Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Char Marie Adles

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on August 30, 2010

“I’m 16 and a 10th grader in school. I study in Honors English II and Honors World History II with a GPA of 4.5. I live in Colorado Springs, Colorado and have for ten years. I have green hair at the moment; and my secret love is chocolate. I’m a speed reader in school and my average is six 1000 page books a day. I’m in six after school clubs and I have done almost every sport you can think of. My babies are my two kitties – Koi is a bangle Siamese kitten and Smokey is an American short hair. But as you can guess my biggest hobbies are reading, writing, and making book covers!”

And making book covers is precisely what Char Marie Adles is known for here on inkpop – among other things, of course. Since joining inkpop back in March of 2010, Char has created over 200 book covers – her two favorite’s being for her very own project Beyond the Kingdom: Book One: Beyond the World, and Through Love and War by Wendy Renee Berry. Here, Char gives us a little info on creating the perfect book cover, in addition to how she felt when her project Dance of the Desert Flower broke the Top 50.

You write novels here on inkpop, but also design/create book covers for others. How would you say these two things differ from one another? Do you prefer doing one over the other?

Char Marie Adles: To tell the truth the cover is just as important as the book, because it’s the cover that sells the book, with a great story. Writing and making covers doesn’t differ a lot, they go hand in hand for me. They are both pieces of art. And there is no way I could choose between the two!

What goes into creating a stellar book cover? What steps do you have to take to make sure that it is original and eye-catching? Do you feel that some underestimate how much work and creativity goes into creating the perfect book cover?

Char Marie Adles: Well, for me the key is always to take something you see a lot and twist it. This is really fun. Like, instead of your normal girl who gets kidnapped for no reason; make her a sword-dancing princess! And always when you want something you’ve never heard of before just try thinking about the strangest thing on the planet.

When you go in to make that one perfect cover for someone, they think it’s all just picking a picture and putting words on it. But to make the perfect cover I go through thousands of pictures, fonts, size, and colors before I know its right. The perfect cover makes the book!

As someone who makes book covers, do you agree or disagree with the saying…You can’t judge a book by its cover? Why?

Char Marie Adles: Oh no not at all! If you see a great cover you know it’s going to be a great book!

Your project Dance of the Desert Flower is currently ranked as # 39. What went through your mind when your project broke the Top 50?

Char Marie Adles: I was so like “Oh My God!” I screamed when I turned to my page and my mom had to tell me to stop yelling. It’s really cool when you know that people like your book.

Which character from Dance of the Desert Flower do you feel you identify with the most and why? Did you base any characters from this book upon yourself or people you know?

Char Marie Adles: I have to say Lys. I’m not a sword dancer, nor have I been kidnapped by a gorgeous king; but like her I’ve had my own challenges in life to overcome. Lys is actually based on my best friend Kat.

What do you think makes good writing?

Char Marie Adles: A story from the heart with a little dream. That’s all it takes to make the best story one could ever read.

What are your crazy writing quirks? What do you need in order to get inspired and kick yourself into the mood to write?

Char Marie Adles: As strange as this sounds, I need my lucky pen – Standard .5mm – and a Slurpee from 7/11 down the street, with a pack of Smarties. And you can never go wrong with music.

How do you combat writer’s block? Do you have any tips for beating out writer’s block that you’d like to share with us?

Char Marie Adles:Always go for the chocolate and Diet Pepsi – you need to take a small break and refresh yourself first. Then go for a walk. When you don’t think about writing that is when it always hits you, so I always carry my lucky pen and a note pad!

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Hermione Granger or Bella Swan? Hermione, for sure!
What’s on your iPod? Cassis by Gazette!
Lucky number? 21!
Food you could eat every day? CHICKEN!
Best place to curl up with a good book? On my furry purple chair!

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

Leave a Reply

