Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: April 29, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on April 29, 2010

‘A Wrinkle in Time’ goes graphic Since being released in 1962, Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time has been an influential novel to readers, and a strong presence in schools. Already it has been translated into a 2003 made-for-TV movie by Disney; now the book, which L’Engle supposedly never wanted illustrated, is being adapted into a graphic novel by Hope Larson, a cartoonist for Mercury. The release of the graphic novel will coincide with that of a L’Engle biography penned by Leonard Marcus, a children’s book historian. It is rumored that Larson’s effort will also be made into a screenplay by Jeff Stockwell (the man behind Bridge to Terabithia); and L’Engle’s own granddaughter will serve as executive producer. Robot6.

How much is your talent worth? Aside from their well-loved Dollar Menu, Burger King seems intent on thinking up new gimmicks to earn a quick buck; this time, however, they want to add some spending money to your pockets via their latest brainstorm…the $1 Talent Show. The newest in their slightly offbeat viral campaigns; the $1 Talent Show invites anyone interested to upload a video of their talent to compete in a virtual talent show where viewers can help you to earn money redeemable for a Burger King gift card simply by tipping you if they like your clip. Pop Candy.

Comic books for everyone! Did I mention they’re…free? Established in 2002; Free Comic Book Day is an annual promotion which takes place each year in an effort to not only bring awareness to independent comic book stores, but to improve literacy, as well. Though the event typically coincides with the theatrical release of a film adaptation of a superhero; this year’s celebration – which will take place on Saturday, May 1, 2010 – will occur sans box office blockbuster, instead replaced by a slew of satisfying titles at no cost to you! In the mix you’ll find everything from Owly and Friends to The Tick; Archie to Green Hornet, and an abundance of others. Find out what comic book stores located near you are participating in Free Comic Book Day here. Dayton Daily News.

Over to you…are you a Madeleine L’Engle fan? Do you feel that it’s disrespectful to create an entirely graphic version of A Wrinkle in Time despite the fact that L’Engle never wanted her work to be illustrated? What’s your hidden talent? Do you plan on entering the $1 Talent Show? Will you be picking up any free comics this Saturday?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

6 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: April 29, 2010”

  1. MIC said

    Ooo … A Wrinkle in Time into a graphic novel? Can’t wait to see what ‘IT’ looks like … and the big black mass and the alien people … not to mention the Mrs. Who’s/Whatsit’s, etc … I had a hard time picturing it all in my head when I read the book, so it’ll be interesting to see what is created.

  2. HobbitFeet said

    I definitely think it is disrespectful to turn it into a graphic novel. The fact that Madeleine specifically said that she didn’t want to see it illustrated tells me that. If she were still alive right now, I doubt that she would be happy about this. But now that she is dead, that doesn’t seem to be a factor. Try to tell me that that isn’t disrespectful in any way.

    Hm, the $1 talent thing is an interesting idea. I’m not sure if I will enter it, though. Mostly because I have never liked Burger King all that much.

    I have never been much of a comic book fan. I didn’t even know about Free Comic Book Day until now.

  3. winter2 said

    Are you a Madeleine L’Engle fan?
    YES!!

    Do you feel that it’s disrespectful to create an entirely graphic version of A Wrinkle in Time despite the fact that L’Engle never wanted her work to be illustrated?
    Yes

    What’s your hidden talent?
    It’s not ‘hidden’ but I act.

    Do you plan on entering the $1 Talent Show?
    No. I am a vegetarian and strictly anti-BK

    Will you be picking up any free comics this Saturday?
    Hmm… possibly. It’s the day of my senior prom and the nearest participating comic stores are a half hour away… I don’t know if I will have time…

  4. are you a Madeleine L’Engle fan?

    Yes!

    Do you feel that it’s disrespectful to create an entirely graphic version of A Wrinkle in Time despite the fact that L’Engle never wanted her work to be illustrated?

    No, especially if it brings new fans. As long as they’re faithful to her writing. I’ve got three webcomics of my writings and I just think its another way to promote your work.

    What’s your hidden talent?

    Ha! I don’t hide anything because you never know which talent can help you make it. I play keyboards, write my own music and sing, and I’m recording stuff now. so maybe my music will help my writing or my comics sell. You never know!

    Will you be picking up any free comics this Saturday?

    I’ll be updating my webcomics and they’re free!
    http://razher.com – bi racial she-wolf and her blonde vampire boyfriend on the run!
    http://american-werewolf.com (Andre Santana, the black hispanic lycan lands in Arizona!the “Show me ya papers state!”)

  5. adzant said

    While I do think it’s extremely disrespectful to do an illustrated edition against the author’s wishes, sometimes things need to be done against author’s wishes and you have to be a little bit disrespectful.

    I think an illustrated version is good because there are a lot of kids who can’t really read and comics are their only way of reading stories, due to the pictoral accompaniment.

    And after all, at this point, I think A Wrinkle In Time is such a classic, everyone should read it.

  6. Narnia Fan said

    Are you a Madeline L’Engle fan?
    Yes, and yes, and yes again!
    Do you feel it’s disrespectful to turn A Wrinkle in Time into a graphic novel?
    Yes! Even aside from Mrs. L’Engle’s wishes, there are simply some books that shouldn’t be turned into graphic novels, and I believe that A Wrinkle in Time is one of them.
    What’s your hidden talent?
    I don’t really have a ‘hidden’ talent. I act and I write, though.
    Are you planning to enter the $1 talent show?
    No.
    Do you plan to pick up some free comics this Saturday?
    Probably not.

Leave a Reply

 
