Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: July 15, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on July 15, 2010

Let the invasion begin! Over the years we have seen literary releases from a variety of species – from human to feline to canine, and even hamster a la Betty G. Birney’s The World According to Humphrey; but perhaps HarperTeen’s upcoming release I Am Number Four, is the very first novel to be penned by an actual extraterrestrial – Pittacus Lore, to be exact. Scheduled for release on August 3, 2010; I Am Number Four will be the first in a series of six books that follow the misadventures of an on the run teenage alien. Don’t let the release date fool you; I Am Number Four is already stirring up hype in the book and film community. Why? Steven Spielberg and Michael Bay have already signed on to produce the movie adaptation! Entertainment Weekly.

Show & Tell…shopping style The economy may be down, but that doesn’t mean that back-to-school shopping is coming to a grinding halt – rather, some of your favorite stores are merely looking for a new way to market their products…with your help! In a marketing move that places stores such as Forever 21, J.C. Penney (JCP), and American Eagle (AEO) in the throes of social media; retailers are turning to VLOGGERS who post “hauls” – self-made videos which allow the star to claim bragging rights on their most recent purchases, and share them with viewers – to get the word out about products, and help drive up sales. USA Today.

From Broadway to the big screen! Since it’s publication in 1995, Gregory Maguire’s Wicked has been a phenomenal hit, spawning a long-running Broadway show of the same title that has won the hearts of worldwide readers and viewers; now, however, with demand for film musicals at an all-time high, there is talk of a possible Universal Pictures-backed big screen version of the Broadway hit – with rumors of four individuals in the running to direct the film, including Glee’s Ryan Murphy. MTV.

Over to you…do you believe in life on another planet? Will you be reading I Am Number Four? Do you think that the arrival of aliens in teen fiction will displace the current vampire craze – why or why not? Do you trust video hauls, or do you think of them as another form of advertising? Would you ever purchase items seen in a haul and/or star in a video haul of your own – why or why not? What do you think of a big screen adaptation of a Broadway musical – yay or nay? Who do you think would be the best person to direct a big screen adaptation of Wicked?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: July 15, 2010”

  1. Shirley R. Kleiner said

    As for /I Am Number Four/ it seems like quite an interesting premise, and though I do not beleive in aliens of any type, that’s what fiction’s for 🙂

    Will this be the next E.T?
    As for rocking vamps from there podium of blod-sucking fame, I think not. That wave is still at it’s peak and I see no evidence that it will come crashing down anytime soon.

    One thing’s for sure, I will definitely be adding /I Am Number Four/ to my reading list!

    As for Haul’s, I feel this is just another stab at adverising from department stores, though this time they have taken real teens, instead of model’s and actors to advertise the clothes.

    With the promise of a $1,000 gift certificate from JCP, who wouldn’t want to participate in selling there clothes? And we, the teenage consumers, are struck by this new attack at our wallets, it’s actual /people/ enjoying the clothes.

    Is it really? Or are they just buying it to get web-fame and the grand on the gift card?

    Wicked comes to video?! THIS would be exciting, even though I have not seen this particular Broadway play, I have heard much about it and it’s premise is one that I quite enjoy and would love to see performed.

    The reality of Broadway on film is this: more access to the songs and storyline. While we all accept that nothing beats the actual euphoria of the Broadway experience, we will have the chance to view that part of culture and that show, or the moview version of it, from the comfort of home.

    For proof that this is a good idea, I have seen The Phantom of the Opera on Broadway in New York City. It was an experience I will never forget, but I also get to relive the beautful storyline and music through the movie, which, though it obviously isn’t exactly lie the play, it is close enough for all intents and purposes. If Wicked can do that, it would be a wonderful and worth-while feat!

  2. Marisa :] said

    How did you know I was listening to Wicked right now? LOL

    I love Wicked. I’m seeing it live in October. I wasn’t all THAT impressed with the book, but I think it was because I knew the music first, so all the songs were constantly running through my head when I was reading.

    If Wicked became a movie, I’d be first in line to see it.

  3. HoodedEmo said

    Ahh, I Am number Four. The one book at the top of my reading list. Honestly, I think this might be the next big thing. Maybe. You never know.

    As for real extraterrestrials, I do believe. I mean, think about it. We can’t be the only living things out there. There is so much we are not able to explore at the time, but in the next couple of thousand years we just might find something. Though I don’t believe that’s something we want.

    Even look at this interview with Stephen Hawking: http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/Space/stephen-hawking-alien-contact-risky/story?id=10478157

    or watch this interesting video with him: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lw3ofIg67Jo

  4. Sparkles said

    AH!!!!!! I LOVE WICKED!!!
    I swear if wicked gets turned into a movie I am literally going to die…..
    Scratch that. I’ll see the movie THEN I’ll die.
    AWESOME!!!

  5. Nella said

    This seems like a pretty cool book. As for Aliens? Yes I believe they exist, the galaxy is huge, and we never know what might be out there. It would be pretty self-absorbed to believe we’re the only intelligent creatures on space. I think they don’t want to come because they know we’re not tolerant sometimes and we are afraid of everything that’s different.

  6. drsheridan said

    Wicked is a great show, but I’d be afraid of just how it would be translated into a movie. Basically, I don’t trust Hollywood.

    And as for “video hauls”… I’m very interested in advertising and I’d love to get into it someday, but I think a lot of companies have kind of lost it with advertising. It’s everywhere now and it’s way less effective. We need to go back to the more classical advertising of the 50s and 60s, more emphasis on good copy & artwork rather than quantity. Okay, I’ve definitely been watching too much “Mad Men”, but whatever.

Leave a Reply

 
