Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: wildgreenskittle

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on January 17, 2011

“I was that eighteen year old girl who played bass in a southern hardcore band, and then fell in love with the lead guitarist. We played shows on Saturday nights, played Mario kart 64 by day, then seven months later we got married. I’m now twenty-two years young, though I feel/sometimes act like I’m twenty, and still play Mario Kart. (I’m the best)

“If I wasn’t working my full-time job, I would truly be a hermit. I don’t need social interaction to survive, and I’m perfectly fine without it. I’m a really low-key kind of person, and I tend to just go with the flow. Me, and including my friends, are very indecisive people and I usually can’t even decide on what to eat for dinner.

“I also have the hobbies of a retired person. I absolutely love working on huge jigsaw puzzles, and I’m so picky about it that I have to buy a certain brand. -_- Yes, I’m just that lame. I also enjoy oil painting when I get in the mood, and have a habit of using my fingers more than a brush. Yup…that’s just me. :D”

And the “just me” that Gwen – or, as she likes to put it…“newg is my name spelled backwards” – (aka wildgreenskittle) is referring to, is the precise person that inkpoppers have grown to know and love. Since joining the site on August 7, 2010, Gwen has made quite the impression on inkpop – claiming a Top Pick title in December 2010 for her project Steel Horizon; then taking home the Best Science Fiction / Action Project in the Second Annual inkie Awards for the very same book. Sound like a lot? Definitely! But Gwen has far more in store for us!

The end of 2010 was huge for you on inkpop. Your project Steel Horizon was named a Top Pick in December, and that very same month Steel Horizon won Best Science Fiction / Action Project in the Second Annual inkie Awards. Has all of the success from last year made you more determined to accomplish even bigger and better things in regards to your writing for 2011?

wildgreenskittle: It has definitely made me more determined to finish it, and then also make into what it can really be. At this stage it’s only a skeleton of what it can be. I’m really excited to finally be finished with Steel Horizon and be happy with what I accomplished.

Also, I’m excited to work on my newer projects. I’ve had my book Windswept up on public for a few weeks now, and I’ve got a lot of great feedback from it. So, I’m hoping I’ll be able to focus more on that once I finish my other goals first.

You have two other projects on inkpop at the moment – Sunlight and Windswept. Sunlight is currently ranked as # 12 on the Charts. How does it feel to be so close to making it into the Top 5? What is currently going through your mind? Since you have already made it into the Top 5 in the past, do you feel differently about it this time?

wildgreenskittle: I’m super excited to be near the top again. The great review I got for Steel Horizon just makes me more excited to get there again. This time will be a little different though. Unlike Steel Horizon, Sunlight is already finished, and as soon as I finish editing, it’ll all be uploaded. Sunlight is also a little older than everything else, so I’m really eager to see what they have to say about it.

All three of your projects fall into the Science Fiction / Fantasy / Romance genres. Would you say that this is your favorite genre to write? Would you ever consider to writing something completely different from these genres – if so what and why?

wildgreenskittle: Science Fiction is definitely, by far, my favorite genre to write. I write what I love to read, that’s for sure. I think it’s the way my imagination is. I think of the weirdest things and somehow they turn into ideas for plots. I’m sure a lot of it has to do with all the movies I watch (like Serenity), and it gets my brain juices flowing. But really, I just think it’s the way my brain works. 😛 And who doesn’t like a little romance in their sci-fi novels. It just makes things all the more interesting.

And would I consider writing different genres? Most definitely. The only thing that’s stopping me right now is the fact that I can’t come up with good enough plots yet. Again, my brain just keeps giving me Science Fiction. But I actually would love to try General Fiction sometime, and even Historical Fiction. I would love to try and tackle all of the genres at some point.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

wildgreenskittle: Gosh, this one is a hard one. Well, I won’t write anything that doesn’t have any awesome and unique plot. That’s probably the reason I haven’t tried general fiction yet, because I haven’t thought of anything good enough yet. I need to write something that will not only keep my reader’s attention, but also my own. I don’t want to be bored with a book halfway through writing it.

In saying that, my books don’t dwell on just the plot. For example, Steel Horizon has a strong plot, one that could really just carry the story itself, but I don’t make it that way. Actually, the editor that reviewed Steel Horizon said it perfectly, and it made me so happy that they noticed. They said, “Most of all, I was happy to see that your concern here wasn’t simply with the plot, but with your characters.” And that’s what I really try to do. The story isn’t with the plot, but more with the characters. They’re what carries the story and make it come to life. I’m not really good at explaining it, but that’s the best I can do.

I guess the last thing is my imagery. Everyone comments about it, telling me it’s like watching a movie. And actually, I write things like I’m watching a movie. I play everything out in my head, and then just try to put it in words as best I can. And I guess it works out that way. ^_^

Who was your favorite childhood author and why?

wildgreenskittle: I actually don’t remember really getting into reading until I starting reading Harry Potter. I started reading them right when The Prisoner of Azkaban came out, so I guess J.K. Rowling counts as my answer. I read those books day and night, and even the three minutes in between classes in Middle School.

What’s on your winter reading list?

wildgreenskittle: Too much, haha. I just finished reading Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card….and I loved it. Ender Wiggin is just too awesome to stop reading. The next one I would like to read is Unwind by Neal Shusterman, and then probably The Scorch Trials by James Dashner. Can you tell I love Sci-fi? 😀

What made you fall in love with writing?

wildgreenskittle: The fact that I could make my daydreams come alive. I never had a way to express my weird imagination until I started writing about two years ago. And I actually have my sister, Corri, Aka Downy, to thank for that. Without her telling me to give it a try, I never would have even thought about it. Once I started, I couldn’t stop, and hadn’t since. I love making the worlds in my head come alive, it’s like releasing something that has been wanting to come out.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite quote? “Buckle up: It matters when the aliens are trying to suck you out of your car….”
What’s on your iPod? A lot of Snow Patrol and Mewithoutyou. But honestly, I don’t really listen to a lot of music…even though I was in a band, haha 😀
London or Paris? London. Green is my favorite color and I would just stare at the grass all day.
Favorite pizza topping? Extra cheese. CHEESE. O_O
If you were granted three wishes from a genie, what would you ask for? 1. For my books to become published. (obvious I know) 2. For me to be an awesome drummer. I’m good while I’m driving though 😉 3. A super power of my choice.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

9 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: wildgreenskittle”

  1. Lycanthrope said

    SKITTLE!!!!!! Awesome interview =) Congrats!

  2. Kelly said

    WOOHOO! Go newgy!
    And congrats! XD

  3. Beaver said

    Gwen! You like Mewithoutyou? 8D You have officially become More Superbly Awesome.
    Great interview!

  4. Lithiawood said

    Yay! Congrats!!! 🙂

  5. Nella said

    Yay Newg!

    Sci-fi writers FTW >:D

  6. Rave said

    w00t! Go newg!

  7. Lexie said

    Aww, newg, this was long over-due. -huggles-

  8. TheRightOne said

    Whoo hoo! Congrats, Lime! 😀

  9. Blackhills said

    Congrats Gwen, you really deserved it.
    x

Leave a Reply

 
