Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 15, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 15, 2010

Your mission, should you choose to accept it… Just a few short days ago we celebrated D.E.A.R. (aka National Drop Everything and Read Day), but today (Thursday, April 15, 2010) is all about Operation Teen Book Drop, an event which encourages everyone from readers to librarians, and even bestselling authors to grab their favorite YA book, and drop it somewhere unexpected in their community – a park bench, a bus stop…use your imagination – all in order to shine a little light on a very special occasion…Support Teen Literature Day! Authors Carolyn Mackler, Teri Brown, and Micol Ostow have already signed on to take part; now it’s your turn to follow suit and spread your love of YA throughout the community! readergirlz.

‘Ramona and Beezus’ star to design clothing line for Kmart Though only a few months shy of turning eighteen-years-old, Disney darling Selena Gomez has caused a stir with her acting and vocal skills; now the star of Ramona and Beezus has undertaken a new path in her burgeoning career…fashion designer. Come July, not only will Selena ring in both her birthday and the release of the film adaptation of Beverly Cleary’s Ramona and Beezus; she will also be celebrating the launch of her clothing line “Dream Out Loud.” A collection of modest clothes for juniors with affordable pricetags, and covetable designs! MTV.

Childhood favorites become fodder for teen and adult bloggers While Meg Cabot’s Princess Diaries, and Louise Rennison’s tales of Georgia Nicolson are just two of the YA series today’s youth are growing up with; Ann M. Martin’s The Babysitter’s Club and Francine Pascal’s Sweet Valley High were the literature of the 80s and 90s. The two series, however, have resurfaced in recent years in the form of snarky blogs penned by individuals in their twenties and thirties – the very same people who were so smitten with these books during their youth. The result is hot spots on the world wide web in the form of popular blogs such as The Dairi Burger (devoted to all things Sweet Valley High), and What Claudia Wore (a shrine to the wild ensembles worn by The Babysitter’s Club’s Claudia Kishi), amongst others; striving to keep the memory of such well-loved childhood series alive. Entertainment Weekly.

Over to you…what YA book do you plan on dropping somewhere special in honor of Operation Teen Book Drop? Do you think that Selena will make a good Beezus? Will you be buying pieces from her new clothing line? If you were to create a blog about a YA series, which one would it be and why?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

10 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 15, 2010”

  1. elizabethmay said

    Now, I don’t want to be unsupportive of Operation Teen Book Drop, or anything. Really. It’s a great idea.

    But LEAVE my favourite book somewhere? No! It’s…my favourite. I want to keep reading it and have it in my stacks to cheer me up on an otherwise miserable day. I’m too selfish with my books to be a Book Dropper.

  2. Evie said

    You don’t drop book is Kansas City, KS! Someone will take it and ruin it. But, I shall do it cyberly! I’ll go ‘drop’ books on my friends’ Facebooks. I’ll be dropping Vampire Academy (the whole set), The Hunger Games, Prophecy of the Sisters, The Maze Runner, Before I Fall, and I’ll stop here. 🙂

    I can’t stand Selena. She annoys me as do most disney stars. I’m pretty sure I’m out of the loop because I don’t know about Ramona and Beezus, but since she’s in it, I won’t be seeing it. And no, I will no buy her clothes. Because I like my t-shirt and jeans.

    Probably…The Hunger Games. I made a site for that, but a blog would be fun. Katniss is awesome! Gah! I can’t wait for the next book!

    Evie 😀

  3. HobbitFeet said

    No offense to whoever made the idea, but there is no way I’m just going to leave the best book I own sitting there on a bench. I’m sorry, I’m just not doing it.

    I hate Disney Channel (besides Phineas and Ferb and sometimes Suite Life) so I’m not going to be quick to see a movie made by them.

