Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: May 11, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on May 11, 2010

Boys and the vamp Though vampires have been a hot commodity in multiple forms of fiction (i.e. in book, small screen, and big screen formats) courtesy of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series, LJ Smith’s Vampire Diaries, and the now-defunct, but still highly-popular, Buffy the Vampire Slayer; much of these series have catered to a female audience, leaving males somewhat uninterested in sinking their teeth into tales featuring vamps. Author Jason Henderson has decided to change that. A fan of vampires for over thirty years; Henderson hopes to pique the interest of male readers via the release of his novel, (the first of a projected series), Alex Van Helsing: Vampire Rising, which follows the adventures of a 14-year-old vampire hunter. KansasCity.com.

The monster mash! Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice has been a favorite for over one hundred years; and Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina has been prevalent in classrooms for decades. Now the aforementioned books, in addition to countless other timeless tales, have received a facelift from publishers with the addition of zombies, vampires, werewolves, and other paranormal entities; making the books of yesteryear more adaptable to today’s society in the form of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Android Karenina, and HarperTeen’s very own new release Little Vampire Women. The trend, implemented by independent publisher Quirk Books just one short year ago, is said only to be the tip of the iceberg. Expect more monster mash-ups to hit your favorite classics very soon! The Wall Street Journal.

‘Avalon High’ 2.0 Meg Cabot’s Avalon High has seen much success since its 2005 publication. The book, which follows the story of Ellie, the new girl in town who attends Avalon High, a place, she soon comes to realize, that is full of students all of which are reincarnations of individuals from King Arthur’s court; has been crafted into a three-part manga series featuring art by Jinxy Coronado, and was the recipient of two awards: the Texas Lone Star Reading List, and the New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age – in addition to snagging the number three spot on the New York Times Children’s Best-Sellers List. Now, Disney has teamed up with Cabot to bring Avalon High to the small screen starring Britt Robertson, Gregg Sulkin, Joey Pollari, Devon Graye, and Molly Quinn. The film is scheduled to premiere this fall on the Disney Channel. MTV.

Over to you…what is your favorite vampire series? Do you plan on reading Alex Van Helsing: Vampire Rising? What do you think of monster mash-ups – yay or nay? Do you want to see classics updated to involve paranormal beings, or would you rather read them in their original state, as the authors intended? Have you read Avalon High? Do you plan on watching the film adaptation?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

6 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: May 11, 2010”

  1. Evie said

    Vampire Academy is the best, hands down. Richelle Mead is an incredible author and I will be off InkPop on the 18th to go get Spirit Bound and read it. However, I’m not really a fan of vampires. Mead handles hers so well, but other than that, I’m really tired of them, so I probably won’t read it.

    I don’t really have any thoughts toward monster mash-ups. They don’t interest me, but they probably interest some other people. I usually don’t read classics to begin with, so I don’t know.

    I’ve never read it and I doubt I’ll be watching the film. I may if I have nothing else to do, I guess. But…I won’t chase it.

    🙂

    Evie

  2. Laney said

    Have you read Avalon High? Do you plan on watching the film adaptation?

    Vampire series…Twilight, if that counts. Vampires never really interested me, so I haven’t read House of Night, the Vampire Diaries, or anything else like that.

    Monster mash-up….I’ll have to say nay. I’ve never read them, but I’m a fan of the classics and I don’t personally care for seeing my favorite books “Revamped” or in this case “Monstered up”. I doubt the authors would have liked their books ruined like that.

    I read Avalon High! And I loved it! I’m excited about the film adaption. I definitely will watch it!

    ~Laney ♥

  3. HealedMyWings said

    I really dislike vampires, but Vampire Rising sounds like something I would enjoy. I loved Buffy the Vampire Slayer (who doesn’t love a valley girl hunting vampires?), so Vampire Rising might be interesting. If I ever stumbe across it in the library I might pick it up just for the heck of it.

    As for the “monster mash-ups”, I (personally) would rather read the originals. But I’m sure throwing a paranormal twist on them will make them a lot more appealing to kids who have trouble getting into the classics.

    As for Avalon High, I probably would not watch the movie, but I will definitely be buying this book. You will not find a bigger fan of Arthurian legends on the face of the earth. The second I saw “Avalon High”, my first thought was, “It’s Arthur’s knights and associates reincarnated and dumped into a modern high school setting.” Looks like I was right. It will be so much fun to read it and draw lines between all the legendary figures I know and love (*cough* MORGAN LE FAY *cough*) and their high school equivalents.

    Thanks for sharing this, Erika! =)

    ~Tori, HealedMyWings

  4. Nella said

    Aaah you and your Avalon High ;)!
    The new vampire series seems intriguing but
    I wonder how’ll do now that vampires are going ‘out’
    and angels are ‘in’.

  5. Marisa said

    I loved, loved, loved, Avalon High.
    The book is amazing.
    I haven’t read the manga series.
    And I probably won’t.
    I’m not really into manga.
    But that would be one series that’d probably be good.
    In any case, I’ll definitely be watching the movie! 😀

  6. NightWriter said

    I’m really not a fan of vampire books, just ’cause I feel like once the Twilight started, they just became ove . I liked Twilight because it was unique, but everything else was pretty much cliched. Alex Van Helsing, however, a vampire slayer — that’s awesome. I would totally read that.

Leave a Reply

 
