Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Seattlelover7

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on September 27, 2010

“My name is Zoey, and I’m an insane hyper child whose friends think she has ADHD. I’m fourteen, (Yeah, a freshie, that’s LOTS of fun…) and live in this boring old state with Bipolar weather called Wisconsin. And yes, I say ‘milk,’ not ‘malk’. WE DO NOT SPEAK LIKE THAT. Soccer and tennis are some of my favorite things to do, although due to knee issues I can’t do much soccer anymore. What I’m studying in school? Lots of things. Biology and World Studies are the hardest, probably, though I’m starting to hate French. English is my language.

“I’m determined to have a cat named Cornelius someday. And I plan on visiting London, (Tom Felton!) Italy, and Ireland. You know, once I’ve got some real money.”

Insane, hyper, whatever she may be, it is Zoey’s (aka Seattlelover7) bouncy, full-of-life personality which makes her such a fun, animated, lively character here on inkpop; though it’s her writing chops that have helped her to climb the inkpop charts like wildfire. Her book Paradox only just recently broke the Top 50, where it currently ranks as # 41 – an accomplishment which only makes her more determined to improve in her chosen craft.

You have two projects on inkpop – both of which are books. One just broke the Top 50; the other is close to breaking the Top 300. How does your success on inkpop make you feel about the future of your writing career?

Zoey: It has definitely made me more confident about my writing, and it has also showed me that I really have to go back and edit, because I always feel as if they don’t deserve their spots, especially Paradox. I never thought anything would happen with either of my novels, so the fact that it has, has probably prompted me to continue and write new things. As for an actual writing career….I know I’ve got a lot of work before I get there.

Both of your inkpop projects – Paradox and Blaze – fall into the paranormal/romance genres. Is this your favorite genre to write? Have you ever contemplated writing something completely different than these genres – why or why not?

Zoey: It’s definitely my favorite to write, mainly because it’s my favorite to read. I feel like there’s more room for imagination in the paranormal genre, and my imagination likes to run wild. 🙂 As for the romance, well….I like boys. 🙂 I’m actually writing something non-paranormal right now, called Bandaged Complexity. Yeah, it’s only got about two pages…Not sure how well it’s going to turn out. I should probably just stick to paranormal, because that’s about the only thing I read.

What made you fall in love with writing?

Zoey: What made me fall in love with writing? Jace Wayland. Well, no, I loved writing before I read about him, but still. I think it was mainly the fact that writing is something I can create all in my own. No getting angry with where the plot is going, no hating the characters- I get to control it. It’s a way to get my crazy thoughts out of my head, a way for me to write about something I’m actually interested. It’s almost like an escape from all the essays and drama in real life.

If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

Zoey: Standing in the street with my best friend while it rains. And if it’s not raining, then we’re walking to the bookstore that’s close to my house. Or I’m watching The Vampire Diaries and screaming at Elena for being mean to Damon.

What do you think makes good writing?

Zoey: You have to have an imaginative mind, I think, because you have to be able to come up with a good plot. I always need humor, because that’s the way my own mind works. And interesting characters, too, because if I hate an MC, then I just can’t read it. I feel as if they’re always needs to be a character I can hate, just as long as it’s not an MC. And, obviously, you have to know how to edit. Proofread. Make the right word choices, have nice sentence flow. If it’s riddled with mistakes, that’s all I’ll notice.

What’s on your fall/winter reading list?

Zoey: Oh, gosh, that list is so long. Fearscape by Simon Holt, Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick, Tormented by Lauren Kate, The Haunted by Jessica Verday, anything that might be released by L.J. Smith, Beautiful Darkness by Margaret Stohl and Kami Garcia, and Ghost Town by Rachel Caine are the ones that come to mind.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite movie? Uh…Vampires Suck.
What’s on your iPod? Well, I don’t have an iPod. 🙂 But if I did: Paramore, All Time Low, The Ready Set, Daughtry, The Fray, and We The Kings.
Batman or Superman? Neither: Draco Malfoy. Or Jace Wayland.
Favorite book? Can’t answer that. Too many. But we’ll just say The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong.
Dream Destination/Vacation? London. Ireland and Italy are tied for second, but…anywhere in England works.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Seattlelover7”

  1. KatharineTheDonut said

    YOU SO FLY, GURL.
    <3<3<3

  2. Aweeeesome interview! Congrats!!!!!!
    Power to Damon and paramore lovers! *fist pumps*

  3. StormyJ said

    Awesome! Nice interview, definitely your playlist of music, THE READY SET, DAUGHTRY, and WE THE KINGS, PARAMORE TOO! AND OF COURSE THE FRAY!

  4. The Beaver said

    Woohoo! Amazing interview! *scurries to read Paradox* <–It's been on my watch list for an ungodly amount of time, and I STILL haven't read it. Grr.

  5. Heyheyhey said

    Hey, we’re totally alike. Except I’ll be a freshie next year. And Wisconsin’s bipolar weather is so much fun! (NOT)

    I think I’ll go read your books now!

  6. Ellen said

    Jace Wayland!
    I totally understand 😛

  7. QueenMilaAshdown said

    Ya!!! someone else also loves Kelley Armstrong’s series!! they are the best!! (well, one of the best…I just recently read it, so that’s why it’s a must read at the moment for me…)

Leave a Reply

 
