Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Cara Ruegg

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on May 3, 2010

“The more obstacles and doubt I face, the more of a reason to succeed. I love sincerely, forgive way too easily, love helping people, and would like to be friends with just about everyone. I try really hard not to judge or be mean. I know how it feels to have your feelings hurt, and I would much rather be the victim than to be the bully. The only time I’m somewhat mean is if the person is bullying somebody else. I’m not the type to just sit back and watch. I take action. Some would say I’m mature for my age, others that I’m immature. I think I will always be a child at heart, but clearly I know right from wrong and how to treat people. Not to say I am perfect or that I’m never mean but I do try my hardest to be a good person.”

If her writing is anything to go by, it is quite obvious that inkpopper cara_ruegg doesn’t just try to be a good person; she truly is. Her novel First, to Dream of Love clocks in at a whopping 74,442 words, has been a Top Pick right here on inkpop, is said to have a sequel, incorporates much of the Catholic faith into its prose, and, the real clincher…is dedicated to her Guardian Angel – the individual she feels inspired the idea.

You say that your Guardian Angel inspired First, to Dream of Love…how?

Cara Ruegg: I struggled a lot writing First, to Dream of Love, and when I would get frustrated I would just talk to my Guardian Angel about it and tell him my ideas. And I know that sounds crazy, but it really helped me.

A lot of it was actually inspired by a dream where I entered into this medieval world with unicorns and mythical creatures and I kept “sensing” my Guardian Angel who appeared near the end of the dream as a white wolf. If you read First, to Dream of Love you will see that I took bits and pieces of this dream and scattered it throughout the story. But don’t get the wrong idea; my character, Eliza, who is accompanied by a wolf, is not based off of me.

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors (dead or alive) who would they be and why?

CR: Shakespeare because he has inspired my style of writing. Tolkien because he is just awesome! I love Lord of the Rings and the religious symbolism in it fascinates me. C.S Lewis because Narnia was one of my favorites as a kid and the religious symbolism as well, is really cool. Charles Dickens because his style of writing is amazing and really has impacted my writing for instance. In Tale of Two Cities, he has a lot of repetition going on and after reading that I found myself doing the same thing. And lastly, Dr. David Allen White (he’s an author in my area who has been really supportive of my writing).

I think I would like our dinner party to be formal. For some reason I can’t see some of those authors at something casual. I have no idea what would be on the menu. Probably something fancy and expensive – hopefully I won’t be the one paying!

You mention that you are a part of The Teakettle Writer’s Clan in your profile…what is The Teakettle Writer’s Clan?

CR: The Teakettle Writer’s Clan consists of me and a few other inkpoppers (HealedMyWings and Poading being the main other two). Really it was just a joke between us. We would talk about how we were going to become famous authors and when we get older we would sit around in our mansions, sipping tea and writing books.

I really have no idea where the name actually came from or who made it up, but it has just become a little group of absolute randomness. I guess you could compare it to The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. We have discussed writing a book about it over the summer; but I don’t know if that will actually happen.

What is your biggest writing success to date?

CR: I want to write to inspire people; to make a difference. I could care less about fame and fortune. To me, it’s all about getting my voice across and touching as many people as I possibly can. So for me, my biggest writing success isn’t one I actually made money off of; but my fans. I have had people message me, telling me they cried throughout the entire book and listing it as one of their all-time favorites. I mean, I also have people who absolutely hate my writing; but luckily those people are very, very few.

My writing is unique and definitely not something you see everyday. It takes getting used to; but I think those who do like it, are really touched by it. As corny as this sounds; I think God gave me this gift and so I want to use it in his honor, to help people and inspire them.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Harry Potter or Edward Cullen? Harry Potter.
Favorite ice cream topping? Whipped cream.
Lucky number? 7 or 8.
Food you could eat everyday? Chinese.
Best place to curl up with a good book? My bed or outside on my porch.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

9 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Cara Ruegg”

  1. HealedMyWings said

    Hurrah for Cara! Great answers, darling. And of course, who doesn’t love the Teakettle Clan? 😉 I am still laughing my head off about that one!

  2. Dana said

    YAY CARA!! I can see this interview the first one she ever gave before becoming a famous author who does interviews all the time! Hahah xD

  3. Carrie said

    Haha. This was great Cara. You and i are so alike sometimes.

    *raises tea cup* Here’s to us, and the rest of the clan. Horrah!!

  4. MIC said

    We can all say we knew her when …

    🙂

  5. Cara said

    Ahhh I love it! 🙂 I feel famous now haha 😉
    Thanks so much Erika. I had a lot of fun with this and you tied my answers together brilliantly.
    Also, to those who commented above: HAHA I Love you guys *hugs* 🙂

  6. Nella said

    It was about time you’d become inkpoper
    of the week. Yay, Cara! 😀

  7. Dain said

    YEAHHH, CARA!

    I still think that your face should be plastered everywhere. But that’s just my humble opinion.

  8. Amanda said

    Hurrah Cara!

  9. […] You are a member of inkpop’s Teakettle Clan, which was discussed a few weeks back when Cara Ruegg was inkpopper of the week; however, you also use teakettles as a focal point in your work (a la […]

Leave a Reply

 
