Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Lorrigan

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on January 3, 2011

“I live in Auckland New Zealand, which is Somewheresville in Nowheretown where it is technically tomorrow and the world hasn’t ended yet. I have a love of pop culture and far too many obsessions. I’m currently working a summer job at a big bookstore and am juggling more writing in my spare time, which seems to dwindle every day.”

While Lorrigan (aka Lor) may be short on spare time, he has still managed to remain a strong force on inkpop, where he has written and posted two popular projects – a book entitled Child of the Apple Bearer, which currently sits at # 204 in the Ranks; and a poem known as In Memory of Miss Jane Wren. But perhaps he is best known for his quirky personality and passion for Disney films.

In your profile you state “my inspirations for writing are, oddly enough, not books but squareenix games =) and classic Disney films. If you pay close attention to the dates in my writing they coincide with various important Disney dates =).” First, what is a squareenix game? Second, why Disney films? What important Disney dates can people find within your writing?

Lorrigan: I’m a bit of a Final Fantasy nerd. These were the stories and the characters that inspired me as I grew up. Disney was also a huge influence on me and I kind of want to give something back, so my work often contains references to Disney films, events, characters or sometimes the original source material for the movies. As for the dates, they’re more in jokes, and I can’t give them away without screaming out some spoilers.

You recently announced that your book project – Child of the Apple Bearer“…is currently being massively re-amped.” What can your readers expect from this project, and your editing, in the future? What made you want to change this piece?

Lorrigan: The project that’s up is a little outdated, but every time I go to update it I always begin a new wave of editing, so it has never happened. New ideas keep popping into my head and I like to fiddle with my stories, especially Child of the Apple Bearer as it’s not a story I’m ready to let go of. I will be hard pressed to stop changing it.

If you had the chance to star as a character in any book what book would it be and why? Would you be a character that has already been created, or a new one?

Lorrigan: Peter Pan. Never growing up? Could anyone ask for more? And I love the trickster element to Pan. He may just be the most devious little character I have ever encountered.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

Lorrigan: The difference between my work and everyone else’s is that I wrote it, which is something that none of those other books have. I think that what makes mine unique is that it aspires to be more than just commercial fiction, weaving in highly literary elements which a reader can explore if they so wish.

Who is your favorite character(s) in any of your work and why?

Lorrigan: I would love to say that I love them all but my favourite, and Nella will confirm this, is Daved from Child of the Apple Bearer. He’s so much fun to write and more often than not he takes control of the story himself, with very little input from me. His brother is probably a close second, only because of the similarities between the two.

How do you combat writer’s block? Do you have any tips for beating out writer’s block that you’d like to share with us?

Lorrigan: I don’t really believe in writer’s block. There’s the story you want to tell, then there’s just working out how to get there, which generally involves a lot of playing around with a lot of different things, or working out how to convert things into symbols. The only writer’s block I have ever encountered is time, not having enough to write what I want to write.

What is your favorite place for thinking and why?

Lorrigan: Anywhere where there is water. Just a bank or a beach by a river, a lake or an ocean, which we have plenty of here. I think it might be the sound, but I’m not really sure.

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors who would they be and why?

Lorrigan: J. M. Barrie, Neil Gaiman, Kazushige Nojima, Hiromu Arakawa and Bryan Lee O’Malley. I admire all of their work and I’d imagine that formal would be the way to go, seeing as I’m seriously mixing time zones and countries. After I get over my initial excitement, which could take a while, we would probably discuss the nature of stories and their own works.

Who was your favorite childhood author and why?

Lorrigan: J. M. Barrie. I just loved Peter Pan, it’s absolutely brilliant.

What do you think makes good writing?

Lorrigan: Something new, with its own voice and own way of doing things, avoiding the same regurgitated stuff.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Chocolate chip cookies or cupcakes? Cookies.
What’s on your iPod? I’m Still Here – John Rzeznik; All Star – Smashmouth; Far too many Goo Goo Dolls tracks.
Lucky number? I don’t think I have one.
Food you could eat everyday? Burritos!
Best place to curl up with a good book? Anywhere.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

2 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Lorrigan”

  1. Nella said

    He does love Daved indeed. But if you read CotAB, you’ll see Elia is much cooler. Just saying. Anyway, congrats! You’re the first kiwi to be IotW. And you’re first the inkie of the week of 2011 =D
    I’m sort of jealous now…and now I’m craving burritos.

  2. thatcinderellastory said

    1. you CLEARLY are very cool. 🙂
    2. I LOVE John Rzeznik. and that song? ga! one of my favorites.
    3. I LOVE PETER PAN!!! ❤

    congrats, cool cat.

    XO,
    cindy.

Leave a Reply

 
