Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: thatcinderellastory

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on November 22, 2010

“I should probably get this shindig started by telling you my name is Deena, although most people on inkpop have dubbed me Cinderella, or Cindy for short. I’m 1,097 weeks old. I have a massive amount of trivia stored in my brain that is utterly useless for anything but pwning at trivial pursuit. In my spare time I play tennis, write, go on long walks, do photography, make book covers for my fellow inkies, and slay dragons. I adore music almost as much as writing, and have my own little music corner in which resides an acoustic guitar, a keyboard, a trumpet, and a flute. It is also home to a knee-high pile of sheet music.

“I spent 16 years living the Air Force life. During that time span I’ve lived in Missouri, Texas, Kansas, Iceland, New Mexico, Turkey, Missouri again, and finally Illinois. I have also been to places like Canada, Germany, Ireland, and nearly every state in the U.S.

“During my time on inkpop I’ve founded the Storyteller’s Society, and tied with Tom W for the bronze medal in the Summer 2010 Best inkpop Reviewer Awards. I’m also a member of the inkpop Historical Society and my beloved Teakettle Clan. I’m also a sub for the Insomniacs sometimes, without which my nights would be a lot more boring.”

Despite the fact that it seems as if Deena’s (aka thatcinderellastory) plate is phenomenally full (as it obviously is), she has managed to hold fast to her inkpop ranking of #16; in addition to penning three wildly popular projects – Legend of the Lightbringer, The Letter Box, and Waiting for Peter. But for Deena, it’s all in a days work!

Your project Legend of the Lightbringer is currently ranked as # 43. How does it feel to be so close to making it into the Top 5? What is currently going through your mind?

Deena: Honestly, my goal was never the top five. I feel like I have gotten everything I can out of inkpop for that story, now I’m just letting it find its own way.

The book I’m excited about is my newest one, The Letter Box. It’s the first Historical Fiction/Mystery I’ve ever taken on. I’ve gotten a much more enthusiastic response to that than I ever got from Legend, and I’m very excited to get the rest up for people to read.

In your profile you mention that you were the first person to make the inkpop Promise? Can you tell us more about this? What is the inkpop Promise?

Deena: Actually, I did write the Inkpop Promise. The point was to get people back into the true spirit of the site – writing and helping others write. The IP is not so much following the list of rules as it is realizing we’ve drifted into this “mememe” cycle. We should help others because we want to, not because we are going to get something out of it in return. So many times I will get someone who reads my book by their own free will and then demand I read theirs in return. These particular people are missing the point, and lots of really helpful members have left the site because of that. Thus, the inkpop Promise was born.

What are your crazy writing quirks? What do you need in order to get inspired and kick yourself into the mood to write?

Deena: Typically I have to isolate myself from the internet, music, and all human beings. I have a tendency to get very, very sidetracked otherwise. I have to go out of my way to make sure I don’t have anything to focus on but my writing.

When I was younger, I actually used to take a reading lamp into my closet and write there. Trust me; no one ever bothers you there. (Probably because normal people wouldn’t think to look there…) Other crazy places I’ve been known to write are under my bed, and on the roof.

You currently have three projects on inkpop – Legend of the Lightbringer, The Letter Box, and Waiting for Peter. One falls under the genre of adventure/fantasy, one falls under the genre of mystery/romance/historical fiction/general fiction, and the last is a mix of both, being categorized as adventure/romance/science fiction/fantasy. What would you say is your favorite genre to write and why?

Deena:I try to use a different genre in every book I write, it really helps one grow as a writer. However, Adventure is always a key element in my books. I feel it allows me to use my imagination.

I also love Fantasy. Books about reality have boundaries, and after a while I find myself getting bored with them.

What is your favorite place for thinking and why?

Deena: A closet, the underside of a bed, or roof is an excellent quiet place.

I also tend to walk around work obsessing over my newest projects. Not being able to write it down really helps at first because I am able to think it through so much more thoroughly. (A trick I learned from J.K. Rowling.)

Who is your favorite character(s) in any of your work and why?

Deena: I don’t have favorites. I love all my characters the same. As silly as it sounds they are like my children. However, I do tend to sympathize with the supporting characters more. For some reason, I always find them much more enjoyable than the main characters.

Do you hope to make writing a career; or do you have other aspirations?

Deena: I hope to be a published author someday, but if that falls through there’s always my dream of being Wonder Woman when I grow up…

What’s on your fall/winter reading list (not inkpop projects this time. Please list titles and authors, if possible)?

Deena: I’m in the middle of re-reading The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis and Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling for the hundredth time. I am also desperately trying to get my hands on Ted Dekker’s newest book, Emmanuel’s Veins. Apparently it’s his best work yet, which to me is mind boggling, since two of his previous books are some of the best I’ve ever read.

What made you fall in love with writing?

Deena: I don’t really know. I suppose my grandma used to tell us these wildly ridiculous bedtime stories, and they were always so good. I adored them. Because of them, I wanted to be a bedtime storyteller. When I realized there was no such thing, I started writing.

What do you think makes good writing?

Deena:Write a story that you are genuinely interested in. The more you crave to know about the story the better you are going to be at writing it. People who have written my favorite books have all said just that.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite quote? “I want to do something splendid. Something heroic or wonderful that won’t be forgotten after I’m dead. I think I shall write books.” -Louisa May Alcott ; “Don’t tell me the sky is the limit when there are footprints on the moon.” – Paul Brandt
What’s on your iPod? What is this thing called an iPod? I have a Zune, and on it I probably have a song for just about every musical taste… my most listened to are the Disney original classic soundtracks (Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella, Snow White, etc.) country, 80’s rock, Elvis, and contemporary Christian.
London or Paris? I’ve never been to either and would love to visit both.
Favorite pizza topping? Olives, pepperoni, & tomatoes.
If you were granted three wishes from a genie what would you ask for? I don’t know really, I suppose I have everything I ever wanted, and the rest will fall into place when the time is right. If I absolutely must wish, I would probably wish for a DQ ice cream cake, a stack of free spiral notebooks, and lots of inkpens.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

10 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: thatcinderellastory”

  1. Sarcasmohjoy said

    Yet another awesome IOTW 🙂 YAY FOR MENTIONING THE SOMMIES 🙂 Shoulda mentioned that she makes AWESOME covers, too!

  2. El Rustito Magnifico said

    YAY DEENA. Elvis fans unite.

  3. Laura said

    Loved this Deena!

  4. author94 said

    Congrats for being the inkpopper of the week, Deena. I love what you write and you totally deserved this!

  5. HealedMyWings said

    Hurrah, Deena! I absolutely love this article. And I thought I was the only one who wrote in closets. >.>

    Love you! ^-^

  6. Wildgreenskittle said

    Freaking awesome interview!!!! 😀 I’m glad you finally got IOTW!!!! ^_^

  7. Cara said

    “there’s always my dream of being wonder woman” had me cracking up! Goodness, Deena I love you! You’re hilarious. *hugs* congrats on being inkie of the week. awesome answers.

  8. blueview said

    Congrats on being IotW! Finally 😀
    I tend to walk around too, obsessing over my newest projects. This gets on a lot of people’s nerves though, so I’ve been trying to find a place to glue my butt to and think there >_<

  9. Nella said

    Woo!

  10. Beaver said

    Deena Deena Deena! 😀
    Spectacular interview. Loved the sommies bit.

Leave a Reply

 
