Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Lycanthrope

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on July 12, 2010

“Interesting is a bit of a stretch for me. I have two dogs – a twelve year old golden retriever I’ve had since before I can remember, and a two year old German Shepherd that never sleeps. I spend the majority of my time glued to my computer screen roleplaying, and the rest is unfortunately wasted on sleeping. I live in a suburb of DC that’s really more of a big road stop, rather than a town. I’m a rising ninth grader that couldn’t be more happy summer just started. I am a good student despite my preference to stay home. I also happen to be a raving mad Twilight fan, and I’m obsessed with Damon Salvatore from the Vampire Diaries TV show. I have two sisters and a brother, all three younger than me.”

It’s obvious that Jordan (aka Lycanthrope) has quite a bit in common with most thirteen-year-olds; the main difference is that, in the course of her, thus far, short life, she has already done many things that fellow thirteen-year-olds have not – primarily, written an entire novel in the form of inkpop Top Pick known as Darkest Ebony, in addition to a multitude of other projects – many of which can be found right here on inkpop. Now, Jordan has moved on to Black Silver, which picks up where Darkest Ebony left off – a project that may never have come to light if it wasn’t for the amazing review she received from the HC Editors, which helped her to whip her writing into the best shape possible!

Your inkpop project Darkest Ebony was recently a Top Pick, and received a wonderful review from the HC Editors. How do you feel that this review, coupled with your popularity on inkpop has affected you?

Lycanthrope: I think inkpop, overall, has done huge things to my attitude about writing. It definitely gave me a confidence boost, and made me a whole lot more serious about writing. Initially writing was more of a pastime than a passion. The review steered me in the right direction, and Darkest Ebony feels a lot less like it was written by a thirteen-year-old in a two-month span.

What made you fall in love with writing?

Lycanthrope: I think it was the idea that it’s possible to make a living by hiding in your head. I used to write a ton of fan-fiction for myself and just let my imagination take over. A couple of years ago I started writing a story about werewolves and decided that I was going to be an author. Granted, that first story came out to 150 pages of cliché garbage, but it got the ball rolling and made me realize how much I enjoy writing.

Darkest Ebony centers around werewolves…how did your obsession with wolves/werewolves come to be? As an author, do you see werewolves/wolves as becoming a popular entity in the future (perhaps as big as vampires?) – why or why not?

Lycanthrope: My obsession with wolves started about eight years ago with a school project, and it has stuck with me. Ever since, I’ve become a wolf expert from a distance; truthfully only seeing them a few times – the zoo and the Busch Gardens Wolf Show. I think the werewolf obsession came with knowing a lot about wolves, and since they were easy to write about it seemed natural.

I believe that werewolves can be just as popular as vampires. The vampire books are a lot more popular at the moment, but there are some great werewolf books as well – Need by Carrie Jones and Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater to name a few. In addition, Vampires and Werewolves have been mortal enemies for centuries, so it would be hard to believe our lycans are going to back down now.

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors who would they be and why?

Lycanthrope: Ooh, tough choices. I’m going to assume that they can’t reject your invitation and invite Stephenie Meyer, since I’m a Twilight fanatic. I’d also have to invite Suzanne Collins (Author of The Hunger Games) and L. J. Smith (Author of Vampire Diaries) just to question them about their books and figure out just how the ideas came to them. I’d invite Maggie Stiefvater because she wrote Shiver, and William Shakespeare because seriously, how could you pass up that opportunity?

It would be casual, because I am really laidback, and it would be really uncomfortable if the host didn’t dress up and the guests did. I would serve Shrimp and Crab Risotto because it’s my absolute favorite and it would give me an excuse to make it. I’d have to compare werewolves with the other werewolf writers (mutations being counted as werewolves) until someone mentioned something modern and we had to stop to explain it to Shakespeare. If allowed to invite a sixth guest I would love to invite Dr. Seuss because the dialogue between him and William Shakespeare would be epic.

Who was your favorite childhood author and why?

Lycanthrope: If we’re talking early childhood as age three, then I couldn’t say anyone but Dr. Seuss. I have all of his books in my basement. However, if we’re talking around age ten, I’d say Kate DiCamillo. One of my favorites is The Tale of Despereaux (book only; I didn’t care for the movie), and I love Because of Winn-Dixie.

I’m a big fan of All the Little Ones, as I have lost small animals myself over the years. What was the writing process like when putting this piece together? Did you find it difficult, or…? How does the positive response from people who have gone through the same thing make you feel?

Lycanthrope: There really wasn’t much of a writing process for All the Little Ones. I wrote it the morning after losing my third hamster, Seth, and it just kind of came to me the night before. It wasn’t difficult to come up with the story – the hard part was actually getting it down on paper. The positive feedback really helps because I feel, if only in some small way, he’ll be remembered by anyone who reads it.

How do you combat writer’s block? Do you have any tips for beating out writer’s block that you’d like to share with us?

Lycanthrope: My forms of combating writer’s block are pretty standard. I use “what if,” most often and fill it in with something that couldn’t happen with my current storyline; then backtrack until it could. I rarely use the “what if” storyline, opting for other ideas that pop up while backtracking. If I’m really desperate, I’ll watch TV with my siblings. It takes a lot to keep younger kids entertained, and it’s easy to pull loose ideas from the storylines used in a single episode.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite movie? The Twilight Saga: Eclipse, but closely followed by New Moon and the new Alice in Wonderland by Tim Burton.
What’s on your iPod? It would take me ages to list my iPod, since I can’t even remember most of the songs on it. I have a lot of Paramore, Three Days Grace, Hedley, and Avril Lavigne mostly; but I have about three million songs to add.
Ron Weasley or Harry Potter? Definitely Edward Cullen or Damon Salvatore but I guess that doesn’t answer the question does it? Oh…. I’m going to have to say Ron Weasley.
Cake or ice cream? Both! No, I’m going to have to say Mint Ice Cream.
Favorite season? Summer! 0% is spent in school, and 95% can be spent on writing, other 5% on whatever; eating, sleeping, breathing.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

2 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Lycanthrope”

  1. Nella said

    Deja Vu…hasn’t she been inkpopper of the week before?
    Or am I confusing her with someone else?
    :p anywho, congrats.

  2. its really a well written article and i really liked it. keep it up with the good work. best wishes from http://www.publicityweek.com.

Leave a Reply

 
