Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

Supernatural Writing Contest Winner: Joining the Tour

Posted by inkpop on June 15, 2010

As the “grand prize” winner of Inkpop’s Supernatural Summer writing contest, the fantastic people at HarperCollins flew my father and me out to O’Hare airport near Chicago to attend the 5th stop on the tour: Anderson’s Bookshop in Naperville, Illinois. Along the way, I experienced my first time in an airport, first time through security (ugh), and of course my first flight . . . which was amazing. (Who knew that being 36,000 feet up in the air could be so awe-inspiring?)

Once our flight got in, we found our driver, an awesome guy named Marvin, who drove us to the Naperville Hilton, and we found out that our room was on the “club level.” You needed a card to even access the floor! We felt really special then.

Next up was the main event: the short interviews and long book signing at Anderson’s. I thought I was just going to be an observer and take everything in, but to my surprise, the coordinator of the event (or at least the only person there calling the shots), Gale, had me be interviewed first! It was an unexpected honor, and such a nice thing for her to do. And then, of course, it was the four authors’ turn!

The four who attended the event were Kimberly Derting, Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison, and Ellen Schreiber, all extremely talented writers – and all extremely wonderful people. They talked a bit about their newest novels first, and then took questions from the audience. After that came the signing, and two and a half hours later (!!), the four authors and I – plus my father, the official chaperone of the trip – went out for some Coldstone, which was definitely a surreal experience. Yes, I realize they’re living, breathing people – just like you and me – but they’re authors, too! I had keep reminding myself that it was really happening.

But then it was all over, and the four had to fly off to their final stop in San Diego, California. I myself returned to the hotel, and had a wonderful evening, wishing so much that I wouldn’t have to get up in the morning, fly back to Syracuse, and then have to go to school on Monday (double ugh).

All in all, being the winner of the grand prize (kudos go out to Inkpop’s isabella2296 for snagging the Editorial Writing prize) and the subsequent trip and goodies has been an amazing experience. I’m truly grateful to Kimberly, Kelley, Ellen, and Kim for being so terrific and open; to Harper Collins and Inkpop for allowing me the opportunity to experience the trip; and to all of the great readers that read, critiqued, voted, and supported my works – Eternal, the winner, and Black Tears, another in the top 10. Without the readers especially, I never would have been able to attend the event and have such a fabulous opportunity.

2 Responses to “Supernatural Writing Contest Winner: Joining the Tour”

  1. Congratulations! It sounds like an awesome trip and a wonderful opportunity. That is an amazing list of authors–some of my favorites–and an inspiring journey from start to finish. Looking forward to reading your work!

    Martina & Marissa

  2. […] of their stops on the Supernatural Summer Tour (which Elizabeth recapped for us right here on the inkpop blog); Elizabeth devotes her time to an abundance of creative activities – all of which hold a special […]

Leave a Reply

 
