Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpop Fundamentals: February 17, 2011

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on February 17, 2011

The 411 on ‘I Am Number Four’ With the official theater release date for I Am Number Four being tomorrow – Friday, February 18, 2011; MTV has taken it upon themselves to prepare a little crash course in the book turned movie. Covering everything from need-to-know characters and plot, to info on the stars and scenes from the book that must make it to the big screen version – it’s a 411 overload that diehard fans will love, and newcomers will thank for bringing them up to speed on all things Pittacus Lore and I Am Number Four. Check it out here. MTV.

‘True Blood’s’ Sookie Stackhouse takes on the gaming world! Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse character has won over the world with her telepathic powers, and penchant for spending time with handsome vampires. But while Sookie has already earned praise in books (The Southern Vampire Mysteries), a TV series adaptation (True Blood), and comic books; the small-town Louisiana waitress is entering new territory via Dying for Daylight – a downloadable video game for your PC! Read an interview with author Charlaine Harris here regarding how a video game adaptation of a beloved book character works! Entertainment Weekly.

Stephenie Meyer’s ‘The Host to invade the box office! Despite the fact that movie rights for Stephenie Meyer’s bestselling The Host were sold nearly two years ago – in September of 2009 – little has been released about the possible big screen adaptation…until now. According to Variety, Susanna White has signed on to direct the film, with Andrew Niccol penning the script. Though characters have yet to be cast, with a director on board it seems as if the project is raring to go! “…‘The Host’ takes place on a post-alien-invasion Earth, in which extra-terrestrials takeover and inhabit human bodies. When Wanderer (also known as Wanda) takes over Melanie’s body, she realizes the human isn’t quite ready to give up her headspace. And, yes, there’s a love triangle.” Hollywood Crush.

Over to you…will you be seeing I Am Number Four when it hits theaters tomorrow? Are you counting down the days until the sequel – The Power of Six hits bookstores? What do you think of creating a video game from a book series? If you could see any literary characters morphed into a video game, who would they be and why? Are you excited to see The Host make it to the big screen? If you could select the cast for The Host, who would you include and why?

Share your thoughts in the comments section!

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

4 Responses to “inkpop Fundamentals: February 17, 2011”

  1. Wildgreenskittle said

    OH!! I’m so excited for I Am Number Four!! I hope the movie is as good as the book. 😀

  2. Lithiawood said

    Eek! I am SOOO excited to see The Host: movie edition! 😀 Seriously, The Host is one of my favorite books (disregard the fact that my list of favorite books is about 147 titles long) so it’ll be great to see how the movie turns out. Hopefully better than Meyer’s previous book-to-screen experience. 😉

    And I’m excited to read I Am Number Four! My sister has it back home so when I return I will be practically snatching it from her fingers. 😛

  3. Lycanthrope said

    About time they started working on the host =) Though I heard Ian Somerhalder was cast as Ian O’Shea from nearly the start.
    Oh, can’t wait for I am number four =) The book was pretty good.

  4. TheRightOne said

    Oh my goodness! I’m so excited for I Am Number Four ^-^ I’m actually going to see it tomorrow- when it comes out. I still need to read it, though. >.<

Leave a Reply

 
