Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: June 17, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on June 17, 2010

Lisi Harrison’s ‘Clique’ just a click away Toted as a Gossip Girl or Pretty Little Liars for the tween set since its release back in 2004; Lisi Harrison’s The Clique series, which focuses on a group of wealthy seventh graders living in Westchester County, NY who create an exclusive club called…The Pretty Committee, has been a roaring success for years, featuring a total of twelve books – the most recent being These Boots Are Made for Stalking, published in March of 2010 – with more on the way. While last year saw a direct-to-DVD release of a Clique adaptation; that is not the last live-action version set for debut. Warner Premiere is currently working on a web series starring Massie, Claire, and the rest of the Clique girls which will introduce fans and newcomers to characters young and old. The series will also be available for purchase at online retailers. Variety.

The MTV of the Online world No cable? No problem! Last week AOL, in conjunction with MGX Lab and the Jonas Group, the very same company which represents Demi Lovato, the Jonas Brothers, and Jordin Sparks, launched Cambio – an Online network similar to MTV, geared towards 13 to 24-year-olds, which features both daily and weekly video shows. Already former MTV host Quddus Philippe has been scooped up to lead the web channel, which hopes to, in the future, become an entity all its own hosting music festivals/tours and energy drinks. New York Times.

‘Mean Girls’ is all grown up Back in 2004, Amanda Seyfried and Rachel McAdams were virtual unknowns; the film Mean Girls, based upon Rosalind Wiseman’s book Queen Bees and Wannabes, launched them as stars, and helped to build the burgeoning career of Lindsay Lohan. Now, a follow-up to Mean Girls is on the horizon – but it’s slightly different. Based on another Wiseman book – Queen Bee Moms and Kingpin Dads – the sequel of sorts is tentatively titled Mean Moms, and will follow the story of a mother of two who is happily married and trying to make it in the cutthroat world of parenting after a move to the high class suburbs from small town America.MTV.

Over to you…are you a Clique fan? Will you be watch the Clique web series when it debuts – why or why not? What do you think of Cambio? Do you think a web channel has the power to overtake MTV? What do you think of Mean Moms? Is it something you’d see – why or why not?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: June 17, 2010”

  1. MIC said

    Oh man … why haven’t I ever heard of The Clique? Something I need to check out …

    I totally think web channel’s have the power to overtake MTV … think how the web is literally there at our fingertips with phones, i-touch, etc … already, we watch most of our shows off of the web!!!

    As to Mean Moms, the title turns me off instantly … it sounds to me like a show that doesn’t focus on what’s most important in motherhood … Mean Girls worked because they were ‘girls’–letting us all re-live the icky’s of high school in an exaggerated form. You expect that level of immaturity. We all lived it.

    But I’m skeptical with what Mean Mom’s might be portraying … what the show might be teaching what mom’s are supposed to be focusing on. The importance of family and motherhood is being drowned out in today’s society, and I’m afraid this feeding the fire.

  2. drsheridan said

    I liked the Clique when it first came out, mainly because I saw so many parallels to my own life in middle school. But the series has become more far-fetched and unrealistic lately, it’s not really worth reading anymore in my opinion.

    And as for Mean Moms… I think it might be interesting. I live in a middle-class suburb and I see a lot of moms who think that their life is still a popularity contest, and it’s depressing. Underneath the humor, “Mean Girls” was very realistic, and I think that Mean Moms will be able to portray that too. Also, as long as the movie has the same writers as Mean Girls, I know it’ll be hilarious.

  3. sakira said

    I find it really interesting how big the web is becoming. There’s also digital TV nowadays. Cable is eventually going to become old-fashioned… the web and digital technology is doing everything for us.

    I don’t know about the Cliques, but I agree with MIC that the title Mean Moms is a turn-off. I don’t really want to hear about… well, mean moms. But if people were fans of Mean Girls and hear that it’s a sequel, they’ll probably check it out. It’s just like how big stars are used in movies in order to draw an audience.

  4. LA Knight said

    My only issue with Mean Girls (and Mean Moms) is that Mean Girls wasn’t completely accurate and it kind of made me mad when I saw it back in 10th grade. And if they can’t handle that, how are they going to mess up this new movie?

    As for the Clique – I despise Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, and since this book series is for tweens instead of teens, it gets my immediate BAD stamp. I’m tired of dealing with brats, and books like that (and turning those books into movies/web shows/whatever) only encourages bad behavior.

  5. winter2 said

    Are you a Clique fan?
    I am a seventeen year old high school/community college graduate and BIG fan of The Clique series and I don’t care who knows that!

    Will you be watch the Clique web series when it debuts – why or why not?
    Probably not all the way through. I started the Private web show and I could not finish it because those books would have worked better on the silver screen. And the acting sucked. I saw The Clique movie and I like it. They should keep up the movies. Web shows based on books don’t work, in my opinion.

    What do you think of Cambio?
    Not too sure yet…

    Do you think a web channel has the power to overtake MTV?
    Hahahahahahaha! I doubt it. Even though MTV has become… awful over the years, it still has a large fan base.

    What do you think of Mean Moms? Is it something you’d see – why or why not?
    I will watch it to see what I think of it and go from there: buy it and love it or laugh it off the shelves (in a bad way). The premise I don’t quite like but I’m willing to give it a shot because it’s the same author as Queen Bees and Wannabes and I loved Mean Girls. 🙂

  6. Riordan Berry said

    As long as Tina Fey is writing (as she did with Mean Girls) then it is a day one see for me. Her script nigh-on made that movie, ( Mean Girls) and coupled with great acting, “Mean Mums” can go anyplace.

  7. i always attend music festivals because they are quite exciting and i love music :;-

Leave a Reply

 