  4. In my own perspective, I am barely confused a little on the aspect of dropping books on a special place in honor…
    To be honest, there are dozens of YA books on my shelf at home waiting to be burnt. So the idea to of me dropping a book depends on how lovely the book is. I read a couple of books online like “A HOPE IN THE UNSEEN”
    I would definitely drop that. But “TWILIGHT”, or “SONG YET SONG”, definitely going to be burnt.

    My mother use to ring this to my hears “never get anything from strangers or you’d be strangled”…
    I watch Selena’s show a lot of times and enjoyed it. But the fact that I’d take her clothing line to my possession would be really weird because I am a boy not a girl…’I want it though’, but…ahem..weird right?

    Well, “THE AWAKENING” is pretty sweet, so it deserves to be on my blog. I read the pitch, and I would want to know more about the main character raising the dead.

  5. Michelle Scheponik said

    Maybe I’m in the minority, but I think the book drop idea is pretty awesome. I mean, don’t get me wrong, to part with my favorite book would break my heart. (I’m still sad that someone never returned my Forever Princess book last year, and I had to go buy the paperback copy this past Christmas.) But it’s a really cool way I think to connect with readers in an odd way. Imagine if you were just walking around and found this worn copy of your favorite book. I think that’d be so interesting, especially if the person who had it was the type to annotate their books. It’s almost forming a connection with someone you’ll probably never know. I kind of want to go find somewhere to drop a book off now. Most likely, I would drop it down at the park at the end of my street. It’s pretty rundown, but I played there growing up as a kid, and I see some of the younger kids in the neighborhood still go there sometimes. 🙂

    If I were to do a blog about a YA series, it would either be the Luxe series (how awesome would it be to make a blog of those books with a type of Gossip Girl flair to it, since the books are almost like a turn-of-the-century Gossip Girl. I may have to take up my own idea. :D) or probably the Princess Diaries since I DID grow up with that series. (Another reason why I immediately replaced my never-returned copy of Forever Princess; it was my favorite Cabot book.)

  6. ab said

    Ohhh, I’m gonna be selfish, because I could NEVER leave my favorite book anywhere except on my bookshelf. *sigh*. I’d do it cyber-ly, but I don’t have a FB.. sooo, I’ll blog it maybe. 🙂

    Ahh, ok, I must admit to liking Selena. I knew about the movie, but now I’m stoked about the line of clothes! The word “modest” caught my eye there: so much of the cheap junk out there is really inmodest… It’s disgusting.

    If I would devote a blog to one series, it would have to be a really special one. Which means the series would be The Secret Life Of Samantha McGregor. 🙂 I ❤ those books! They are so on my wish list (to own… I get most stuff out of the library). Melody Carlson is a fantastic YA author; very under-recognized.

  7. Cheyenne said

    Um… I don’t wanna leave my Twilight books (I’m totally kidding. Hehe) I would never, ever, ever, EVER leave R.L. Stine out! I’m not so sure…but what can you do when you think you live on Fear Street? Hehe…just kidding…

  8. Nella said

    Goodness? My favorite book? :/ I can’t leave The Little Prince, we’re binded together for ever and ever!

  9. Hexen said

    I brought three books [that were my favourites] and swapped them with my old coppies that I left in random public places 😀

    It gave me and exscuse to get some new books aswell ^_^ [I already spent about £100-£200 on books THIS YEAR].

    But I loved the idea of Tenn Lit Day! x]

  10. Maddie said

    Actually, I love this idea. I live in a big city, so who knows who could pick that book up and where it could lead them? I’d probably leave one of my favorites– The Book Thief– because I really think that it has the power to change lives. As writers, we have to believe in that. That’s why I write– so that someday, I can change lives with my writing. That day may not be today, but there is a way to share beautiful literature and inspire others, and I really think that this would be an interesting experiment as to what WOULD happen to our books– even if one person picked up a book and read it, and was inspired by it, wouldn’t that be worth it all?

    Deep thought for the day 😀 But really, I do like this idea. I’m sorry I missed the date, but I’ll definitely do it next year! Sorry this message got so rambly 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
