Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: July 22, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on July 22, 2010

Your favorites…gone graphic As a child Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s The Little Prince lulled you to sleep in the evenings; you stayed awake until the wee hours of the morning reading Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief; and a dog-eared copy of Jonathan Stroud’s The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Book 1: The Amulet of Samarkand accompanied you everywhere as you read it over and over again, eagerly awaiting the release of its sequel. Now your three favorites will be hitting bookstore shelves once more – only this time they’ve taken on a new look…graphic. Come October, the three aforementioned tales will re-emerge as graphic novels featuring illustrations that bring these popular stories to life. Publisher’s Weekly.

Who do you write like? Many of us strive to mimic the writing of our favorite authors; to create realistic, young adult characters and situations a la The Princess Diaries’ Meg Cabot, or weave in-depth fantastical worlds in the same fashion as Harry Potter’s J.K. Rowling. With the launch of I Write Like, you no longer have to guess as to whom your writing resembles – the statistical analysis tool found on the site will do the work for you. Simply paste a few paragraphs of your writing into the specified area, click Analyze, and the site will evaluate both your writing style and choice of words, comparing your work to that of a famed author! USA Today.

‘The Simpsons’ in the classroom A hot commodity in American television since it first debuted as a cartoon short on The Tracey Ullman Show back in April of 1987; the popularity of The Simpsons has only grown with each passing year. The one place the show is not being well-received, however, is classrooms within the United Kingdom. Said to be a learning tool in representing the media’s use of language; The Simpsons was recently introduced into a media module course being taught in Wiveliscombe’s Kingsmead Community School to less-than-rave reviews from parents who feel that the show is not up to par in terms of quality learning material. BBC News.

Over to you…what do you think of some of the most popular stories in fiction being republished as graphic novels? Will you be picking up any of these books upon publication – why or why not? Have you visited I Write Like yet? Who does your writing resemble? Do you feel that The Simpsons is an appropriate learning tool for classrooms – why or why not?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: July 22, 2010”

  1. chancerychislett said

    It says I write like J.D. Salinger? Not sure how accurate that is, but I’ll take it!

  2. numbatkowari said

    Interesting… I tried the I Write Like, and the results told me I write like Arthur C. Clarke! I pasted another part after, a dialogue one, and it said that that part resembled Stepheny Meyer. Wow, who knew!

  3. Dee said

    I did the I Write Like thing. I’ve gotten 3 different results.
    William Gibson, Cory Doctorow, and *shock horror* Stephenie Meyer.
    Someone shoot me, it just compared me to SMeyer.
    No offense, SMeyer. Lol.

  4. Nella said

    The Little Prince as a graphic novel? That book is my favorite but to be honest, the original drawings it’s what gives it magic.

    What I Write Like is extremely inaccurate, they put Lady Gaga’s song Alejandro and it says it writes like Shakeaspere, same with a birthday card. I don’t write like Dan Brown or the writer from Fight Club. Or Stephen King. They’re all great writers but absolutely not my style. It’s fun but not accurate.

  5. Dana said

    I had some fun on What I Write Like. I pasted an exerpt from Salinger’s Franny and Zooey and apparently he writes like James Joyce 🙂

  6. drsheridan said

    Graphic novels are kind of cool, I do like to check them out every once and a while. “Persepolis” is a good one, but that was just written as a graphic novel, not as a book. I think taking classics and making them graphic novels might destroy them a bit–like Nella said, it’s the beautiful drawings that make “The Little Prince” so memorable.

    Maybe I Write Like is inaccurate–but it compared my excerpt to James Joyce, so I figure it’s a take-it-or-leave-it kind of thing. If a machine is comparing me to one of my favorite authors, then I’m taking it.

  7. EvaMarieSinclair said

    Haha I doubt this is accurate but it said I write like Stephen King! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
