Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Curtis Rainey

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on September 13, 2010

“I’m a 13 year old male drama queen. I live in Northern Ireland (and I’m not a redhead) with my mom and older brother. I am currently entering my third year of Secondary Education here in my favourite city in the world – Belfast! My main hobbies . . . Hmm, well obviously I love writing. It’s what helps me escape (that and a glass of cold milk and cookies). I also love reading, playing tennis, making covers . . . and my favourite: sleeping! I have a cute little 10-month-old black mixed Yorkie named Buttons (I say mine but my auntie actually owns it . . . hehe). My other favorite thing to do when I’m not on inkpop is watch re-runs of my favourite TV Show Friends. It’s my secret love!”

One of Curtis Rainey’s not-so-secret love’s, however, is inkpop itself. A member only since July; Curtis has made his presence known from the getgo via his numerous works – his book Elements: Gifts of Nature is currently ranked as # 16; friendly demeanor and quite frequent appearances in the forums; and, most recently, as an interviewer of some of inkpop’s most popular members. Now the tables have been turned and he is taking on the role of interviewee!

You are a very devoted inkpopper, spending countless hours each day on the site leaving comments, participating in live author chats, etc. Where do you find the time? What is it about inkpop that makes you keep coming back for more?

Curtis Rainey: The time, the time, the time . . . where do I find the time? Where do I not find it more like? I literally do nothing else. If I’m not forced to clean by my mom or aunt, or not reading a really good book I’ll be on Inkpop chatting with friends, swapping and promoting at the same time. Basically it’s the people and their projects. I have made really close and special friends on this site, and found some really amazing projects. inkpop is just something that will make you want more. There hasn’t been a day since I joined where I haven’t been off it for more than 24 hours. I just love getting messages saying ‘Hey, I love your profile and your stuff. You rock!’ It really puts a smile on my face. 🙂

You have conducted interviews with many of inkpop’s most accomplished authors –from Evie J to TomW. What gave you the idea to begin interviewing inkpoppers; and what goes into your selection process of potential inkpoppers to interview?

Curtis Rainey: The idea behind the interviews came when I was sitting on my sofa, and of course it was raining here in Belfast. Then something popped into my head (Interview by an inkpopper for the inkoppers). It was just a way of entertaining myself and the inkpoppers (and I am a very nosy person). It originated from questioning the Top 5 then it expanded when it became popular and people were suggesting who I should interview next! I was so happy that all the Inkies liked it and they are a very active part of the interviews. 🙂

Your project Elements: Gifts of Nature is currently ranked as # 16. How does it feel to know that your project is so close to making it into the Top 5? What is going through your mind?

Curtis Rainey: It’s really, really crazy knowing that Elements could actually be a Top 5 pick. Lots of things whirl around in my head. The main thing is editing. If my book is ever going to make it to the Top then it has perfect. So editing is a main priority at the moment. Also that and swaps, swaps. . . OH! And more swaps. I want people to really like this and help me get it there. It’s my ‘baby’ and my first serious writing project. I’m so happy with all the great comments and criticism it has been getting. 🙂

Which character from Elements: Gifts of Nature do you feel you identify with the most and why? Did you base any characters from this book upon yourself or people you know?

Curtis Rainey: I feel like my MC Alexa is the female version of me. I put a lot of myself and my characteristics into her. When people say in their comments that they felt really connected with Alexa I feel like they connected with me because Alexa and I are so alike. I do want her to be her own character though; a strong independent female character. If she really did exist I would go insane. We all would love to meet someone who is exactly the same as us and agreed on everything.

A lot of people in the book are based on actual people I know. I use a lot of family member’s names in this and in some cases the person is fully based on someone I know. Then I can go the total opposite way, and say that the other half of my characters are just themselves and not based on anybody, really. I love all my characters, because if you didn’t then you wouldn’t be able to write about them.

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors who would they be and why?

Curtis Rainey: Hmm, that’s a toughie. I’d have to say Roald Dahl, Jane Austen, A.A Milne, Cassandra Clare, and Stephenie Meyer. We would have a casual Sunday Roast prepared by my auntie. We would compare our books and writing; and compare what it is like to live in different times. Plus we would all talk about are favourite Hollywood crushes while complimenting the chef at the same time.

What do you think makes good writing?

Curtis Rainey: I think writing has to have three things to make it good: enthusiasm, descriptive writing and a good plot. If a book has all three of these things intertwined greatly and done well, then I will really like it. But that’s just me.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite quote? “If you want to receive e-mails about my upcoming shows, then please give me money so I can buy a computer” – Phoebe Buffay
What’s on your iPod? PARAMORE!!! Train, Glee, Muse, Florence and the Machine, The Script, and maybe some Gaga. 😉
London or Paris? Neither. Los Angeles! WOOOOOOOO!
Favorite pizza topping? Def. Pepperoni and Cheese. 😉 I’m so original.
If you were granted three wishes from a genie what would you ask for? Invisibility, free books whenever I wanted, and three more wishes!

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

4 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Curtis Rainey”

  1. drsheridan said

    YAY CURTIS!!! i was the first person he interviewed. 🙂

  2. chimmiewheats said

    What a cool dude! I’m glad you interviewed this guy. I don’t personally know him, but he’s hilarious and he has a great taste in music and movies and books.

    I’m gonna go check out some of his work. Rock and roll, inkpop.

  3. spauljensen said

    Great to see Curtis being interviewed for a change! 😀

  4. Lycanthrope said

    Congrats on the awesome interview 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
