Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 13, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 13, 2010

From the bookstore to the big screen Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland, Cressida Cowell’s How to Train Your Dragon, and Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid all created a stir at the box office in March; but they are only the tip of the iceberg for the children’s-book-to-movie phenomenon taking place in 2010. By July, Beverly Cleary’s Ramona and Beezus, Alex Flinn’s Beastly, and Stephenie Meyer’s The Twilight Saga: Eclipse will all compete for the top slot, proving that children’s/YA literature is hotter than ever! Publisher’s Weekly.

Barbie embraces her inner geek A fixture in toy culture since she first debuted in March of 1959, Barbie Millicent Roberts – aka Barbie – has undertaken a variety of careers, including star of her very own book series in the 1960s. Though each position seemed more glamorous than the last, her most recent endeavor has her channeling her inner geek and embracing the wave of the future that is technology via her title as…Computer Engineer Barbie; a profession selected by the public as part of Mattel’s month-long campaign inviting consumers to choose Barbie’s new occupation. The Wall Street Journal.

Mr. Popper’s Penguins picture a possibility Since its publication in 1938, Richard and Florence Atwater’s Mr. Popper’s Penguins has been a hot commodity amongst young readers, even going so far as to win the Newbery Award in 1939, and be used in classrooms across the country; now funnyman Ben Stiller and Noah Baumbach (filmmaker and co-writer of last year’s Fantastic Mr. Fox screenplay) are in talks to bring Mr. Popper and his band of waddling penguin pals to theaters nationwide in a film adaptation of the bestseller. Variety.

Over to you…do you think that film adaptations do the books they are based upon justice? What book would you love to see turned into a movie? If you could see Barbie be anything, what would it be and why? What do you think of Barbie’s new career? Will you be seeing Mr. Popper’s Penguins if it makes it to the big screen?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

13 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 13, 2010”

  1. Evie said

    No! I’m tired of all these books-to-movies. It’s getting annoying. The Hunger Games is going to be a movie (which I have to admit, I am excited about) and I have an entire list of books that have been optioned. Sometimes, books just need to stay books. Once there’s a movie, people flock to the bookstore to buy the books, which isn’t a bad thing, but to me…they’re buying them for the wrong reasons. Buy them because you want to read them, not because the movie was good. THG is going to be different once people start buying it because of the movie. The covers will become movie covers and all that. It just gets on my last nerve. Hollywood needs to get original.

    Barbie!!! I was a total Barbie geek when I was little. Barbie’s new career is awesome! I think they should have…hmm…Author Barbie! 😮 She could sit at a little desk and have her little laptop with her notes! And InkPop on the screen!!! Ahahaha!

    Sure, why not! Although, I hardly go to the movies. So if something else is out at that time and I really want to see that, then no, probably. It all depends.

    Evie 🙂

  2. Shelby said

    Movie-books…the books are always WAY better than the movie, no matter what the book is. Although, Twilight the movie was an excellent adaptation to the book, New Moon wasn’t as good in my opinion. I thought a lot of small details were left out that should have been included. Maybe that’s just me….I would love to see Dr. Franklin’s Island by Ann Halam turned into a movie. It’s sci-fi and the main characters get turned into animals! (Sorry for ruining that!) I think it would be amazing to see on the big screen especially now with all the special effects that can be added to films!

  3. HobbitFeet said

    Well, book-to-movie adaptions CAN be good, but more times than not they are horrible. I was incredibly disappointed with the long-awaited Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief movie. The writers for that movie had to be some of the words writers of all time, and, really, I seriously doubt that any of them read the book, or even a plot-synopsis for that matter. There were so many plot holes in that movie that they have completely destroyed any chance of making a half-decent sequel at any point of time in the future.

    Really, although I am excited to see Hunger Games a movie (I REALLY hope that they are able to pull it off correctly), the only book I really want to see a movie adaption of is Deathworld by Harry Harrison. That book would make a fantastic movie, and I am honestly shocked that nobody has even thought to make a movie adaption of it.

  4. Cara said

    The only problem with books turning into movies is sometimes they suck and then you just get really angry. I’d love for my book to be made into a movie … probably won’t happen but still that would be pretty cool. I’d be really mad though if hollywood ruined it which is why I’d probably have to foresee it and make sure they don’t totally screw it up.

    I love Evie’s comment about Barbie. I think I’m just going to copy her answer 😉

  5. Peyton said

    I think some of the books made into movies, shouldn’t have. AS SOON as Diary of a wimpy kid was on Jeff Kinney’s website, I found it. And I Read all of it and loved it. So of course you have to go see a book that was your favorite when you were little ;P
    BUT, just as Evie said. I can’t wait until, The Hunger Games becomes a movie. It is amazing ^_^.

    Barbie? Oh my gosh! So many memories. I remember pulling the heads off of the ones we thought were ugly, and played with the ones we liked all day.
    And I’m coping Cara’s answer by her coping Evie’s answer ;]

    Never heard of the book, but I know my parents and little sisters will be going, so they will make me tag along ;]

    Peyton.

