Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: May 6, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on May 6, 2010

2012…year of ‘The Hobbit’ Since December of 2007 when New Line and MGM announced that J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit would be seeing a big screen debut in 2011, fans started counting down the days until tickets would go on sale – despite the fact that the release was years away. Now, much to the chagrin of fans, the two-part adaptation, being worked on by both Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Torro, has been pushed back slightly, with release dates in December of 2012 and December of 2013. Nevertheless, Warner Bros. and IMAX only see this slight delay as their chance to perfect the films, and make 2012 the year of The Hobbit! Heat Vision Blog.

Texting in the classroom Once banned in classrooms all over the country; many teachers are now embracing cell phones, and various other forms of wireless technology, and even implementing these devices into their lessons to teach students new concepts, and help them to better grasp the information put forth. Recently a middle school allowed students to use cell phones and text messaging in the classroom to study poetry. The result was that those who used text messaging learned more, answering 80% of the questions correctly; whereas students who were taught the very same lesson using traditional learning methods only answered 40% of the questions correctly. Times-Herald Record.

‘The Carrie Diaries’ carried to the big screen! Candace Bushnell’s debut YA effort recounting Carrie Bradshaw’s, the star of the popular Sex and the City, senior year of high school hit bookstore shelves just last week in the form of The Carrie Diaries, and already there is a buzz over whether or not the book will be adapted into a big screen version. Bushnell, who has penned countless adult novels, all of which have been optioned for film deals, and two of which (Sex and the City and Lipstick Jungle) were turned into hit TV shows, says that there are currently no plans in the works, but you never know what will happen. In the meantime, she’s busy penning The Carrie Diaries 2, which follows Carrie as she experiences her first summer in New York! MTV.

Over to you…are you a Tolkien fan? On a scale of one to ten, how excited are you for The Hobbit film? What do you think about using text messaging in the classroom? Yay or nay? Have you read The Carrie Diaries, and/or do you have plans to read it? Who do you think would be the best actress to play young Carrie in a big screen adaptation and why?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

13 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: May 6, 2010”

  1. Sharon Johnston said

    I saw the Carrie Diaries today, but did not look close enought to know that’s what it was… otherwise I would have bought it.

    I LOVE the Hobbit. Probably more than LOTR (don;t throw stuff at me).

    Phones in class, should not be allowed. Gen Y has too much of a short attention span already.

  2. Evie said

    I read it in the 10th grade in it was okay. It’s not my type of read. But if the movie looks good, I’ll see it when it comes out on DVD.

    What do they need text messages for? Get a laptop for learning. You don’t need phones for that. I think they should be allowed in the halls on break and at lunch because that’s the students free time, but during class, it’s nothing but distracting.

    -_-HOLLYWOOD!! STOP TAKING BOOKS AND TURNING THEM INTO MOVIES!!!!! Jeez…it’s so annoying. No, I haven’t read. It’s not my type of book. But, jeezus. I’m so tired of these book-to-movie adaptations. -_-

    Evie

  3. Amanda said

    Hmm, text messaging – I suppose that with the way technology is used today, these traditional learning methods need to be modified to fit the current century. However, being homeschooled, I have a different way of looking at things. I mean, I GO to school on my computer. 😉

    The Hobbit? YESSSSSSS! I love Tolkien – his books were epic, all of them. So the Hobbit would be a 10. 🙂

    Carrie what? Sorry, haven’t read them. 🙂

  4. HobbitFeet said

    YAHOOOOOOOOOO! The Hobbit! Sad it’s coming out a year later than expected, but it will probably be a better experience when it finally comes out. The Lord of The Rings is easily my favorite movie, and I can’t wait to see how great The Hobbit will be! I am most definitely a 10 for The Hobbit, especially with how well Peter Jackson did LotR.

    I have to go with Evie J about the cell phones.

    I have never in my life heard of The Carrie Diaries.

  5. Nilsya said

    I am going for a 9.99 for the hobbit. I love tolkien!

  6. Danny said

    I’m excited for The Hobbit… Anything del Torro touches turns to gold. Pan’s Labyrinth was amazing.

    Also, I wonder how they used cell phones to learn poetry? That seems so weird. But hey, anything that kids to read is okay by me.

  7. adzant said

    I dislike Lord of the Rings immensely. I didn’t really enjoy the movies either.

    As for texting in class, I think it’s ridiculous. No need for it. Plus who’s to say someone won’t be texting who they shouldn’t be texting.
    Also, did anyone say anything about cheating using texting?

    Don’t like Sex and the City so I have no interest in The Carrie Diaries. I might pick it up if I’ve got nothing else to read.

  8. […] inkpoperika Share and […]

  9. JRVSmith said

    Wow, that story on the texting in school was fascinating. It’s good to see that even “useless” technology like texting is being adapted to a better cause.

  10. Laney said

    Hmm…For the Hobbit being turned into a movie…im neutral. I haven’t read the book(it’s on my ever growing list of classics to read). But if it’s like LOTR then I might not watch it. LOTR was just alittle too long for me. It lost me after awhile. But then that might have been because I was a young kid. I make understand it now though.

    Texting in class….NOOO! I am a super avid, 24/7, from the moment I open my eyes until I go to bed, texter. And even I’m not comfortable with that idea.

    Carrie Diaries…Loved Sex and the City(lol only seen the movie, because my mom wouldn’t let me watch the tv show.) I think that might be something I’d actually enjoy! I might check it out next time I’m in barnes and noble.

    ~Laney ♥

  11. Narnia Fan said

    Are you a Tolkien fan?
    Definitely. I only know one other person who loves Tolkien as much as I do!

    On a scale of one to ten, how excited are you about The Hobbit movie?
    Ten!

    Text messaging in the classroom?
    I’m homeschooled and have never sent a text in my life, so I don’t know how qualified I am to answer this; but I don’t think it should be allowed.

    Have you read The Carrie Diaries?
    No, so I don’t really have an opinion on a actress, either. 🙂

  12. winter2 said

    Are you a Tolkien fan?
    YES!!!

    On a scale of one to ten, how excited are you for The Hobbit film?
    15!!

    What do you think about using text messaging in the classroom? Yay or nay?
    HUGE nay! I hate the way “text talk” has ruined my generations ability to speak and spell correctly and I think that texting in class would make it worse somehow.

    Have you read The Carrie Diaries, and/or do you have plans to read it?
    Nope and nope.

    Who do you think would be the best actress to play young Carrie in a big screen adaptation and why?
    No idea. Never heard of the character until now.

  13. Brandy Blake said

    I love Tolkien and as far as texting in the classroom… NO!!! The kids are there to learn not play with there phones. Emergencies come up but as a rule I don’t think it should be allowed unless it is free time.

Leave a Reply

 
