Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: mleedancerr12

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on September 20, 2010

“I’m fourteen years old and from the lovely state of Massachusetts. Actually, it’s pretty boring here. There’s a lot to do, but everything is so spread out, especially in my town. Nothing is in walking distance, except houses, houses, and more houses. I think my neighborhood has more than 800 homes. I wish I lived in a small neighborhood where everyone knows everyone. The good thing about living here is that we don’t get too many natural disasters… except Hurricane Earl just gave us quite a scare. Luckily it was a weather report fail.

“I just began my freshman year of high school. So far I’m a fan… but then again it only started a couple weeks ago. It’s a lot more work than I’m used to, but I suppose that’s what comes with being in all honors classes. The whole school atmosphere is so much more relaxed, in my opinion. As long as you’re to class on time, the teachers don’t care. I love the sense of independence here that didn’t exist in middle school.

“Hobbies? Well, I’m certainly trying to keep myself busy after school. I’m dancing three to four days a week, in the drama club, on student council (and running for class treasurer!), joined a journalism and a creative writing club, and I’m auditioning for my school’s top choir, so hopefully all goes well with that! I’m learning how to find that balance between school/homework/after school activities, while still finding the time to sleep. Some people call me crazy… I just say I’m ambitious. I’m the type of person who wants to do everything and anything. Except contact sports. That’s just all around bad times…Whenever I have a spare moment you can find me on my couch watching The Nanny and other various ‘90s sitcoms.”

Though spare moments are few and far between for Marisa (aka mleedancerr12). Her project Dancing Through Life was only just recently awarded a Top Pick gold star right here on inkpop, and already she is hard at work on weaving her next tale…Perfection Is My Enemy – which is already ranked at # 86. Regardless of her busy schedule, Marisa wouldn’t have it any other way.

You state in your profile “I actually started writing on a whim and I couldn’t stop. I was reading like crazy last summer and I forget exactly what I read, but I remember thinking ‘I could do this.’ All of a sudden the idea for Dancing Through Life came to me and I’ve been writing ever since. I actually remember the first day I started writing Dancing Through Life. July 16th, 2009. It’s come so far since them, and I’m still working on it.” Do you feel as if this…epiphany of sorts has completely changed your life? If so, in what ways?

Marisa: Oh, most definitely! I mean, I was always an avid reader from an early age, but the thought of writing a book just never occurred to me. I liked English class enough, and was always decent enough at it. Ever since I’ve found writing, I see English class in a whole new way. inkPop has helped my writing improve just in English class so much. Over the summer I had to read The Hobbit and write an essay on it. (I personally thought The Hobbit was the most boring book in the history of mankind.) But I just got my essay back, and my English teacher wrote, ‘Excellent! You have a strong voice that stands out among your peers.’ That made me all excited, and if I didn’t start writing on my own, I doubt I would’ve received that kind of comment. So improving my English grade is definitely a plus!

If I never started writing, I don’t know where I’d be. Sometimes I wonder what I did with all that spare time I used to have in the summer. Also, when someone would ask me ‘what do you want to be when you grow up?’ I could never answer them. I know I still have plenty of time to think about it, but finding writing has sent me in some sort of direction at least. And I’ve made so many close friends because of inkPop that I don’t know what I’d do without!

Is there any particular message you are trying to get across to those who read Dancing Through Life? If so, what is it and why?

Marisa: Don’t give up on your dreams – ever. Life happens, and sometimes it sucks. But if you give up on your dream, that one thing that drives you, then what?

You run your own blog – Live to Dance, Write to Live. Where do you find the inspiration for your postings? For you, how does blogging differ from writing novels? Do you prefer one more than the other?

Marisa: Blogging is so much different from writing. You can’t even compare the two. My blog isn’t the most popular or the most fascinating, but it’s a piece of me. This blog is mostly about my writing, but I also have a blog through Sarah-land, a website for fans of Sarah Dessen novels. On that blog I write more personal entries about my life and starting high school. I think I’d have to say I prefer writing. Blogging is fun, but I enjoy making up stories more than telling my own.

What are your crazy writing quirks? What do you need in order to get inspired and kick yourself into the mood to write?

Marisa: I do my best writing at night. In the summer I go through periods of time where I write from eleven at night straight through to three in the morning, sometimes even later if I’m really on a role. Also, I always have to be listening to music when I write. I can’t stand the silence. The music I listen to varies between classic rock and showtunes, depending on the mood and how much I’m writing. If I’m on roll, the classic rock goes on – Journey, Queen, The Beatles. That music has a good beat, but I don’t find it distracting, so I type straight through it. If I have a night where I’m not getting much done, the Broadway Showtunes go on – RENT, Wicked, Annie. That’s something I sing along to, but I also can think and sometimes get inspired to write more.

If you were to recommend ONE book that you feel everyone should read at some point in their lives, what would it be and why?

Marisa: This question is so hard to answer. I suppose it’s good that you’re limiting me to one though… because I could probably go on and on. I guess… if I HAD to choose one… I’d choose The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. The storyline is gripping. The writing is amazing. And the narration itself is just SO unique. I don’t know what else to say because if I start rambling I’ll give away the whole story. But people…READ THIS BOOK. I know Evie J will back me up on this. 🙂

Anything else you’d like to add?

Marisa: I love inkPop 😀

Oh, and to all the people who enjoyed Dancing Through Life, I have a fairly new project up called Perfection is my Enemy. It’s about Colby, a girl who takes the word ‘perfectionist’ to new heights. She never fails… except when it comes to keeping her family together. Despite that, she keeps her wall of perfection up around the outside world. Until the impossible happens… her parents announce their divorce. This sends Colby on a downward spiral that only Max, her English partner and the boy she tutors in biology, can get her out of.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite movie? 10 Things I Hate About You 😀
What’s on your iPod? Glee, Journey, Queen, Wicked, RENT, The Beatles… this could go on. And on. And on.
Ron Weasley or Harry Potter? Ron Weasley. After the fourth book, though I do love Harry, he started to get on my nerves a bit…
Cake or ice cream? Ice Cream Cake! See what I just did there? 😉
Favorite season? Autumn. The weather is so perfect here in autumn. Not too hot, not too cold!

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

4 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: mleedancerr12”

  1. Nella said

    10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT YOU?
    YOU ARE SO MY TWIN!
    wooo for Marisa.

  2. MIC said

    Go Marisa!!!!! We love you!!!! 🙂

  3. Jem said

    Oh ’em GEE!!!! GOO MARISA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ‘Wesome and Congrats for getting Inkie of the month!

  4. Evie said

    THE BOOK THIEF!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Love you, Marisa!!! Fantastic interview! And of course: MEGA hugs for RENT and Wicked!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

 
