Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: May 25, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on May 25, 2010

We’re off to see the wizard Since their release in June of 1997, readers and non-readers alike have found themselves sucked into the vortex known as the world of Harry Potter. The seven-book series has been devoured over and over again by fans; allowing them to find themselves lost in the land of Hogwarts amidst Harry, Ron, Hermione, and a slew of other characters. Come June 18, 2010, however, fans will no longer have to use their imaginations to be a part of the Wizarding World. They need only stop at Florida’s Universal Orlando Resort to experience the magic firsthand. Visitors will have the opportunity to break bread at The Three Broomsticks; savor butterbeer at The Hog’s Head Pub; choose a wand at Ollivander’s; take a ride upon the Dragon Challenge – a twin, high-speed rollercoaster – and so much more! MTV.

I read; therefore, I draw The Neverending Story, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Hobbit, Sabriel…chances are that your childhood was a whirlwind of afternoons spent lazing about your front porch hungrily reading many of these titles. Now you have the chance to see the words you adore so much transformed into art by some of the best illustrators in the biz! Picture Book Report is an ode to books which consists of drawings posted on a daily basis depicting scenes from your favorite forms of fiction, created by fifteen amazing illustrators – including Laura Park and Lucy Knisley. Pop Candy.

‘The Perks’ to light up the big screen! Stephen Chbosky made jaws drop when he released his debut novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower back in 1999. Though the novel was quickly banned from several schools, and even found itself in the midst of controversy via its inclusion in both the 2006 and 2008 American Library Association’s 10 Most Frequently Challenged Books Lists; it retained massive popularity with readers. Now the book is set to hit the big screen with Emma Watson in talks to play the female lead – Sam – and Logan Lerman up to possibly play the male protagonist known as Charlie. Fans will be happy to know that Chbosky not only wrote the script for the film; but will be directing it, as well. MTV.

Over to you…will you be visiting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter when it opens? What attraction are you most looking forward to and why? What do you think of Picture Book Report? Is there a book you would love to see adapted into art – which one and why? What do you think of a film version of The Perks of Being a Wallflower? Do you think Emma Watson and Logan Lerman are good candidates for the lead roles?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: May 25, 2010”

  1. Evie said

    If I can ever get to Florida, sure. Although, I hate crowds and that’s bound to be crowded. I want to ride those rollercoasters though!!! I’m a rollercoaster freak! *raises hands* LET ME ON IT!!!!

    It’s pretty cool. It’s always fun to see things animated. Mmm…I can’t think of a book I’d like to see with that, though.

    Never read the book, but I’m tired of all the books to movies. And no because I’m tired of seeing the same people in movies.

    Evie

  2. MIC said

    We were just in Disneyworld in Dec … SO SAD we missed the new Harry Potter park! I bet it’s absolutely magical.

    The Never Ending Story freaked me out … still does, lol … wouldn’t want to see that come to life. Everything else sounds fantastic, though!

    I love Emma Watson … she’d be awesome.

  3. winter2 said

    Will you be visiting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter when it opens?
    Of course! Well, possibly not RIGHT when it opens. May have to wait a few months or so to save money… (I live in California). But I will definitely make a trip to visit it.

    What attraction are you most looking forward to and why?
    Ollivander’s wand shop.

    What do you think of Picture Book Report?
    Interesting. Very interesting.

    Is there a book you would love to see adapted into art – which one and why?
    The Neverending Story which they have apparently been working on? My favourite movie and I am looking out for the book. Great story and it would be awesome to see illustrations taken from the direct description.

    What do you think of a film version of The Perks of Being a Wallflower?
    Never read the book so I have no idea.

    Do you think Emma Watson and Logan Lerman are good candidates for the lead roles?
    They are both amazing actors! I agree with them as lead roles.

  4. Laney said

    Well I am a big Harry Potter fan so this definitely is for me! It’ll be fun! I’ve never been to Disneyworld or Universal, but this is all the more reason to go!

    I think it’s a cool idea, though i’m not sure what bokks i’d like to see done like this.

    I’ve heard of this book, but I havent read it. Definitely on my summer reading list though. Emma Watson is a wonderful actress so I’m she’ll be wonderful in the role.

  5. Deirdre said

    HARRY POTTER THEME PARK. i want to go soo badly, those books were what really got me into reading and writing. I’m also a huge Orlando-theme-park geek (i’ve been to Disney 11 times) so i’m sure i’ll be down there sometime soon!

    Picture Book Report… sounds cool! I have a fascination with graphic novels and i’d love to see one of my stories turned into one someday (and then an art-house animated movie, but this is just starting to get into wild pipe dream territory)

  6. Narnia Fan said

    Will I be visiting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter when it opens?
    Not a chance. I can’t stand Harry Potter. (My apologies to all the fans.)

    What do I think of Piture Book Report?
    I think it’s a great idea, as long as they aren’t in graphic novel/comic book form.

    Is there a book I would love to see adapted into art?
    Once again, that would depend on whether or not we’re talking graphic novels. If not, there are far too many to name. 😀

    What do I think of a film version of The Perks of Being a Wallflower?
    I’ve never even heard of the book, so I’m not qualified to say.

    Do I think Emma Watson and Logan Lerman are good candidates for the lead roles?
    I’ve never heard of them, either.

  7. […] according to Vulture, Summit is in talks to pick up the film and start shooting in June.” And, as previously reported right here on inkpop, Stephen Chbosky will still be directing. […]

Leave a Reply

 
