Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Dain Broadbent

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 26, 2010

“I am an eighteen year old wannabe novelist with her feet in New Jersey, her earliest memories in Washington and California, and her heart wandering the world, places where her feet can’t reach yet. I have terrifyingly bizarre dreams and only remember random scenes from films, even when I just watched them fifteen minutes ago. I grew up listening to the Les Miserables musical and Pink Floyd, and inherited my mother’s free spirit and my father’s stubbornness. I dislike even numbers (except for 6) and the number 5.”

And with that description alone, Dain Broadbent quickly captures one’s interest with her variety of dramatic quirks which have made her an admired character on inkpop, and, let’s be honest…a contender for future BFF.

An active member since January 24, 2010; Dain has effortlessly ingratiated herself into the inkpop community, even securing a slot in the Top 100 with her science fiction/fantasy project Okeanos. Yet it is not just her written work which has garnered Dain such notoriety within inkpop; much of her popularity can also be attributed to her creation of THE EVOLUTION REVOLUTION – a pledge which stresses the importance of honesty within critiques.

Why The Evolution Revolution? What sparked your creation of such a pact?

Dain Broadbent: I forget when it was, but I do remember that there was a discussion in the Forums about the shoddy quality of comments. People wanted real critiques; ones that were honest enough to tell them how they went wrong and detailed enough to show them where. I’m the type of person that likes to start things, so I ran with the idea of a more honest inkpop and started a new thread. Within the first few minutes, a few others and I had whipped out a manifesto for the crusade and started talking inkpop-wide honesty and better critiques for all.

So, that’s how EvoRevo got started. We knew that, to make inkpop a more helpful place for budding young writers, we would need to be more honest with ourselves and with each other. We wrote up a pledge and promised to follow it, and I haven’t looked back since. My hope is that we’ll be able to reach all of the members, and inkpop will evolve into something even more productive and nurturing than it is now. That’s the reason that EvoRevo got started, and I’ve got complete faith that Inkies everywhere can take up the challenge and bring a new level to inkpop.

Okeanos has such an interesting premise, taking readers from Massachusetts to another planet altogether. If you had to create a soundtrack for Okeanos what songs would you include and why?

DB: Oh my goodness! Wow, this is a toughie. I’ve narrowed it down to twelve (hah, narrowed it down), which is the best I can do. As much as I wanted to put a Coldplay song in here, I knew that if I started doing that the list would grow from 12 to 35 much too quickly.

1. Penny And Me – Hanson: This is where I got my main character’s name from. I figured it ought to be in the soundtrack.
2. Junebug – Robert Francis: It’s just a summer song to me, and one I listened to a lot while writing the first few chapters. It makes my insides all happy. ;]
3. Big Hard Sun – Eddie Vedder: I love Eddie Vedder, and although I didn’t like Into The Wild (film or book), I loved the soundtrack. This song is an exploring song, for when Penny is seeing what her big, new world has to offer.
4. Summer Skin – Death Cab for Cutie: Another summer song, with a bit of whimsy and darkness that I find fascinating. More like an under-the-trees summer song than a sunny one.
5. Isles – Fleet Foxes: I’m normally not big on the lyrics, but the lyrics to this one are so bittersweet, in a gentle way. I feel like that happens often in my novel, even if I haven’t written it yet.
6. Roslyn – Bon Iver & St. Vincent: So I tried to avoid songs that were on other soundtracks, but obviously failed. From the first time that I heard this song, I’ve loved it. It makes me shudder, because it has a haunted quality, one that is also in the darker parts of my novel that, is heartbreakingly empty.
7. Iris – The Goo Goo Dolls: This is one of the only songs that used to make me cry. We have such a history together, this song and I, that I can never listen to it without thinking of all of the emotions that would burst out of me. I love the intensity of it.
8. Adiemus – Adiemus: It’s feral, dramatic, and is the voice of one of the races within the “other world” to me. And it just sounds like it belongs in a film.
9. Zombie – The Cranberries: Most of the songs that I’m chosing are based off of things that I haven’t written yet, but I believe I’ve mentioned the “Rebels” already, and this is sort of their theme song. Angry but contained, not just viciously violent.
10. Fade Into You – Mazzy Star: You can’t tell much of anything about Okeanos yet, but it’s actually quite a serious story. I deal with things like war and loss, and approach it with what I hope will be gravity and realism. So, it’s a lot of heavy stuff to handle, which requires some ponderous mood music.
11. Be Here Now – Ray LaMontagne: Again, this is all dealing with things that have yet to happen in the story, but the romance has to come in somewhere, doesn’t it? It’s a sweet, intense sort of attraction that baffles Penny for quite some time, and in this novel, this song sets the tone for it.
12. Teardrop – Massive Attack: I like this song because it’s threatening, like thunder. It never gets above a low level of intensity, but it feels like it’s hulking just below the surface, waiting. There are loads of things within Okeanos that those words could apply to, which is why I think that this song deserves to be on the list.

Do you hope to make writing a career; or do you have other aspirations?

DB: Although it’s not the most logical decision (I know; I’ve seen the odds), my dream would be to be able to be a novelist and support myself through that. It’s not necessarily fame and fortune that I want; just enough room on a bookshelf to share my story and inquisitive minds to read it. Fame and fortune would be great, don’t get me wrong. But if it doesn’t come, then it would be enough for me to know that I accomplished one of my dreams of becoming a published author.

Even if I never get anything published, I just want to reach people and help them.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Batman or Superman? Batman! Nananananana…
Chocolate chip cookies or cupcakes? Cupcakes. With buttercream frosting.
Typing or writing with an actual pen and paper? Typing in a cool font.
Favorite book? Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Dream destination/vacation? I’ve just come back from my favorite place…England. But I still want to visit the Mediterranean and Egypt.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

One Response to “inkpopper of the Week: Dain Broadbent”

  1. Dain said

    THANK YOU, ERIKA!

    Hahaha, I like the fact that my soundtrack swallows the entire blog.

    Thanks and thanks again!

Leave a Reply

 
