Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

Ellen Schreiber’s top 5 writing tips

Posted by inkpop on April 24, 2010

inktip #26: The Vampire Kisses author shares the most important things she’s learned while taking the publishing industry by storm

Stand-up comedian and published book author—these are two of the world’s most hard-to-break-into careers, and Ellen Schreiber has accomplished both.

On May 18, 2010, she will release Love Bites, the seventh installment of her Vampire Kisses series, about a goth girl named Raven Madison and her vampire boyfriend, Alexander Sterling. She’s also the author of Blood Relatives, the manga edition of Vampire Kisses, and the young-adult novels Teenage Mermaid and Comedy Girl.

With more than a dozen books under her belt and best-selling status to her credit, Schreiber has learned more than a few things about being a successful author. Shortly before her live inkpop Forums chat on April 25, she shares her top five inktips.

1. ALWAYS HAVE A PEN AND PAPER

Schreiber says ideas tend to strike her at anytime—sometimes in the least convenient of places. But she’s always armed and ready. “It’s best not to leave it to memory, so I always have a cool pen and small notebook with me,” she says.

2. BE A SOCIAL-NETWORKING BUTTERFLY

Twitter, MySpace, Facebook—like many of today’s leading authors, Schreiber has an active, engaging presence on all three social networks. “Many of my readers are on one social network or another, so I like to spread word about the books in that way.”

3. TAKE A BREAK

“I sometimes think hunkering down at my computer will make me write faster,” Schreiber says. But often, the opposite scenario inspires creativity.

A lot of Schreiber’s best ideas buzz to mind when she’s out for a walk, a drive, “or a trip to Target.”

4. MIX THINGS UP

Some writers swear by writing at the same time in the same place. But others, like Schreiber, like to write in different places.

“Moving my computer, laptop, or notebook to another room gives me a fresh approach,” she says.

5. MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR EXPERIENCES

True, fiction writers are some of the most creative idea generators on the planet, but they don’t necessarily pull stories from out of nowhere. They go out into the world and draw from everything around them.

Schreiber says striking images have a lasting impact on her. She sometimes encounters people whom she finds interesting or cool, but doesn’t give them much thought … until later, that is, when they become characters in her novels.

“When I saw two goths, dressed head to combat boots in black, swinging on swings, I later used that for the image of Raven,” she says of Vampire Kisses. “And, a girl came to a signing, dressed in a corset dress and fangs—I used that as inspiration for the outfit Raven wears in Dance with a Vampire.”

The same thing happened with a woman she saw walking down the street, dressed in all white. “When Raven walks into the job at Armstrong Travel, that woman appeared and became the inspiration for Ruby White,” Schreiber says.

“Be careful—you might just end up in one of my books.”

inkpop.com: Read. Write. Connect.

This inkpop blog post was written by Amy Schroeder (aka inkpopAmy)

Follow inkpop on Facebook and Twitter

4 Responses to “Ellen Schreiber’s top 5 writing tips”

  1. j4p3methe said

    Really proficient post. Theoretically I could write something like this too, but taking the time and effort to make a good article is a lot of effort…but what can I say….I’m a procrastinater. Good read though.

  2. Blanca Torres said

    I’m waiting for the seventh book; because today I read Royal Blood and I really wanted to cry within the first 18 pages. Not because it was bad, but because it was so romantic! I love Raven and Alexander, but I still kind of feel bad for Luna she deserves an evil vampire but with a sweet heart that respects her individaully. Jagger he needs a push-over girl to be with him a free-spririted chic with some nerdy glasses but still looks pretty. And Trevor annoys Raven cause he likes her which is annoying and attracting at the same time. Which is why I love your books/novels cause you have such a unique writing style which is all yours, cause it expresses you and other goth/emo chics and dude who reads your awesome books!

  3. Emocupid98 said

    Omg I love your books if you could plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz come to New Cumberland Middle School and sign my friends and my books I love them sooooooooooooooo much I would die for them all so if you can plz people always tell me I’m a creep but im not gothic im the opppsite but i still relate to raven so if u can come plz do
    Love,
    Emocupid98

  4. Emocupid98 said

    Ps last 3000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times lv ur books and plz come if you can its in Pa New Cumberland the middle school needs a little sprit in it so this would be great
    LV,
    Emocupid

Leave a Reply

 
