Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Herald Angus Penn

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on June 21, 2010

“I live in the MURDER capital of Canada. I kid you not! There are two things Winnipeg is known for: 7-11 Slurpies and MURDER. Now, you’d think with such an interesting label, my city would be a hotbed of stories to tell. Sadly, not the case. It takes the wildest of imaginations to spin any sort of yarn out of Winnipeg. Luckily, I think I have one of those! 🙂

“Not-so-interesting fact: I’m the leader of the Straight Edge Society Winnipeg chapter, which currently has one member. That means I don’t consume anything that might harm my temple, er, uh, I mean body.

“Other things I enjoy are going for long runs with my beagle, Maggie, watching lots of different kinds of movies, and playing hockey with my good buddies.”

Of course, many of Herald Angus Penn’s good buddies can be found right here on inkpop, via the numerous projects he has selected, which have launched countless wannabe-published-authors into inkpop fame.

While there was a point in time when Herald’s very own work, Arthur and the Washing Machine That Ate Him, was ranked at # 17 on the inkpop Charts, he elected to remove the piece for editing, and instead focus on improving his Trendsetter Status. Ranked as Number 3 on the Top Trendsetter list, Herald has an eye for talent and a knack for picking winners; a skill that he is more than happy to share with all of you with each and every project he selects and promotes.

What’s the secret to your Trendsetter success? How do you determine what inkpop projects you want to pick?

Herald Angus Penn: My secret is none other than Morgan (MIC), the greatest picker in all of inkpop! She must have some sort of superhuman picking ability because she always picks the best projects. Aside from that, I like a fresh, creative premise, and a unique, engaging character voice.

In addition, I ask that people really ‘sell’ me on their work when they message me for reads. In fact, I ran a little contest last week looking for inkpop’s most creative pitches. Most of them were really great, but here are the projects I felt were sold the best and that readers should check out:

1. In the Land of the Blind by Malcolm Anthony.
2. Murphy and Me by thewanderingsagittarius.
3. Dancing Through Life by mleedancerr12.
4. The Michael Mackin Project by Cait Black.
5. Half Iron by sheaelaine.

If you had the chance to star as a character in any book what book would it be and why? Would you be a character that has already been created, or a new one?

HAP: I’d be Alice’s White Rabbit because I can never seem to get a good grasp of time. I’d be a natural!

If you were to recommend ONE book that you feel everyone should read at some point in their lives, what would it be and why?

HAP: Everyone knows the story of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland but not everyone has actually read it and they don’t realize just how weird and wonderful it really is. I must also plug Bruising Reed by inkpop’s own FinneganScott. It’s a project that has tragically not been read enough.

Do you hope to make writing a career; or do you have other aspirations?

HAP: This is it for me! If I don’t become a writer I’m going to become a drifter, wandering aimlessly across the country. Scratch that — even if I DO become a writer, that’s what I’m gonna do.

How do you combat writer’s block?

HAP: A hunger strike. I say that because whenever writer’s block sticks out its ugly little head, I always seem to head to the kitchen or walk down to the bakery for food. If I don’t eat, I’m forced to stay seated at my computer writing. It’s worked wonders for my work and my figure.

What room is your favorite to write in and why?

HAP: Any room except the rooms of my house (sorry mom!)! There are just too many distractions at home. My favorite place to write is at the downtown library. The crazies walking around give me my inspiration. You know the ones. They mutter to themselves loudly or just start chuckling randomly. I love those people.

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors who would they be and why?

HAP: Lewis Carroll would host, but it wouldn’t be a dinner party, it would be a tea party, because, as you know, he’s all about tea parties. He’d sit at the head of the table and at the other end would be Ken Kesey, but Kesey would be zoned out on some drug he spiked his own tea with. Carroll and I would talk about some nonsense. To the left of Carroll would be Alan Moore, the writer of Watchmen. But he would just be completely silent and looking around suspicious of everyone. Will Shakespeare would put on a play on a stage nearby, but it would mostly just be him delivering a long soliloquy about tea being better than coffee. Finally, Roald Dahl would show up late with a fantastic story for us all. I would choose these people because it would just be so darn entertaining.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Hermione Granger or Bella Swan? Hermione! Twilight ahhhh stay back! *makes a cross with his fingers*
What’s on your iPod? 99 Luftaballoons – Nena; Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen; Break My Stride – Matthew Wilder; Lean On Me – Glee Cast Version.
Lucky number? 21
Food you could eat everyday? Tim Horton’s whole grain raspberry muffin (it’s a Canadian thing!).
Best place to curl up with a good book? On my exercise bike.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

4 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Herald Angus Penn”

  1. MIC said

    Herald rocks!!!

    This has to be the funniest inkpopper of the week article I’ve EVER read!!! My favorites:

    “The crazies walking around give me my inspiration.”<—haha!

    "But he would just be completely silent and looking around suspicious of everyone." <—again, with the laughing!!!! I love the tea party!!!

    "Tim Horton's" <—it is a Canadian thing! When I went to Novia Scotia a couple yeasr back, everything was, 'Tim Horton! Tim Horton!' … I have to admit, it was amazing!

    "She must have some sort of superhuman picking ability" <—-okay, this was the funnies of them all!!! Heh, we all have a power, lol …

    Herald is such a great, influential, and talented inkpopper. We love him!

  2. Amy said

    Oooo…Can I be invited to that tea part?!?! lol Congrats Herald!

  3. Herald said

    Thanks! 🙂

    This is truly great, Erika. Thanks again!

  4. Nella said

    I liked the acronym for some reason. HAP 🙂
    Woo, Alan Moore? I’m so there 😉

Leave a Reply

 
