Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 27, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 27, 2010

Taylor Swift…illustrated During her twenty years Taylor Swift has accomplished more than many hope to achieve in a lifetime; but there is still room for firsts, and that is precisely what her appearance in her comic-book biography Fame: Taylor Swift, which hits shelves in July of 2010, can be classified as. The fourth title in Bluewater Comics’ Fame series – which also includes illustrated biographies of Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattison, and Lady Gaga – will chronicle Swift’s rise to fame, and feature art by Erick Adrian Marquez and JuanMar Studios. Future Fame biographies will include Taylor Lautner, David Beckham, and 50 Cent. MTV.

Hello, this is your future calling YA author Sarah Mlynowski prides herself on being innovative in terms of writing; but she is just as creative when it comes to marketing. To draw attention to her new book Gimme a Call – which centers around a high school senior who drops her cell phone in a fountain, only to find that she is able to make calls to one person and one person only…her 14-year-old freshman self – Mlynowski recruited the assistance of popular YA novelists to Tweet advice from the future to their former selves. Over 1000 authors participated in the project – including Libba Bray (author of the Gemma Doyle Trilogy), Neil Gaiman (author of Coraline), and Julia DeVillers (author of How My Private Personal Journal Became a Bestseller). Huffington Post.

Pass it on…to your parents! Though our parents are forever passing everything from advice to secret family recipes down to us; YA literature has given a reason for the tables to turn, putting the power into the hands of younger generations to school their folks in the world of fiction, given the rise of popularity in YA books. While the sale of adult hardcovers has been down considerably; there has been a large rise in children’s/YA hardcover sales courtesy of books such as J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter, Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games, and Rick Riordan’s The Lightning Thief, indicating that there is still a bright spot to the lackluster publishing industry…youth! Los Angeles Times.

Over to you…are you a Taylor Swift Fan? Would you ever read or buy a comic book biography? If you could give any advice to your younger self, what would it be and why? Do your parents read YA books – if so, which ones? If you were to recommend one YA book to your mom or dad, which one would it be and why?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

5 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 27, 2010”

  1. Laney said

    I am an absolutely die-hard Taylor Swift fan, so more than likely I’ll end up reading the book at either the library or barnes and noble, but i might not just buy it, it would depend on how much I like it.

    If I could give any advice to my younger self…Well have more confidence. I’ve been wanting to write for years, but it wasn’t til last year that I truely got into it. If i had believed more in myself I might not have wasted those valuable years.

    My mom is picky about what she reads. But she read Meg Cabot’s Mediator series. If I recommended some YA books to her I’d probably say the Princess Diaries series or Twilight.

  2. Evie said

    Heya! 🙂

    No. Not a fan. Although, I’m not really a music fan in general. But she used to be cool, now I just think fame (no pun intended) as gone to her head. And god forbid I buy something that’s going to give celebrities more money than they need. They already have their fame, people need to put money into better things.

    Hmmm…it would be, don’t dwell on what other people say about you. Growing up, I had to deal with a bunch of bullying and crap, and if I ignored it, I think I would have been better off.

    My ma wants to, but she hasn’t. I’ve been trying to get her to read The Hunger Games because that’s such a great book! 🙂

    Evie

  3. Sharon Johnston said

    My mum has read the Harry Potters and Twilights, and she is a grandma. Three generations in my fanily have read the Harry Potters. Twilight isn’t really my son’s thing XD

    I like Taylor Swift – sing her songs on Rockband.

    I will tell myself to ignore my dad’s push for me to get a sensible job like a lawyer and to write more. I always got great marks for my creative writing, but outside of school I mainly read heaps and wrote really bad poems. I wish now I had of written more.

  4. winter2 said

    Are you a Taylor Swift Fan?
    Yes, I am.

    Would you ever read or buy a comic book biography?
    Probably not. That’s just a little bit too weird…

    If you could give any advice to your younger self, what would it be and why?
    Make your decisions wisely.

    Do your parents read YA books – if so, which ones?
    My mother has read all the Harry Potter books

    If you were to recommend one YA book to your mom or dad, which one would it be and why?
    Percy Jackson and the Olympians because it rocks (and I have already ranted to my mom about the story line…)

  5. I’m one of those strange music lovers who loves the music and probably can’t even name the singer of half the songs I run around listening to. So while I am a huge fan of Taylor Swift’s music (and greatly intimidated by her massive success) I probably will never spend the money for the book. But that’s just me.
    If I could tell 13-year-old me anything I’d tell myself the stuff that people have been telling me for years and I just ignored. I’d tell myself to start taking anti-depressants because I really needed them, to stop kowtowing to teachers who don’t deserve the respect becuase high school was so much easier after I started doing my own thing. I’d start drinking more water and less Mt. Dew becuase 6 years of insomnia isn’t fun. I’d tell myself to take more chances, have more fun, smile when I want to smile and laugh when I find something funny, even if it made me look a little crazy. I’d have said to leave my ex before things got bad so I could start with my next in better shape. There’s a million things I wish I could go back and re-do but there’s also a million things I wouldn’t change because then I wouldn’t be the me I am today and that’d break my heart.
    Other than a brief Goosebumps frenzi in the fourth grade I never read many YA books. It wasn’t until 7th grade that I fell in love with the genre and the books it had to offer. My mom gave me some classics like Superfudge but I was never really encouraged to read YA books. I had too high of a reading level and liked to be challenged. Now that I’m older I have a huge collection of YA books that just keeps growing and can’t wait for my niece to grow up so I can share them with her. Though she’ll be like me reading them at 9 when the concept of a period is still kind of cool and scary.

Leave a Reply

 
