Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: inkie Awards Winners – The Best of the Best

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on December 13, 2010

Happy Monday, inkpoppers! For our second installment of our inkpopper of the Week: inkie Awards Winners, we are introducing you to a second handful of your favorite inkpop authors – luvpoets, Author S M Johnston, BlackHills, ElanorLawrence, and ashlutz!

Best Fantasy / Adventure Winner – luvpoets for Night Child

Night Child is very unique in that it, in a way, revolves around your own species of people “born between the hours of 10:00 PM and 5:45 AM.” Do you feel that this originality on your part is one of the things which has made Night Child such a popular project on inkpop, and helped it to earn the award for Best Fantasy/Adventure?

luvpoets: It’s kind of funny. When I first came up with the idea, I was working on the Forbidden Love contest. I just wanted to create a simple way to divide people. The majority of the comments I get mention the Night/Day Children concept, so I do think it has something to do with the story’s success. It’s also a deterrence for some. Some people hear Night Child and think vampires or werewolves. I think they’re surprised when they find out that everyone in the story is human.

What’s next on the agenda for Night Child?

luvpoets: Finishing Night Child is definitely next on my agenda. I know how it’s going to end. I even figured out a scientific way to explain how Night Children came to be. That was quite a feat. The problem is getting it to there. I’m in a serious battle with writers block right about now, but I refuse to let it win!

If you could say one thing to your fans/the inkpoppers who voted for you, what would it be and why?

luvpoets: I would say thank you. I’ve gotten all kinds of comments on Night Child. There were comments that made me grin from ear to ear, comments that drove me within an inch of my sanity, and comments that made me question my abilities. As for the people who voted for, nominated, and continue to support Night Child, I can’t really begin to say how much I appreciate it. I’ve grown so much as a writer from this site. There are times when I wonder if I’m good enough for publishing, if I’ll ever be good enough. Knowing that there is at least one person out there who likes something I’ve written kind of helps to put things into perspective.

Best Essay – Author S M Johnston for Etiquette for Being a Good inkpopper

You won the Best Essay Award for your project Etiquette for Being a Good inkpopper. What were you hoping that readers would take away from this project upon reading it? What inspired you to write an essay on this particular topic?

Author S M Johnston: I guess I’m a bit of a mother hen and a hippie at heart – peace, love and tolerance. With the community having thousands of users, it’s understandable that there is some friction occasionally. Often it is just from misunderstandings. So very late one night, or early one morning (I can’t remember which) I put together the essay just as my view of the inkpop world.

What’s next for Etiquette for Being a Good inkpopper? Do you have plans to add more to the piece?

Author S M Johnston: EFBAGI is a living document. If people make suggestions for other points in the comments, and they align with the essay’s philosophy, then I added them in.

Anything you’d like to say to fans of Etiquette for Being a Good inkpopper?

Author S M Johnston: Thanks for your support and Happy inkpopping (yes Ellen, I’m stealing your line).

Best Poem – BlackHills for Alone

How did it feel to be named a winner in the Second Annual inkie Awards?

BlackHills: To be honest, I was really shocked. I really wasn’t expecting it! I wrote Alone a long, long time ago and I wasn’t really expecting it to get such a positive response. Especially considering Youth Violence by JaquieC happened to also be nominated. Youth Violence is my all time favourite inkpop poem and I was pretty certain it was going to win. To hear that Alone was in fact the winner was quite surreal, and I had to check quite a few times to see if it was really true!

Is there anything you’d like to say to the inkpoppers who voted for you?

BlackHills: Thank you! *Huggles.* I really do appreciate it. Everyone has been so nice towards me, and I feel privileged to be part of such a lovely community! I’m really glad people like Alone, and I’m really happy with the amount of positive, lovely reviews I have received. Thanks guys, you’re all amazing! 🙂

What can inkpoppers expect from you next?

BlackHills: At the moment I’m trying to finish my NaNoWriMo project – Nothing Compares. I’m really quite proud of it; it’s the longest piece I’ve ever written! It’s basically about a boy who is confused about his sexuality, and ends up telling his worst enemy because he feels he can’t trust anyone else. It only has about two chapters left, which is quite a big thing for me. I’m fine with starting novels, but I can never seem to finish them. The plot is kind of complex though, so I’m focusing most of my energies on it.

