Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Poading

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on October 11, 2010

“I’m an 18 year old, 4’11” tea addict. I like to knit hats, watch cop shows and eat anything I can get my hands on. I’m known as the semicolon police around inkpop. It’s my favorite piece of punctuation, so when I see it being misused, it hurts my soul a little bit. I’m from a little town in Oregon called Corvallis– where hipsters chill and tofu is eaten– but I’m off at university now for my first year. I’m a writing major (wow, big surprise there) and I’m thinking about a minor in history. I like to make scones and wear hats and scarves. I’m basically a grandmother sans wrinkles and the whole being old thing. Wow, that’s really boring. How’s this for interesting: I have a cactus named Napoleon in my dorm and a pillow that, I kid you not, is called ‘the Dream Hugger.’ In a nutshell, I’m a crazy hippie grandma with a slightly alarming addiction to earl grey tea.”

What else is she? Well, Rosiee (aka Poading) is also one of inkpop’s greatest champions.

A member of inkpop since October 12, 2009; Poading will celebrate her one-year inkpop anniversary tomorrow – October 12, 2010. During that time she has made herself known as a prevalent force on our site; snagging herself a Trendsetter Rank of # 3, and climbing her way to the Top 50 with her project The Elegance of Tyranny, which currently sits at # 15 in the Ranks. Though her time spent here has been a long one; Rosiee sees no end in sight for her support of inkpop.

You are one of inkpop’s oldest members – celebrating your one-year inkpop anniversary tomorrow (October 12)…how does it feel to have been here from the start? What is it about inkpop that has kept you coming back for more?

Rosiee: It’s all a bit surreal, actually. It seems like just yesterday I joined inkpop, but here I am, almost a year later. This site has changed a lot from its beta days, but it’s still my favorite writing website. The people here are truly some of the most talented and supportive writers I’ve had the good fortune to encounter and while there are always little things that bother me, as there are with any website, I’ve found a true community and made a lot of friends, which is something I can’t say for any other website.

Your book The Elegance of Tyranny is currently ranked as # 15 here on inkpop. How does it feel to know that you are so close to reaching the Top 5? What is going through your mind?

Rosiee: I guess now is about time to reveal that I am an egotistical maniac (although I’ll admit that Lorrigan wins the ego-crown) so, when I first uploaded The Elegance of Tyranny to inkpop I had high hopes. However, they were much, much lower than my rate of success. I thought it would do well, but I did not expect the amount of support I received within the first few weeks. I think my project rose to something like 150 in the first week; I thought I’d maybe get to 150 after a few months. I’m truly thankful for the support people have given me and I hope I manage to get that coveted review sometime soon.

What makes The Elegance of Tyranny unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

Rosiee: The Elegance of Tyranny is incredibly unique– in fact, I don’t think I’ve come across anything quite like it. I know I sound like an egomaniac when I say this but… well, we’ve been over this already: I am. Oddly, it isn’t historical fiction or fantasy, and yet, at the same time, both. I’ve taken inspiration from real people in real time periods (Cleopatra, Elizabeth I, the American/Native American conflicts etc.) and it is set in a time period much like 1500s in a place much like Europe, however it takes place in a fictionalized world. It’s not fantasy, though, because there are no magical elements or magical creatures or anything. I like to think it has something in it for everyone.

Apart from the genre, I think it is different from other inkpop books because it’s largely a tragedy. Unlike most High Fantasy novels (which I guess are what it’s closest to) it focuses mostly on the political network of a corrupt government instead of romance or adventures.

Your Trendsetter Rank is currently # 3. What is the secret to your Trendsetter success? How do you determine what inkpop projects you want to pick?

Rosiee: I dunno, really– At some point I noticed I was getting pretty high up and I thought– why not go for it? I figured I’d wimp out before I got anywhere with it, but I guess luck was on my side. As for what I pick… to put it simply, I pick things I like. I’m not very picky, so if your work isn’t riddled with mistakes and has a fun plot, I’ll probably like it. I like to pick some older stuff as well as new stuff, though. I’ve seen a lot of trendsetters who only pick brand new works, but I like to give the oldies a boost every now and then too.

If you had to create a soundtrack for The Elegance of Tyranny, what songs would you include and why?

Rosiee: Funny story– The original inspiration for Elegance was the French musical, Cléopâtre: La Derniere Reine D’Egypte (Cleopatre: The last queen of Egypt) and while it’s changed very much from my original idea, the music is probably the closest thing to a soundtrack I’ll ever find. The first song, Tout Sera Stratagème (Everything will be strategy) is incredibly fitting for the theme of the book.

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors who would they be and why?

Rosiee: Philippa Gregory so we could talk about history and historical elements in novels, Jennifer Fallon because she’s my all time favorite author and, let’s face it, I just want to be her, Louise Rennison because she’s downright hilarious, Dave Barry because– well, who wouldn’t want Dave Barry at their dinner party? The man’s a genius, and J. K. Rowling because I couldn’t possibly exclude the author of my favorite book series from my childhood. We’d probably discuss writing and Dave Barry and Louise Rennison would make a lot of jokes. We’d eat pie… because pie is great.

What’s on your fall/winter reading list?

Rosiee: I’m taking a pretty intense English course this fall, so I’ll be reading The Odyssey by Homer, The Aeneid by Virgil and several other Greek and Roman plays. As for free time reading (apart from the trillion inkpop books I’ll undoubtedly read) I’d like to read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (I’ve heard amazing things about it), Philippa Gregory’s two newest books, The Other Queen and The White Queen, as well as The Second Sons Trilogy by Jennifer Fallon.

What made you fall in love with writing?

Rosiee: I’m not entirely sure what it was, but I know that the books that first inspired me to become a writer were Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I know, they couldn’t be more different, but somehow the combination of reading these two brilliant works made me want to create something just as amazing.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite ice cream topping? Um… lactose intolerant xD
What’s on your iPod? 70% Beatles, 20% French music and 10% instrumental music.
Hidden talent? I’m a modern dancer (going on 15 years).
Favorite cartoon character? Iroh from Avatar: The Last Airbender.
Favorite vacation spot? Canada– all the socialized health care in the air makes me feel healthier.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

10 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Poading”

  1. Meagan said

    go rosiee~

  2. theliving said

    YAY!

  3. Marisa said

    Great Interview Rosiee! 😀

  4. El Rustito Magnifico said

    YAY ROSIEE

  5. Laney said

    Awesome Rosiee! 😀

  6. HealedMyWings said

    Rosiee, I love you and your old-lady-trapped-in-a-4’1″ body. ^-^ This is brilliant. ❤

  7. SuzyQ said

    Rosiee, you rock my world. I miss you babe.

  8. Cara said

    Oooo I love you Rosiee you’re awesomely epic and I’m happy to see a bunch of the pictures I edited for you up there 😉

  9. kbj said

    lol Canada’s air makes you feel healthier. Love it. Congratz by the way!!

  10. TomW said

    Nice interview, Rosiee. Btw, you look taller in your photos!

Leave a Reply

 
