Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: RetroPlaid

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on August 2, 2010

“HOWDY YA’LL! I’m a proud Mississippian. I live on the coast, where that icky black stuff is on our beaches. Oh, silly me, I haven’t said my name yet! It’s P- to the E- to the Y- to the T- O- N. I want my age to stay unknown, because I’m a secret agent along with my secret agent bunny, Henry, and they wouldn’t allow me to spoil my age. I like to see people guess my age; I get a real kick out of it when they are way off.

“My main future project that I’ll post soon is about a girl diagnosed with Alopecia. Alopecia is not a deadly disease, but affects you emotionally. It is an auto-immune disorder that causes the hair follicles to shut down, which means you’ll lose hair.

“I have a cute Cockapoo puppy named Eli! A Cockapoo is a mix between a Cocker Spaniel and a Poodle. Also known as a Spoodle! (Now I want noodles) It’s most likely you’ll see a picture of him somewhere in this interview. He’s such a spoiled little princess. Haha, but I love him to death.”

The other thing Peyton (aka RetroPlaid) loves to death? Reading and writing, of course! As inkpop’s current # 1 Trendsetter, Peyton has a reputation for picking winners – a skill that she couldn’t be more proud of!

Your Trendsetter Rank is Number 1. What’s the secret to your Trendsetter success? How do you determine what inkpop projects you want to pick?

RetroPlaid: Secret? *looks around nervously* Heh-heh, what secret? I HAVE NO SECRET! Nah, just kidding :] I became this successful as a Trendsetter because I read a lot, and I mean A LOT. Like, 8963485654856589 projects a day. I was also very active, to the point where I was on almost 24 hours a day. I was, and still am, addicted. I secretly think that it was my craziness and how nice I was. If there was a time where I was not nice, it was probably because someone got me riled up. But now I just say “I love you too,” to the people who are being meaners.

As for, I determine which projects to pick? They have to pass my first-sentence-last-sentence test, sometimes I can even tell if the stories are going to be cliché or not. And—no offence—but what peeves me is the first sentence of the novel/short story, is, “I’m –insert name— I have –insert hair color, color of eyes, etc.—” I want something unique. I’ll attach the first sentence from Rosewood, by Evie J, to show you an example of a novel I gave an A+.

“There she was again. The girl who looked the same as me.”

Who wouldn’t want to continue after that? I dare you to go read that first sentence, and not continue (I recommend you go read all of it). But anyways, ever since this whole ‘riot’ thing about the Trendsetters having the same projects on their lists, I pick my own. Yes, haha, I throw a few words at my computer screen when I don’t get to a great novel fast enough! But I give thumbs up to the people who get up at five o’clock in the morning just to get to them… I used to do that, and then fell asleep around four in the afternoon.

But I got my first-sentence-last-sentence thing, I read at least five chapters, and it has to be interesting!

Do you hope to make writing a career; or do you have other aspirations?

RetroPlaid: I want to make writing a side career; I want to be a doctor. Diagnosed [The project that Peyton is currently working on, and will have posted on inkpop soon.] is what really got me wanting to be one, I can name off billions of disease names, and tell you the symptoms, ask my friend Autumn (aka whentherainfalls). I love writing, and will never quit. I’ll always find ways to sneak onto my computer and write when I get older. I have other ideas, but I don’t have as much as a passion for them as I do for being a doctor :).

What’s on your summer reading list?

RetroPlaid: What a fun question!!

1. Thirteen Plus One by Lauren Myracle
2. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong (Currently reading!)
3. Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson
4. Dear George Clooney: Please Marry My Mom by Susin Nielsen
5. Horns and Wrinkles by Joseph Helgerson
6. Shooting The Moon by Frances Dowell
7. Mocking Jay by Suzanne Collins

Eeeeek! So much more!

What do you think makes good writing?

