Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: July 8, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on July 8, 2010

Summer camp…‘Glee’ style It used to be that summer camps were solely for whiling one’s time away making friendship bracelets out of colorful thread, swimming laps in a lake rumored to have a Loch Ness Moster-like creature living in the bottom, bonding with people from all over the country, and attempting to figure out what, exactly, was lurking in the Tuna Surprise. Thanks to pop culture, and TV, however, the typical camp activities have been replaced with dancing, music, and a whole lot of spirit fingers – case in point the Glee camps found everywhere from Chicago’s Beverly Arts Center to Indiana, Utah, Arizona, and many more. Days are spent learning dance routines to Rihanna’s Take A Bow and Journey’s Don’t Stop Believin’. The very same dance routines, in fact, that your favorite Glee characters performed themselves! Chicago Tribune.

50 fads you’ll never forget! Your mother buckled you into the car once a week and made you accompany her on a quest to locate the most difficult to find Beanie Babies; your older sister refused to let you look at, let alone touch, her prized Furby; your Tamagotchi taught you that you were most certainly not ready for a pet given your penchant to forget to feed him for days on end; and those gel pens that were supposed to make your writing look colorful and fun leaked like crazy. Let’s face it, fads are a way of life; a coming of age, so to speak – and now you can read about 50 of the best and worst fads that are utterly unforgettable. First Thoughts.

‘Twilight’ spinoffs…who else is worthy? Though Stephenie Meyer has already stated that she is tired of vampires for the time being; her most recent novella The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner has fans naming what other Twilight characters are worthy of a spin-off all their own. So far the contenders are Jasper Hale, Jane, Jessica Stanley, Quil Ateara, and Carlisle Cullen. The question remains, however, whether or not Meyer will continue the string of Twilight spin-offs if she ever finds herself bitten with the vampire bug again! MTV.

Over to you…what do you think of Glee summer camps? Would you ever attend a Glee summer camp, or are you more likely to spend your time at a traditional summer camp – why or why not? What was your favorite fad from childhood and why? What childhood fad would you like to see make a comeback? If you could see a spin-off created about any Twilight character, who would it be and why?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

6 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: July 8, 2010”

  1. Marisa :] said

    Oh believe me, if there was a Glee summer camp in my area, I’d be there. I’ve always loved musical theater, and honestly I’ve been trying to find a good and local summer theaters arts program for awhile. Glee camp, come to Massachusetts! Lol.

    I’d say the Beanie Babies. Mostly because I was forced into loving them. My dad collected them for years. He collected all the “rare” ones and told us they’d be “worth money.” Where are they now? Well, I keep a few of my favorite ones in my room… but for the most part we have hundreds of beanie babies in bins in the basement.

    Hmmm, I’d like to read a spin off from either Leah Clearwater or Charlie Swan’s POV, because they’re awesome, and don’t get enough credit for their awesome-ness.

  2. Nella said

    My God, I’m tired of sparklepires. She’s like “I’m not going to write a vamps anymore”….but look at that novella I wrote just in time for the Eclipse premiere.
    Marketing. That’s all it is. If she only were a good writer.

    Those fads remind me of the 90s :’)

    Wouldn’t be awesome if there was an inkpop writing camp?

  3. drsheridan said

    I love Glee, but I’m a horrible singer, so I wouldn’t go to a Glee camp even though it’s probably a blast. I’ve been going to the same summer camp for years now–I work there as a counselor now, and it’s a lot of fun. Camp is a great break from school, and a way to meet people you would’ve never met otherwise.

    Some great fads right there! 90s kids, represent. When I was in elementary school I was very into the LiveStrong bracelet craze–I wore like 12 on each arm, it was bonkers. They were basically 2005’s version of Silly Bandz (which are also awesome).

    Can someone just drive a wooden stake through S Meyer and her wimpy, sparkling vampires? Like, now? Spinoffs are rarely done well (I’m in fact writing one, but I consider it more of a companion novel).

  4. Narnia Fan said

    What do I think of Glee summer camps? I’ve never seen Glee, so I can’t really say that I have much of an opinion.
    Would I attend a Glee summer camp or a traditional summer camp? Well, I live in a forest on a mountain, so I don’t really have any need to attend a summer camp at all… Ilive in one, whooo! :D
    What was my favorite fad from childhood? I’m homeschooled, so my fads always consisted of me and my younger sister; for a while, we were both crazy about marbles. I don’t know if that counts, but it makes for great memories! :)
    What Twilight character would I want to see spun-off? Ugh, I have had it up to here with Twilight! I’m happy for Mrs. Meyer’s success, but I will be so much happier when this stupid vampire craze dies out and the fantasy section of my local bookstore gets back to the good stuff… Lewis, Tolkien, L’Engle, Alexander, MacDonald, etc. The people who wrote books meant to both enetertain and teach, the books that last forever, and don’t just saturate the market with freaky-looking undead people. No offense, Eddie.

    Thanks for another fun blog! :)

  5. Shirley R. Kleiner said

    Wow! I just spent the last few minutes of my life reading, laughing, and ohing those top 50 fads.

    The silly bands one really got me, as my lil small town got hit HARD by that fad, almost every kid at the elementery, middle, and highschools sported a few (if not 30 xD) on their wrists! Our lunch table often discussed when Walgreens would get there next shipment, that crossway was out, and the only place in the entire upstate that sold them was the Mall a half an hour away! (and they were over priced!)

    Ah, the silly bands, and it’s still going on, though I don’t where mine anymore :)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

