Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: May 18, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on May 18, 2010

The ‘Nancy Drew’ of the new millennium Though over the course of her 80-year reign as the top teen detective in the world of children’s fiction countless amateur sleuths of the female variety such as Julie Campbell’s Trixie Belden and David Adler’s Cam Jansen have attempted to supersede the Roadster-driving Nancy Drew’s popularity, none have managed to knock her out of the top slot. Nevertheless, questions continue to arise regarding who, if anyone, will be able to steal the throne from the classic Nancy; and whether or not the girl-sleuth in question will be a blast from the past a la Louise Fitzhugh’s Harriet the Spy or a newbie in the form of Kirsten Miller’s Kiki Strike or Bennett Madison’s Lulu Dark. The Edge.

‘Napoleon Dynamite’ gets an animated makeover! In 2004 the world was introduced to the “adorkable” Napoleon Dynamite; a nerd rocking moon boots, campaigning for his newfound BFF Pedro to be class president, trying to survive life under the guise of his scheming Uncle Rico, and the proud owner of a llama named Tina. The independent film, created by students at Brigham Young University, quickly skyrocketed to cult status, spurring the use of phrases from the film to be used in everyday conversation (that’s what I’m talking about! ring any bells?). Now the geeky red ‘fro sporting guy is about to invade our homes again via an animated version of the film which has original cast members lending their voices to the roles they are known so well for. Now all that’s waiting in the wings is whether or not Fox will pick up the project and add it to its animated Sunday night lineup which includes Family Guy and The Simpsons. mediabistro.

Help! My mom is obsessed with ‘Twilight’! Edward Cullen is 17-years-old. Jacob Black is 15-years-old. Despite the fact that such a large age gap lies between moms and some of the most beloved characters in fiction (and film), parents have begun to find themselves just as smitten with today’s idols as their tween and teen offspring; and the obsession doesn’t stop at Twilight. Moms are now congregating online with other parents via sites such as Gossip Girl Moms and Vampire Moms to share their love of tweenyboppers with one another. The craze has shed light on the fact that age is nothing but a number; but is also rumored to make aging parents feel more youthful, and help them to create a deeper bond with their children. The Boston Globe.

Over to you…are you a Nancy Drew fan? What are your favorite books starring girl sleuths? What girl detective is capable of topping Nancy Drew and why? What did you think of the film Napoleon Dynamite? Would you like to see it transformed into an animated series – why or why not? Have you and your parents ever shared a love for a teen craze – if so, what?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: May 18, 2010”

  1. Laney said

    I grew up on Nancy Drew! I use to beg the librarian to let me check out the higher grade books(in my school nancy drew was considered for kids in 3rd grade and up, and I was in 2nd). I absolutely love her! My favorite books are Nancy’s Mysterious Letter, The Clue in the Diary, The Mystery at Lilac Inn and soo many more! I actually own almost all of them in the orginal style 🙂

    As for other girls sleuths, The Dana Girls, which is a not so well known series by Carolyn Keene is my favorite. It’s nearly impossible to find them. Other than Nancy Drew, I really never cared for younger sleuths. I prefer mysteries like Joanna Fluke’s Hannah Swenson series, or Rita Mae Brown’s Mrs. Murphy Series, ohh and Lilian Jackson Braun’s The Cat Who series!

    Now for the Twilight craze…well my mother hasn’t read them and she probably won’t. It’s just not her kind of thing. We don’t usually read teenage book series together. Though we did get the Pretty Little Liars series from the library and she is hooked on it!
    But other than that usually she shares her adult books with me, like the paranormal mysteries and she was the one who got me hooked on The Cat Who series.

  2. Evie said

    I’ve never actually read Nancy Drew, but I do love Harriet the Spy! She rocks!!! Love it! The movie too!

    “I’ll do whatever I wanna do, GOSH!” I. Love. Napoleon Dynamite! And now I’m super excited for the animated show!! “Heck yes!” *runs around*

    We haven’t actually. She likes reading, and wants to read some of the books I go crazy over, but she hasn’t yet. What’s funny though…all these Twilight Moms are allow to obsess over these young boys, but if men were caught obsessing of young girls…there’d be a huge uproar! *shakes head* Today’s society…

  3. drsheridan said

    Napoleon Dynamite.. i love it. It’s completely plotless, but it’s so funny. And how can you go one day without saying “Whatever I feel like I wanna do, GOSH!” or “You’re ruining all our lives and eating all our steak!”. And an animated series would just increase the awesomeness to exponential levels 🙂

    Twilight Moms… could their be a more depressing combination of words?

  4. winter2 said

    Are you a Nancy Drew fan?
    I actually have never read any of the series…

    What are your favorite books starring girl sleuths?
    I admit to reading a Cam Jansen book. 🙂

    What girl detective is capable of topping Nancy Drew and why?
    I do not know.

    What did you think of the film Napoleon Dynamite?
    HAHAHAHAHAHAH! Hilarious, awesome, entertaining.

    Would you like to see it transformed into an animated series – why or why not?
    That would be weird but I might watch some of it to try it out. At least they have the original cast back.

    Have you and your parents ever shared a love for a teen craze – if so, what?
    Harry Potter. hee hee hee.

  5. cyc said

    I love Nancy Drew growing up. I read the different versions and bought the 2 different TV series of Nancy Drew. (Hardy Boys, too). I haven’t seen Emma Roberts version b/c I’m afraid it would ruin the Nancy Drew ideal for me. I don’t know if anybody can top her. Although for me, Veronica Mars comes very close, but too bad it was canceled 😦

  6. NightWriter said

    Nancy Drew. I remember when I read those books all the time. I remember relating to my parents’ friends’ daughter because our parents didn’t think they were quality. Who cares if their progression is all the same? The idea that a can solve mysteries before other people are barely moving is awesome. Kiki Strike, though, will be formidable competition. Kirsten Miller does a fantastic job.

    Napolean Dynamite . . . drives me insane. I that movie. (I’m not opinionated at all, ha ha)

    My parents read very different books from me. My dad doesn’t really read fiction and my mom reads more lighthearted stuff. I’m into serious fiction, like Sarah Dessen, that’s realistic and meaningful, makes you think. If my mom ever went crazy about Twilight, I would lose all doubts on the existence of aliens and ask them what they did with my mother.

  7. Nilsya said

    No one will beat Nancy! She is awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
