywood (at least younger Hollywood) looks for and NEEDS annoying people like him who can stand out.

    What amazing literary discoveries have you made judging by cover alone? The Keys to the Kingdom series by Garth Nix. I didn’t want to read it at first because on the cover was the main character and he reminded me of Harry Potter and I didn’t want something to replace my favourite series. Then I actually read the Keys to the Kingdom and I loved it!

    What would make you cast typical books aside in place of an electronic reader? NOTHING! There’s just something about being able to curl up with a book in bed that can’t really be accomplished with a computeroid device. Books are warm (literally) and can be small and I love them literally being page-turners. Computers are cold and hard and uncomfortable and there are no real pages to turn. So nothing would ever make me leave my books.
    Unless I am on inkpop and reading a story… Even then, I’ve avoided read swaps because I’m so against the reading a book on a screen thing.

  6. Cara said

    I never read the TRUE BLOOD series so probably not although I’ve heard a lot about them. Some of my friends are major fans.

    I have heard so many success stories via youtube. I think it’s amazing and def proves if you have talent the public will declare it and once they prove to love you, you’ll def get picked up by an agent, TV producer or whoever.

    I don’t really like the idea of the kindle or virtual books. I like the old fashioned way. 🙂

  7. I love that everyone seems so devoted to their books. Look, I’m excited about the idea of a tablet like computer that I can take anywhere and I see the advantage of a device that contains all my reading material, but I feel like an e-reader would be a lot like my ipod–I love it, but it’s not my only source for music. I have to have cds and vinyl if I love an album. Just the having the physical product around is important to me. But disposable books (which, lets admit it, there are) I would gladly read on my ipad.

  8. Morgan said

    I LOVE SOOKIE!!!!

    I’ve read all of them and would read them again …

    I’m loving the new thing with graphic novels … and I have yet to try out
    Kindle … but they sound pretty cool. I’d love to have all of my favorite books right
    there at my fingertips.

  9. Ash said

    i hate the thought of ebooks becoming the norm!! Although handy when you go on a trip… meaning you can take lots of books. But still! What about the smell of a new book? The aroma of an old one? The smell of a book can bring back a thousand memories… what do electronic gizmo thingys smell of? Nothing! Notta zip, zilch, big goose egg. Well maybe a horrible metally smell atleast.

    This must be stopped!

  10. Jelsa said

    I loved Fred/Lucas on iCarly! :). This sounds very exciting. And yes, books should not be judged by their covers. However, I haven’t seen or used an iPad yet, but my dad does have a Kindle, and it’s really cool! :). Anyway, awesome article!

  11. Danakay said

    While I think that the ideas of ebook readers are fantastic for on the go reading, such as the new iPad and other apple products, nothing can replace a real, printed book. The strain on my eyes would be tough to handle I think.
    Cover design is just such a big part of buying and reading books. Having just come back from the bookshop and the library, I DEFINITELY chose books based on the cover.
    I don’t like vampire books, so when I saw girls with really red lips on the cover, I steered clear. Most designs are beautiful and I love seeing the variety. I would hate to see them get caught up in the recent whirlwind of technology

  12. GracieJordan said

    I’m not one to read comic books so I wouldn’t be buying the comic books but I am glad that writers can get into that media. It encourages readers of the comic book to get the novels to get the whole story that you can’t get nuances that are missed.

    I saw Fred on iCarly and was thoroughly annoyed. I often wonder how people come up with this crap and even more so how they actually get people to watch the crap.

    I’ve long disliked the idea of the e-readers and such. I’ve found many a book from the title and cover. I think it’s an impoartant part of the reading world. Besides, skimming over a screen is nothing like the feel of having a book in your hand, turning the pages…being able to edit the authors who haven’t learned how to use quotation marks. I think there are enough people like me that the paper novel will never be replaced by the e-book.

  13. S M Johnston said

    Possibly would buy the comics. I love the Sookie Stackhouse series… hanging out for the next installment in a month or so!!

  14. Shelby said

    Oh gosh, I love the Fred videos so I was excited when I heard there’s going to be a movie! Woo! Anyways, I don’t really read comic books but I read some of the Sooki Stackhouse books…I may check the comic books out.
    The Kindle and the iPad are cool, I think, although I have to say that I think that I like actual books better. 🙂 I mean, the virtual stuff is good for on the go people, but you don’t get quite the same experience with the book if you’re don’t actually have it in your hands, at least to me. Anyways, loved this article! Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

 
