Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: July 20, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on July 20, 2010

‘The Great Gatsby’s’ Twenty-First Century makeover For some, our first exposure to F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby came courtesy of required reading for our English Literature class wherein we lounged by the pool during summer vacation while delving into the disastrous behavior of the beautiful Daisy Buchanan; for others, our knowledge of the Roaring Twenties-centered tale stemmed from a late night viewing of the Robert Redford film. With the recent release of Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby, however, a new generation has the chance to share a tête-à-tête with Fitzgerald’s cast of charismatic characters via video game. Part Where’s Waldo?, part literary masterpiece; you, as the player, have the chance to hobnob with Daisy, Jay, Nick, and the rest of the glittering Gatsby gang as you uncover secrets and experience the Jazz Age firsthand. GALLEYCAT.

Facebook…the film? Despite the fact that many users have begun reporting Facebook Fatigue, and a general loss of interest in social networking sites; the craze is still popular with teens, young adults, and even parents – so popular, in fact, that it has spawned a film…The Social Network. Starring Justin Timberlake, Jesse Eisenberg, and Andrew Garfield; The Social Network tells the tale of the creation of Facebook, covering why the site was initially thought up and the legal woes that were encountered once the protagonist is accused of stealing all of his ideas for the site from fellow Harvard students; in addition to the lighter side of Facebook’s creation – parties and money. MTV.

‘Before I Fall’ to the big screen! Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall has only been on bookstore shelves since March of 2010; but regardless of it’s short time in publication, the YA novel, which centers around snobbish second-semester senior, Samantha Kingston, a girl who has worked her way up the popularity ladder, finally achieving everything she has ever dreamed of, only to lose it in a car accident that takes her life a total of seven times courtesy of being forced to relive her final living day over and over again, has garnered enough popularity to snag it a film deal. Now, with the film rights optioned by Fox 2000, only one question remains…who should play the title role? MTV.

Over to you…are you a fan of The Great Gatsby? What do you think of literary classics being transformed into video games – yay or nay? Would you play Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby? Are you a Facebook user? Would you see a film based on the creation of Facebook – why or why not? Have you read Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall? If you could see any actress take up the role of Sam Kingston, who would it be and why?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

4 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: July 20, 2010”

  1. Evie said

    GOD!!!! HOLLYWOOD, STOP TAKING BOOKS AND MAKING THEM MOVIES!!!!

    Ugh…now I’m upset…-_- No, I can’t see anyone playing Samantha because I prefer it to stay a book. -_-

  2. Butterfly said

    I AGREE WITH EVIE!!!!
    Hollywood is stealing all of my favorite books and turning them into movies! First of all, they always makes things different and end up making the movie crappy, second of all half the time the actors aren’t even like the characters!!

    I’m seriously going to cry. First Maximum Ride and then all my other favorite books. I swear if these movies turn out horrible I’m gonna hurt someone. *Gets Bat*

  3. drsheridan said

    I love The Great Gatsby, and the game sounds really fun. But it will definitely piss me off if the characters don’t look like how I imagined them.

    And the Facebook movie…. dear God.

  4. Shirley R. Kleiner said

    On The Great Gatsby, it was…okay, definitely not one of my favorite things on the reading list before Sophmore year. As for making it a Video game, I have mixed feelings, I mean sure, exposure to classics and keeping them alive is good, but I would rather teens read the book.

    As for Facebook, my parents haven’t gotten around to allowing me to have one yet. I think making a movie is going overboard, it’s JUST a social networking site, and I have messed around on it at friends houses, and will admit it’s fun, but I think we do, as a society, need to learn there is no substitute for spening time with real people face to face.

    Before I Fall as a movie, I agree with Evie! There is no way that Hollywood will get it right, as I’m sure they’ll ruin it, and once again, there is no substitute for reading it! I say all of this now, but curiosity will probably get the best of me when it comes out and I’ll end up seeing it, then ranting about Hollywood for weeks.

Leave a Reply

 