Best Short Story – ElanorLawrence for Because You Laughed

This is an exciting year for you. Recently (for the month of August), Because You Laughed was named a Top Pick here on inkpop, and now it has earned the title of Best Short Story piece in the Second Annual inkie Awards. How does all of this inkpop success make you feel?

ElanorLawrence: When I first joined inkpop about nine months ago, I told myself “If I can get up to rank 45 or so, then I’ll stay.” I never imagined that I would reach Top Five, be the highest ranking short story, and be voted best short story of the year! That just blows my mind… I just have to say, it feels great! Until now I had never shown my writing to anyone but friends and family. It means so much to me that other, unbiased, readers enjoy my stories. It’s given me hope that maybe I will be able to achieve my dream of being published.

What would you like to say to the people who have supported you during your time on inkpop?

ElanorLawrence: Just, thanks! In some small way Because You Laughed is also the story of my life (though not near as graphic, thank goodness) and I thank all my readers for sharing that with me. As I said before, it means so much that they would pick it and vote for it, but all the comments I’ve received have been overwhelming. I just want to thank everyone who went on that emotional journey and was changed, however little, by my story.

Because You Laughed is listed as being complete. Do you think that you would ever revisit the characters or subject matter of Because You Laughed, or are you focusing your attentions on something new now?

ElanorLawrence: There have been some people who told me I should write a book on it, but I don’t intend to. Sometimes I would make myself physically sick while editing Because You Laughed and I have no desire to try and write a whole book with that subject matter. However, I’m working on a couple other stories, mainly Mystery/Adventure/Sci-fi. My NaNoWriMo novel, Wander, will be coming to inkpop on January 1st, so for now I’m busy with editing my VERY rough first draft. I may try to sell Because You Laughed to a magazine at some point, but since short stories usually don’t go anywhere, I’m turning my attention to novels.

Best Humor / Satire – ashlutz for Dear Liver, Just Deal With It

You are a HUGE presence on inkpop – harboring countless fans of your work; and back in July of 2010, your project In the Middle of Nowhere and Not Even Romantically Involved with a Glittery Vampire was named a Top Pick. With so much success on the site, was there any doubt in your mind that you would take home the Best Humor/Satire Award?

ashlutz: This is going to sound really bad, but no, not really. I had very little competition, which for me is very sad. I know there were three other choices in the category and I had read two of them, but I think that since I’m so present on the forums that when people think of humour, they think of me. That’s just how it is unfortunately.

How would you describe your fans – the ones who helped to make Dear Liver, Just Deal With It the winner of the Best Humor/Satire in the Second Annual inkie Awards?

ashlutz: I think it proves that people do like to laugh, and that Dear Liver is also a comedy without any romance whatsoever, it proves that this is possible and that people do like it. Sure, there are an abundance of romantic comedy books/films out there and they are popular, but I don’t believe that’s all humour is.

Dear Liver, Just Deal With It is listed as complete; and it appears that you have begun working on a new project – Wrapped in Piano Strings. What type of reaction do you hope readers have towards this new piece? How does it compare to your previous work?

ashlutz: Well, it starts with a suicide which isn’t what you think when you hear the word ‘comedy.’ But I hope people like it. I seem to be getting darker and darker as I go along, to be honest, it’s getting a little scary. My first comedy novel was In the Middle of Nowhere which was more light-hearted, then Dear Liver is about a kleptomaniac who likes to party more than is good for her and Wrapped is about a boy who’s mother dies and he has to figure out how to cope. So yeah… I might have to write something about a toadstool named Happy just to cheer myself up.

Congratulations to the winners; stop back next Monday to meet four more of your favorite inkpop authors as our inkpopper of the Week: inkie Awards Winners series continues!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

One Response to “inkpopper of the Week: inkie Awards Winners – The Best of the Best”

  1. […] Back in December 2010, when we spoke to you about your inkie Awards win you mentioned that you were working on a NaNoWriMo project entitled Nothing Compares. Are you still […]

Leave a Reply

 
