Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 20, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 20, 2010

Shel Silverstein…the musical! While best known for his children’s books of poetry such as A Light in the Attic, and Where the Sidewalk Ends; Shel Silverstein moonlighted as a songwriter, penning lyrics for songs which appeared in films like Thelma & Louise and put artists such as Loretta Lynn on the map. Come June 8th, you can hear revamped versions of these tracks on Twistable, Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the Songs of Shel Silverstein; a compilation consisting of covers from yesteryear recorded by some of today’s most popular musicians – including My Morning Jacket, Lucinda Williams, and Kris Kristofferson. Consequence of Sound.

Hilary Duff talks YA books Over the years she has gained notoriety for playing the awkward Lizzie in Disney’s Lizzie McGuire, going platinum multiple times with her debut album Metamorphosis, and creating both clothing and perfume lines which have boasted huge sales; now, however, she has turned her sights on a new venture…YA author. In Spring of 2012, Duff will release Elixir, the first in a supposed trilogy of YA books that follow Clea Raymond, a young photographer seeking to escape her family name who travels around the world incognito to find adventure and love. Duff, a huge reader herself, hopes that the trilogy will offer readers an escape from their lives, and transport them to a brand new world. MTV.

Tweet tweet said the author There’s no doubt that you are following inkpop if you are a Twitter user; but we’re not the only ones Tweeting about all things books 24/7 – some of your favorite authors are a part of the Tweet-verse, including Meg Cabot (author of The Princess Diaries), R.L. Stine (creator of the Dangerous Girls series), and Maureen Johnson (author of 13 Little blue Envelopes). Meet the 50 Best Book People to Follow on Twitter; and find out why you should be watching their every (virtual) move. The Huffington Post.

Over to you…what is your favorite Shel Silverstein poem? Will you be buying Twistable, Turnable Man? Will you be reading Hilary Duff’s trilogy when it hits bookstores – why or why not? What authors do you follow on Twitter and why?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

6 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 20, 2010”

  1. Evie said

    Oooo! How can you choose?!?! I ❤ Shel!!! I think…I think I shall pull out his books later today! And I sure will! At least I'll try! 😛

    Hmm…maybe. That genre usually isn't my type. It has nothing to do with her writing it. Although I'd like to read it to see how good she is…you know she only got published because of who she is, which is totally screwed up if you ask me…anyways. Depending on what other books are out at that time, I may or may not get it.

    I hate Twitter. Too many bad things come from twitter. I have a twitter, but I'm never on it. I'm following Richelle Mead because she's hilarious! But I never get on, so I'm not really following anyone. Sometimes I'll read authors' and agents' twitters if they have one, though.

    Evie! 🙂

  2. Danakay said

    Definently excited to see the Hilary duff books. I’ve always been a fan of hers since I was a little kid and I’m really happy shes stayed “clean” in Hollywood. She just seems like a good kid, doing good things in Hollywood. I’m interested in what her book will be like, and I’ll take a look.

    Twitter. I have one but then random people started following me (WEIRD!) and I just found it boring and time consuming.

  3. MIC said

    I’ll try and not judge the Hilary books until I see them … I do have to admit that it makes me a little jealous with how easy it is for someone who has a name to get published. Of course it makes sense, but the rest of us can be a little bugged 🙂 !!!!

  4. Maddie said

    I feel like the Shel Silverstein musical could either be amazing, or they could totally kill his books and it could be horrible. Sorry if that doesn’t make sense =) But I’m definitely interested in going to see it- “Where the sidewalk ends” is one of my favorite books =)

  5. winter2 said

    What is your favorite Shel Silverstein poem?
    I would have to say this one:
    “An Invitation”
    If you are a dreamer, come in.
    If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,
    A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer . . .
    If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire,
    For we have some flax golden tales to spin.
    Come in!
    Come in!

    Will you be buying Twistable, Turnable Man?
    Uhm… Probably not for awhile if ever.

    Will you be reading Hilary Duff’s trilogy when it hits bookstores – why or why not?
    I will read it. Give it a shot. I’m a Duff fan and have been since I first saw Lizzie McGuire. 😀

    What authors do you follow on Twitter and why?
    Maureen Johnson because she filled in for John Green on the vlogbrothers’ YouTube channel when John’s son was born. Nerdfighters: DFTBA!

  6. cyc said

    I’m with MIC on the Hilary Duff thing. I’m a bit jealous too 😛

    I held off on getting Twitter until some months ago. I love reading authors’ tweets b/c they’re fun and informative, especially when I’m waiting for them to release a new book.

Leave a Reply

 
