Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: blueview

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on January 24, 2011

“I live in a place where winter is a short way of saying, ‘get ready to freeze and never want to leave your house.’ At least that’s what I think about when I hear the word Canada.

“I’m finally about to finish high school in a few months and would be thrilled if that didn’t mean 8 more years of school. To get through these years, I plan on reading and writing in my spare time, which is quite shocking, right? Oh, and sleeping: musn’t forget my dear friend Sleep 😛

“The most interesting fact about me would probably have to be the unbelievable amount of cousins I have. Unfortunately, I haven’t ever met any of them O.o”

Never having met any of her “unbelievable amount of cousins” however doesn’t mean that Anne (aka blueview) hasn’t left a strong impression upon them – the very same way she has left a strong impression on inkpop. Since joining the site in February 2010 (yes, Anne will be celebrating her one-year inkie anniversary on February 1, 2011) Anne has captured the hearts of inkpoppers with her romance/humor project Second Time Around – an inkpop Top Pick – and even garnered the most votes for Hardest Worker on inkpop in the Second Annual inkie Awards. But for Anne, it’s all in a days work – and you can only expect more from her in the future!

2010 was a pretty big year for you on inkpop. Your project Second Time Around was named a Top Pick in July, and in December you were named Hardest Worker on inkpop in the Second Annual inkie Awards. Has all of the success from last year made you more determined to accomplish even bigger and better things in regards to your writing for 2011?

blueview: It’s given me a bit more confidence to keep aiming higher when it comes to writing. I’m not as reserved as I used to be about my writing, and all the support I was given from the inkies on Second Time Around has motivated me to edit the story and try different things in my writing. I’m going to keep writing, try different genres and once I’m confident enough about one of my novels, I’ll start querying, keep my fingers crossed and keep editing. 😛

To this day, Second Time Around is an incredibly popular story on inkpop, and was even called “compulsively readable” by HarperCollins Editor’s. What’s next for Second Time Around? Do you have further plans for this project?

blueview: Second Time Around is getting a nice, huge makeover. I’m adding some new characters, taking out some minor ones, re-working other characters, changing lots of scenes and also trying to make the story a bit shorter. Right now I’m just concentrating on making it the best that it can be, while working on its sequel titled Say It Once, which might, in time, get posted on inkpop.

Second Time Around falls into the General Fiction / Romance / Humor genre. Would you say that this is your favorite genre to write? Would you ever consider to writing something completely different from these genres – if so what and why?

blueview: These 3 genres are my comfort zone. I’ve grown up reading them day and night (literally), and it’s what I’m most comfortable writing. I love light, fun and funny romances and love writing them even more. But my biggest goal when it comes to writing is to grow as a writer, so I’m learning to broaden my horizons. I’ve been working on a paranormal book for a while now, and I just finished researching so I’m about to start the writing and I’m really excited. But just like when I read, once I’ve got too much paranormal or sci-fi in my brain, I need to go back to the chick lits. LOL.

What are your crazy writing quirks? What do you need in order to get inspired and kick yourself into the mood to write?

blueview: The normal thing that gets me in the mood to write is music. But once I’m in the mood, that’s when it gets a bit weird (and irritating for those around me). I need complete silence while I’m writing. If I hear one thing, I stop. That one thing is usually my little brother, so he hates it when I write because he has to stop whatever he’s doing and find another place to do it. Once I stop writing (even of if it’s just to think of a word), I blast the music again; otherwise I’ll get writer’s block. When I’m done gathering my ideas I need complete silence again. It’s a really annoying back-and-forth thing that’s unpleasant for anyone around me.

If you had to create a soundtrack for Second Time Around which songs would you include and why?

blueview: The original story doesn’t have a soundtrack and no matter how hard I try to find songs to go with the story, I come up with nothing. But with some of the changes I’ve made (changes that came to me while listening to music), here are some songs that I’d include for the soundtrack. They’re all songs that inspired the romance in the story, but what can I say? I’m a hopeless romantic xD

1. If It Kills Me – Jason Mraz
2. Talkin’ Smooth – Kate Voegele
3. Please Don’t Go – Mike Posner
4. Just the Way You Are – Bruno Mars
5. Breathless – Shayne Ward
(a big bowl of cheesiness, but I still love it)

What’s on your winter reading list?

blueview: Whoa, um, lots and lots of books I got over the break. I just started I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore, and here’s what I’ve got lined up after: The Millennium Trilogy (The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest) by Stieg Larsson; Unearthly by Cynthia Hand; Wondrous Strange, Darklight, Tempestuous – all by Lesley Livingston; Friday Night Cocktails by Allison Rushby; Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella; Boy Crazy by Hailey Abbott; Love on the Lifts by Rachel Hawthorne; A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick. This is just to name a few; I filled up 3 shelves with books over the break, and keep adding more each week.

What do you think makes good writing?

blueview: If you can make your readers get lost in your book, never once look up and think about putting the book down for even one second, you’ve achieved good writing. Although I’m a grammar Nazi, I don’t think good writing has much to do with grammar (it’s just annoying to read something that’s full of bad grammar in my opinion). Good writing needs believable and relatable characters, emotion in your words and a strong narrative.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite movie? She’s the Man.
What’s on your iPod? Lots of Bruno Mars: Grenade, Just The Way You Are, Count on Me, and Marry You. Also some Kate Voegele: I Won’t Disagree, Sweet Silver Lining, Hallelujah.
Ron Weasley or Harry Potter? Oo, I don’t know a thing about Harry Potter.
Cake or ice cream? Ice cream cake. 😛
Favorite season? Summer.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

3 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: blueview”

  1. Beaver said

    ANNE! ANNEANNEANNE
    Wow, I actually get to see a picture of you? 😀 Great interview, you totally deserve IotW.

  2. Lithiawood said

    Yay! 🙂 Go you!

    I lurve Count on Me and Marry You; they’re like my two favorite songs right now. I keep playing them on repeat. 😉

  3. Remy said

    Oh my gosh, Anne, you’re SOOO beautiful! *feels jealous*
    Me too! I don’t know half of my cousins either! ;D
    ICE CREAM! ♥
    You need to come back. *sobs* I miss you. =(

Leave a Reply

 