  6. cyc said

    I think film adaptations do the books they are based upon some justice, but rarely can films beat the books. (I think Fight Club is a great adaptation of the book.) Many fans may want films to be the exact visual copies of the books, but that may not be so fun. Some scenes in the books can be really beautiful through words but trying to convert them visually may not be the same. I remember watching the author commentary of A Walk to Remember movie. Nicholas Sparks mentioned that there was a car chase in the beginning of the movie that looks great and is exciting on the screen that wouldn’t have worked so well in the book.

    What book would I love to see turned into a movie? I actually want filmmakers to adapt more of Shakespeare’s work into teenage movies. Many people may not like that because it “ruins” his great literary works, but I love it. 10 Things I Hate About You, She’s the Man, O…I love those movies. I got my certification as an English teacher and once I find a job, I would love to incorporate that media into my lessons. Teenagers would have fun learning Shakespeare that way.

    • GracieJordan said

      I think they need to make more adaptations of Shakespeare like the Romeo & Juliet with Claire Danes. I wasn’t a fan of that movie, it ruined the play for me, but that sort of thing makes the Old English speech more accessible for younger viewers. They can’t connect with the Mel Gibson Hamlet as well as the contemporary. The problem with 10 things and O lies in the fact you have to be familiar with the play in order to understand the connection. If you kept the same speech and lines that Shakespeare used and updated the setting and costume it would be easier to understand.

  7. Danakay said

    With fantasy these days, I feel like the book to movie thing is so overrated. I feel like it steals the book away from its readers and makes it Hollywood’s, not our own personal image of the book. I also hate when they become OH SO popular (ehem, twilight) and then everywhere you look is the hollywood-ized verison of the book you read months ago.
    The News of the hunger games becoming a movie disappoints me, both because I know I will see it even though I dont want to and because I hope they dont wreck such an awesome book.

  8. Nella said

    Wow, this is more popular than I expected!
    I always wanted to see How to Train a Dragon!
    Hey PJO wasn’t mentioned here 😛

  9. GracieJordan said

    Okay, can they not come up with a unique idea? I liked the adaptation of Sarah Dessen’s Someone Like You and That Summer when it became How to Deal a few years back. You have no expectations that way. I often dislike the movie adaptations. As you read a book you get to know the characters and the basic concept better than any movie could ever portray. I mean, it isn’t like you can get the fun inner-monolouge in a movie that you get from a book. Some book and movie mixes (Ella Enchanted and Blood & Chocolate) pass because they are so different you can’t really even take the two together while others (Angels & Demons & Sherlock Holmes) make me scream at the TV. I mean, since when did Sherlock Holmes start fighting and become a manic-depressive crazy person?
    Computer Engeneer Barbie? Nope, still can’t get behind her. I strongly believe that Barbie is responsible for many of the psychological issues among girls of my generation. Maybe if they had a Plus-sized Barbie or somethign sure but I can’t get behind a perfect beauty playing with computers. It just doesn’t work for me. My self-esteem has suffered greatly because I don’t have a tiny waist and perfect skin thanks to that skinny blond, I’m still not letting the girls in my life play with her, no matter what career she’s having this week.
    It would depend on how Mr. Poppers is done. I loved that book when I was a child, I think I was the only person to check it out of my library the entire year. I would love for a new generation to fall in love with the book and the characters I loved so much but I HATED Fantastic Mr. Fox and if the movie was anything like it I would be devistated and never watch it.

  10. winter2 said

    Do you think that film adaptations do the books they are based upon justice?
    Not all the time. Harry Potter started out okay then went downhill, Percy Jackson and the Olympians started off crappy, Hannibal was actually pretty true. It depends on the book, the movie, the writers (or book and screenplay) and the director. And sometimes the actors.

    What book would you love to see turned into a movie?
    Ramona and Beezus 🙂 YAY!!! IT’S A MOVIE!!! ❤

    If you could see Barbie be anything, what would it be and why?
    A normal person because she's already affecting children's dreams of becoming whatever they want – it's a LIE!

    What do you think of Barbie’s new career?
    Not nerdy enough.

    Will you be seeing Mr. Popper’s Penguins if it makes it to the big screen?
    Maybe. My brother read the book and I never have but I might take my brother to see it… Or him take me since he drives and I don't… xD

  11. NightWriter said

    I think a lot of times, books are ruined when they’re made into movies and in my opinion, Twilight just became ove when it was made into a movie, but I also think movies are a useful way to enhance stories. For example, The City of Ember. I didn’t think the book was that well written, but the movie (which is a LOT like the book) was really good. Also, sometimes the translation from book to movie is almost exactly the same, like with Holes — you could read the book and watch the movie at the exact same time and not get lost. Sometimes, though, the stories are ruined. Ella Enchanted was one of my favorite books. The movie is NOTHING like it. I hate the movie. It’s a double-edged sword, I guess. Usually, what the movie ends up like in comparison to the book depends on how involved the author was allowed to be and how the book was written in the first place.

Leave a Reply

 
