Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

Blogger Book Review: Insatiable by Meg Cabot

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on February 13, 2011

Happy Sunday, inkpoppers! Today we bring you a review of Meg Cabot’s masterful novel Insatiable from Angie L., the blog-mistress of Bibliophile Support Group.

Angie L. has been writing book reviews for Bibliophile Support Group since 2008, and has this to say about her reading tastes…“My favorite genre tends to be YA, with an extra special love for fantasy, sci-fi, paranormal, and supernatural. But I also enjoy almost all genres of YA, middlegrade, and adult fiction, including action/adventure, murder mystery, historical fiction, thrillers, romance, comedy, chick-lit, and contemporary. I’m a fiction gal, through and through.” Visit Bibliophile Support Group for more book reviews from Angie; but for now, sink your teeth into Insatiable.

“‘Insatiable’ is Meg Cabot’s newest release and her first ever adult paranormal novel.

Meena Harper is an average, ordinary sort of young adult woman. She goes to work every day writing dialogue for the daytime soap opera Insatiable and comes home to her beloved, adorable dog Jack Bauer and currently unemployed brother, Jon.

And, oh yeah, she knows how you’re going to die.

She doesn’t really tell people this, though, since almost no one ever believes her. And she had to spend some dark years in high school as the ‘You’re Gonna Die Girl’. So, instead, she just suggests you don’t take such-and-such street home from work, or that you don’t climb that ladder.

But it’s a burden Meena has always lived with.

However, when she meets an incredibly handsome stranger, Lucien, in an unbelievably weird way – she’s flabbergasted to realize she has absolutely no idea how he will die. It’s almost as if he’s… already dead.

In fact, it looks like Meena will be getting some firsthand research done on her new vampire storyline…

With a bang, Meg offers us Meena’s twist and signature voice in the first, short chapter. By the second chapter I already like Meena and am both sympathetic and intrigued by her ability. Then we’ve got the introduction of Lucien, which is both appealing and creepy – calling back Meg’s earlier days with her YA paranormal series ‘The Mediator’ and ‘1-800-Where-R-U’ (both of which I adored and first introduced me to her).

So, as you can see – I was into ‘Insatiable’ pretty darn quickly. That’s one of the things I love most about Meg Cabot’s writing – she always puts you so ‘in’ the story.

Another thing I love about her books is how she stocks them full with awesome, fully-developed characters. One of which is Alaric. I don’t want to give away too much here about who he is or what I think of him – but I will just say that he is the owner of a weapon he calls ‘Senor Sticky’, which I can’t help but feel is an awesome shout-out to Buffy’s ‘Mr. Pointy’.

‘Insatiable’ is hard to put down and easy to keep reading. Meena is very root-able, and the novel offers the readers little surprises and twists from beginning to end. There’s a fun switching of viewpoints that Meg doesn’t do very often in her novels – which gives us even better insight into who all these characters are.

There’s great chemistry between the characters – as well as disturbing, question-raising pictures painted about the vampires, who can be truly cruel and vicious – which, to me, gave it a bit more of a deeper suspense.

My only detractors on ‘Insatiable’ were thus: I felt some relationships moved a little too fast (though I won’t say it wasn’t understandable), and as the novel progresses it seemed Meena became incessantly weepy (though, again, I wouldn’t say it wasn’t understandable). Also, I became quite passionate about how I wanted ‘Insatiable’ to end – and felt that if it ended a certain way I’d be upset.

Gosh, I sound so cryptic and confusing without supplying names or details – but I desperately don’t want to spoil anything for you, or color your opinion too much on any characters before you read it (which you totally should).

Thing is, this sort of passion and worry is just the kind of thing that shows how involved I was in ‘Insatiable’. And with the fun and entertaining dialogue, scary mystery, and truly laugh-out-loud lines sprinkled throughout ‘Insatiable’ – the book ended up being very well-rounded and had true substance. And don’t get me wrong, I still loved Meena. She’s strong, feisty and different from other Meg Cabot heroines. My small complaints were actually what made me feel so satisfied by the last page.

Why? Because Meg totally threw all my expectations out the window and showed me an exhilarating, cliche-free, refreshing, empowering conclusion that allowed my wishes to still be possible, while allowing the reader who disagrees with me to also still have hope for their resolution as well.

I really appreciated how unique ‘Insatiable’ was – and when I found out that there will be a SEQUEL I was even more excited. Because I am becoming more and more convinced that I am so totally right about who Meena should end up with. Let the debate begin!

Thank you to Angie L. from Bibliophile Support Group for talking to us about Insatiable.

Over to you…have you read Insatiable? If so, what did you think of it? If not, will you be picking this book up during your next trip to the bookstore and/or library?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

One Response to “Blogger Book Review: Insatiable by Meg Cabot”

  1. melissa rodriguez said

    I LOVED YOUR BOOK AVALON HIGH IT FELT LIKE I WAS THERE WITH THE BOOK INSIDE OF IT JUST SEEING EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENED. I WISH I HAD THIS BOOK SO I CAN READ IT WHENEVER I WANT BECAUSE IT’S A GOOD BOOK! I LOVED READING THIS BOOK I WISH I CAN READ IT AT SCHOOL ALL THE TIME BUT I CAN’T IT SUCKS THAT I CANT READ IT I LOVE THIS BOOK IT’S THE BEST BOOK IVE READ IN YEARS!I LOVED IT IT MADE ME WANT TO CRY ROMANCE AND VIOLENCE I WOULD LOVE TO READ MORE BOOKS OF YOUR ABOUT MEDIEVAL TIMES SO I LOVED YOUR BOOK IT WAS AWESOME! BYE!

Leave a Reply

