Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: December 14, 2010

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on December 14, 2010

More ‘Pretty Little Liars’ coming to a bookstore near you! You may have thought that Sara Shepard’s bestselling Pretty Little Liars series ended with book eight – Wanted, but a change has come along due, in large part, to the success of the Pretty Little Liars primetime TV show, which will return to ABC Family with new episodes on January 3, 2011. Starting on July 5, 2011, HarperCollins and Alloy Entertainment will release Twisted the first of four new books to be added to the series – bringing the total up to twelve installments. If, however, you can’t wait that long, you can always pick up Shepard’s newest release The Lying Game. Entertainment Weekly.

What was your favorite YA book of 2010? While some are in the process of putting together lists of New Year’s Resolutions; the folks over at GalleyCat are in the throes of creating lists of one of your favorite topics…books. This week they’ve created a literary mixtape of the year’s Best YA Books, which includes You by inkpop live chat alumni Charles Benoit; The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer; and countless other titles that wowed in 2010! GalleyCat.

The resurrection of ‘Animorphs’! Back in 1996, K.A. Applegate’s Animorphs was one of the few paranormal series available to middle/YA readers, following a group of kids whom had the ability to shapeshift into the form of any animal that they touched. Due to their popularity at the time, Scholastic went on to publish “54 books, two spin-off series, and 10 companion books,” in addition to being adapted into a weekly Nickelodeon original series. Now, years later, at the height of the paranormal craze, Scholastic has announced that, beginning in May 2011, they will be republishing the hit series, much to author Applegate’s joy. “I am thrilled at the re-launch,” says Applegate, who is also author of the ‘Remnants’, ‘Everworld’, and ‘Roscoe Riley Rules’ series. “’Animorphs’ had far more impact on readers than I ever expected. I’m very excited at the chance to ratify the enduring faith of the die-hard fans and, most of all, to reach a whole new generation of readers.” Publisher’s Weekly.

Over to you…are you excited to see four more books added to the Pretty Little Liars lineup? Will you be reading Sara Shepard’s new novel The Lying Game? Did any of your favorite YA books of 2010 make the best-of literary mixtape list? What was your number one favorite YA book of 2010 and why? Have you ever read the Animorphs books? Do you have plans to read the Animorphs series once they are republished this May – why or why not?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

7 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: December 14, 2010”

  1. Lithiawood said

    I used to be so in love with Animorphs! =D I have an entire shelf on one of my bookshelves dedicated to it; I’m going to have to re-read some once I get back – I remember they were so good! I wonder if the new ones will have the flip-book style human-to-animal in the bottom corner?

    (p.s.-clicking my name will take you to a very awesome place)

  2. Sarah said

    I am super pumped for PLL!

  3. Narnia Fan said

    I’ve never read Pretty Little Liars or Animorphs, and don’t really plan to.

    Well, my favorite YA book of 2010 would have to be The Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima. I would add The Demon King (also be Cinda Williams Chima) and Forest Born if I was entirely sure that they were published in 2010. XD

  4. HealedMyWings said

    I remember Animorphs. I read a few of those when I was in second grade or so. Mostly I remember something about chewing gum and the cute little pictures at the corners of the pages that changed from humans to animals when you flipped them quickly.

  5. klmay34 said

    I’m super psyched for PLL!!! 🙂 I’ve already read them all. And I’ve been meaning to read her new series! I LOVE SARA SHEPARD!!! ❤

  6. Ellen said

    I haven’t heard of Animporhs in years! I used to sit in the library and flick the corner of the book and watch that little picture morph from human to animal and back to human!

Leave a Reply

 
