Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 22, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 22, 2010

Care for a game of…Quidditch? Quidditch may be known as a fictional sport within the pages of J.K. Rowling’s highly-popular Harry Potter series; but for college students across the country, the extracurricular activity has become a reality – and a competitive one at that! Over 200 universities offer Quidditch teams to students, complete with broomsticks, Quaffles, and Bludgers; all of which are obtained from a Florida-based company called Alivan’s, which specializes in manufacturing Harry Potter-themed products that adhere to the regulations created by the Intercollegiate Quidditch Association (IQA). According to participants, including players from Harvard and Yale, the brooms – known as the Scarlet Hawk – are well worth the expense because “they can fly.” The Harvard Crimson.

‘Mean Girls’ author takes on teen fiction While best known as one of the films that launched Lindsay Lohan’s acting career; Mean Girls was originally a book by Rosalind Wiseman titled Queen Bees & Wannabes, and marketed as a nonfiction guide to helping teen girls survive the tumultuous social hierarchy known as middle and high school. Having already made an impact in the nonfiction world; the influential author has now set her sights on commandeering teen fiction via her new book Boys, Girls & Other Hazardous Materials which tackles the topics of mean boys and cyber-bullying, in addition to the typical problems that plague adolescents. MTV.

‘Little Red Riding Hood’ goes gothic! Rumors have been floating around regarding a possible film version of the classic tale Little Red Riding Hood by The Brothers Grimm since late 2009. Finally a little truth has been uncovered. While not set to hit theaters until 2012, the film, entitled The Girl With The Red Riding Hood, will be directed by Catherine Hardwicke, and star Dear John’s Amanda Seyfried and Shiloh Fernandez. It is said that the film will be dark and gothic, sharing many similarities with Hardwicke’s previous directorial work…Twilight. MTV.

Over to you…what do you think of a fictional sport being turned into a reality? Would you ever join a Quidditch team – why or why not? What did you think of the film Mean Girls? Will you be reading Wiseman’s new book? On a scale of 1 to 10, how excited are you for The Girl With The Red Riding Hood?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

6 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 22, 2010”

  1. Evie said

    I think it’s pretty cool. What the world can do today as opposed to back then is amazing, so why not? Go for it. I think it would be something to try out for fun, but I wouldn’t want to be on a team per se.

    MEAN GIRLS!!! One of my favorite movies! I just love it! Hmm…I think I’ll watch it today! It’s on my lists of books to get, but there are a lot in front of it, so we’ll see.

    Hmm…well…I’m interested to see what they’re going to do with it. Already it seems they’re changing the story a lot and I can’t decide whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing. But I do like the ‘gothic’ genre.

    Evie! 🙂

  2. cyc said

    I’m so excited about the Red Riding Hood movies b/c I think these fairytales should be made dark and twisted. I own the “Freeway” DVD which is a darker retelling of Red Riding Hood from 1996 starring Kiefer Sutherland and Reese Witherspoon. The Snow White movie starring Sigourney Weaver was such a great movie b/c it was dark and scary.

    Not Disney-fied 🙂

  3. x0niccx3 said

    I love how fiction’s becoming a reality for all these crazy fans 🙂 ❤
    And I'm seriously excited about the Red Riding Hod movies! That's so awesome. It should be amazing if they're making it all dark and scary:DD

  4. Michelle Scheponik said

    I really think it’s awesome how they found a way to take the sport and make it possible in real life. If only we had jetpacks, then we could REALLY play it in the air. That’d be super cool. Also, this reminds me of how much I want to go to the Harry Potter theme park. In retrospect, I wish I’d gone to a college that has a Quidditch team. xD My school should start one! Oliver Wood was always my favorite. I’d love playing it so much.

    Oh, Mean Girls. 😀 There was actual a thread on inkpop the one night where everyone was just posting quotes from that movie back and forth! It was hilarious.

    I’m always wary of live-action fairytales. But I really think it’d be cool to see, especially if they’re giving it a darker edge. Though I’m iffy about Hardwicke’s directing, so I dunno. Shall have to wait and see!

  5. MyCrazyFantasy said

    HAHA! People actually play Quidditch? BRILLIANT! HAHA. That is something I’d like to see! (I bet it looks kind of weird on the ground, though…with no snitch and flying bludgers and..heck..flying PEOPLE.) Hopefully sometime in the future someone could develop some sort of levitating/flying broom. That would be cool! If the brooms could actually fly, and the bludgers would actually chase the players around, HECK YES, I’d play!! (such a nerd ^ ^)

  6. fortunate_fool said

    I think it would be really cool to have qudditch as an actual sport – if we can get brooms to fly. i would definitely play if i could.

    Mean girls the movie, i didn’t like it so much but my guy friends actually like it a lot…kinda odd.

    Red Riding Hood as a movie…that’d be interesting to see. Especially because there’s gotta be some sort of twist to it.

Leave a Reply

 
