Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: November 18, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on November 18, 2010

‘The Great Gatsby’ cast announced! Since its publication in April of 1925, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby has been hailed as a brilliant piece of literature that has captured the hearts of generations; thus, it should come as no surprise that the film adaptation currently being put together by Baz Luhrmann – whom directed Moulin Rouge and Romeo + Juliet – would garner interest from countless Hollywood heavy-hitters. Though Leonardo DiCaprio was already said to be taking up the role of Jay Gatsby; only a few days ago did Carey Mulligan learn that she would be playing the prized Daisy Buchanan – beating out actresses such as Amanda Seyfried, Blake Lively, and Michelle Williams. The film will begin production in mid-2011. MediaBistro.

Product placement…in books? TV shows such as Days of Our Lives have begun adding product placement to their scripts to earn extra advertising dollars; and while it may have been jokingly mentioned earlier in the year – it’s possible that, to keep the book business booming, these very same types of advertising methods may soon be incorporated into your favorite pieces of literature. Said The Wall Street Journal in early 2010…“With e-reader prices dropping like a stone and major tech players jumping into the book retail business, what room is left for publishers’ profits? The surprising answer: ads. They’re coming soon to a book near you.” GalleyCat.

MTV releases teaser trailer for ‘Teen Wolf’ It may share the same name as the 1985 teen hit starring Michael J. Fox; but after MTV released the teaser trailer for its upcoming new series, critics and viewers alike have made the proclamation that the show is more Twilight than Teen Wolf. Replacing the humor of the original with drama-infused teen angst; the show centers around Scott McCall (played by Tyler Posey), a high school student who is bitten by a werewolf, and suddenly finds himself the prisoner of a gift he doesn’t want – werewolf transformation. Movieline.

Over to you…are you excited to see The Great Gatsby on the big screen? Do you think that the actor/actress selections for the film are good ones – why or why not? Who would you have loved to see take on the role of Jay and Daisy Buchanan? What do you think of product placement in books? Do you feel that product placement in books would make you more likely to purchase something or not? What are your thoughts on the new Teen Wolf? Do you think there are similarities between Teen Wolf and Twilight? Even more…will you be watching Teen Wolf when it premieres?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: November 18, 2010”

  1. HobbitFeet said

    Never read The Great Gatsby, but DiCaprio is gonna be in it, so it’s probably gonna be good.

    And wait… are you saying that they’re gonna start placing adds in books? I need to know more about what this means before I can comment, though I couldn’t hate the sound of it more. I don’t want to be advertised to in a book. I would probably try to avoid items I see placed in books like that. I hate the idea. It just goes to show that all those publishing businesses out there care about money; not good literature.

    And… Teen Wolf was a horrible movie. Why are they remaking it in any form at all?

    • jen said

      I thought meant that instead of you reading

      I quickly picked up my cellphone before she could read the text…

      It will say

      I quickly picked up my htc evo cellphone before she could look at my text…

      But i dont actually know what it means. Thats what i think it means when they say product placement. Like when you are watching a show and the caracters start having a filler conversation about their cars (whih specific car models beingmentioned)

  2. Michelle said

    I am SO excited for the adaptation of The Great Gatsby. My brother finally got me to read the book earlier this year, and I LOVED it. And Moulin Rouge was excellent, so I feel like it’s in good hands. But even if I thought it looked bad, my curiosity would lead me to see it either way. xD

    I’m actually okay with who they picked for Daisy. I don’t really care for Blake Lively or Amanda Seyfried’s acting.

  3. Zoie Gale said

    Oh. My. Giggles.
    Great Gatsby as a movie?? I will be wasting away from the excitement of it until it comes out. And I think Carey Mulligan is the perfect actress for it. I don’t think anybody is going to quite capture Daisy, but she’ll come beautifully close.
    Eeeeeeeeee!!!! 🙂

  4. Laura said

    I’m reading it next month for English. That’s so awesome they’re making a movie!

  5. Kelsey said

    I think the casting of Leo DiCaprio as Gatsby is great! If I had to choose two actors to play him I would choose Robert Redford and Leo DiCaprio and now they will both have played Gatsby! Tobey Maguire as Nick Carroway is excellent, I think, and Carey Mulligan will be a brilliant Daisy. However, I think that she was more Jordan Baker’s type. Either way I can’t wait to see the movie!

  6. drsheridan said

    AHHHH GREAT GATSBY IS GONNA BE A MOVIE.

    I heard about the adaptation and I was actually pulling for Carey Mulligan. I think she’ll be a good Daisy. And Leo as Gatsby… yum.

Leave a Reply

 