RetroPlaid: An author who puts their heart into their novel, I see people who just wrote a novel to write it. No. You have to be committed to that story like it’s your husband/wife. You can’t cheat on it. If you do, you’ll get into this whole fight and break up. So you have no story, right? It’ll just be pages with words on ’em. Right? That’s what I thought, ha. (And this goes for every novel out there!)

You and inkpopper whentherainfalls seem extremely close…did your friendship develop via inkpop, or do you know each other in real time, as well? In what ways do you support one another?

RetroPlaid: My Netflix-granola buddeh!! Also my long-lost fraternal twin, as I think of it. Our friendship developed over inkpop, I have some people ask me if we know each other in real life because we are extremely close, and we talk to each other non-stop, haha. One day, we were talking about the manga, Fruits Basket, and she asked me if I would like to be a ‘writing buddy’ I said sure, and it all took off from there :3

In what ways do we support one another? Every single way your mind could think of. If one of us feels sad or depressed, we cheer each other up. Well, I at least try. I don’t know if I succeed or not! If we have a problem, the other will try their best to lighten up their day. We also have a little private blog, just for reviewing each other’s projects, along with my sister, Haley (aka HoodedEmo). You could call us a critique group. We tell each other straight up what they need to change, keep, take the heck out, and what is cliché. We help each other improve our work. (They are the better writers at this point, I think.) We really help one another out.

Everything of the everything. One of the reasons we are so close is because we’re so much alike, but so different. It’s just so ironic. She’s the best, and I know she’ll never let me down. ;D And the second this is posted, she’s going to be reading this, haha….HI BUDDEH!!! Love ya! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING SUCH AN AWESOME FRIEND!!!!

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite ice cream topping? Ooh!! That chocolate stuff that hardens, whipped cream, and extra cherries on top, ahhhh, now that’s the shiznits.
What’s on your iPod? The Beatles (Huge fan!), Goodnight Nurse, Hellogoodbye, Nickasaur, The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Jeffree Star, The Maine, Cobra Starship, Dot Dot Curve, Evanescene, Flyleaf, My Chemical Romance, and Nevershoutnever.
Hidden talent? I can memorize YouTube parodies word for word.
Favorite cartoon character? Zim from Invader Zim! Good gravy! That show was amazing. I still watch that show. In fact, I think I’m going to go watch it now.
Favorite vacation spot? I don’t really have one…?

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

9 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: RetroPlaid”

  1. HoodedEmo said

    😀 Woo, Peyton! *blows confetti in face*

    You are so awesome. ^_^

  2. Autumn said

    AHAHAHAHA! How did you know I WAS reading this the second it was posting? In fact, I kept checking the “Home” page back and forth for your interview to come up, and BAM! There it was 🙂

    *Waves* HIYA BUDDEH! Great interview 😀 😀 😀 *Hugs*

  3. Marisa said

    WELL IT’S ABOUT TIME YOU WERE INKPOPPER OF THE WEEK. Sheesh.
    CONGRATULATIONS!!
    And great interview.
    Your puppy is adorable and I can’t wait to read Diagnosed!

  4. Evie J said

    GREAT INTERVIEW, PEYTON!!!
    And thank you so much for mentioning me and Rosewood! That’s really sweet of you! *hugs*

  5. Nella said

    Great job! 😀
    Evie does have an awesome first line.
    Your puppy is so cute!
    Another Beatles fan? Yay!
    Invader Zim creeps me out especially when he steals organs.

  6. Sierra said

    Great interview! I love Cobra Starship I was so happy you have them on your ipod! They amaze me lol. Gabe’s dog got hit by a car… off subject either way congrats!

  7. AmyMN28 said

    Congrats!!!!!! Great interview! 🙂 You so deserved this!

  8. CARA said

    This is awesome Pey 🙂 Your dog is adorable and so are you. Now I’m curious though how old you are. People are always way off on my age too. They think I’m always younger than what I am. :p Also I love your book cover and the story behind it.

  9. El Rustito Magnifico said

    HOORAY FOR PEYTON. Very nice interview.

Leave a Reply

 
