Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: CovertKat

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on February 21, 2011

“I’m that crazy sixteen-year-old girl you’ll find dancing to the songs playing in the grocery store. I’m the middle kid of five, with two older brothers and two younger sisters. I’m also a hermit, in a way, meaning I hole up in my room and write for hours.

“I’m a sophomore in high school, and my friends and I are all pretty much as crazy as they come. I could have my license right now but I’ve put it off because if I got it I’d become the chauffer of the family. I love watching old movies and TV shows, like Some Like it Hot and I Love Lucy.

“I love popping mini chocolate chips and chugging Dr. Pepper. I love reading and probably spend more time than I should in a bookstore. I’m an insomniac, but it seems like most writers are. The only person in my family who knows I write is one of my older brothers, but I hope that someday I can have a book published.”

At the rate that Kat (aka CovertKat) is going, chances are that, in a few years time, she may just have that book (or many books) published. Though she currently has no projects posted on the site, both February and April of this year promise to be big months for her writing – as she will be releasing two separate novels during those time periods.

According to your profile, in just a few days (February 25, 2011), you will be posting Vanish (Book One). Can you tell us a bit about this project? A teaser, perhaps?

CovertKat: Vanish is the first book of a planned four-book series that takes place in Miastra, a country I’ve made up. It has many of the normal paranormal characters, some unusual ones, and some I’ve made up. The narrator grew up in the normal world knowing she’d develop powers when she was sixteen, but she didn’t know she was from Miastra. Her parents devised a plan to keep her hidden because the rebels are after her for reasons unknown to her. She is betrothed to the son of a ruler. Miastra is kind of like the old times when women weren’t allowed to make choices on their own. Myra wants to be able to decide what she wants and not have someone else make the decisions for her, which is the appeal of the rebels to her.

Here’s a snippet from chapter eleven:

“I leaped and held up the dagger. It just barely skimmed his arm when he whirled around, fangs bared, and sunk them into my neck. I screamed as hot pain filled my entire core and blood drained out of me. I tried to swing my arms but it proved useless; I was already losing too much blood and it was hard to function properly. I could hear roars coming from somewhere in the background, and then the fangs were ripped from my neck. I fell to the ground as the world faded to black.”

You also mention in your profile that, coming to inkpop on April 22, 2011, will be another project of yours – Fade (Book One). As both Vanish and Fade appear to be the first in projected series; can you tell us how these two projects differ? Who is the intended audience of these projects?

CovertKat: I love to make up paranormal creatures, and that’s where things become tricky for me. In Vanish, there are many paranormal creatures. Vanish is mostly about a girl trying to make her way in a country that rules over her, even if her father is one of the rulers. Her future is pretty much all set, but a rebellion is threatening that could open doors for her that the country in its usual state doesn’t offer.

I don’t want to give too much away about Fade because I’m still working out a few kinks in it, but so far it is about a group of werewolves who were driven out of their pack and have to make a way in the world without giving away their true identities. They go to an academy which other werewolves who also need to keep their identities a secret attend, because not all of the people in the academy are as they seem. It’s forbidden love with lots of conflict and secrets.

The intended audience I guess would be from ages thirteen and up. Books my sister, who is thirteen, would read. I want to create books people rave for, and I hope I’m able to succeed at that.

Do you feel that it is difficult to, at the same time, have two separate book series in the works? Why or why not? How do you keep things straight between the two?

CovertKat: In some ways, yes, it is hard to keep up two book series, mostly for the sole reason I can’t decide which I love more. In other ways it is hard because sometimes plots get mixed up. The characters are easy to keep separate because I make lists in notebooks about the characters I have. I don’t outline because I can’t really follow it, but I definitely write down major things that will happen and work toward those.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

CovertKat: Wow, this is hard. Well, I guess it would be because I don’t enjoy following the same old, same old “girl meets guy, guy loves girl, love triangle”-type thing. I love to have really unique plots, and I’ve been told multiple times that my books do. I want to keep readers on the tips of their toes the entire time, ending with cliffhangers and throwing twists no one saw coming.

I love the challenge of both a strong plot and strong characters. It’s hard to establish both. I love to have my narrator and supporting characters have strong voices that people can easily relate to. But I also love having plots that are different, like both Fade’s and Vanish’s. I really don’t like having characters that are perfect. I like to have my characters seem “real” enough that people will think, “This person would be my best friend!” You can’t really get that reaction when the characters are Barbie dolls.

What made you fall in love with writing?

CovertKat: I’ll have to thank a girl who is no longer my friend for that one. She and I had a contest to see who could write a book faster, and I wrote a book about a Hollywood starlet. I’ll admit it was pretty bad, but I’ve been hooked since. The fact that I can make all the random babblings and dreams I’ve had come to life is astounding. Without writing, I wouldn’t be me.

What’s on your winter reading list?

CovertKat: Well, I’ve just finished The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, as well as Nightshade by Andrea Cremer and Firelight by Sophia Jordan. Up next would definitely have to be Across the Universe by Beth Revis, Once Upon a Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber, the Evernight series by Claudia Gray and Timeless by Alexandra Monir.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite quote? “Love doesn’t make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.”
What’s on your iPod? A lot of Plumb, Neon Trees and Ashlyne Huff. My music choices vary depending on the song.
London or Paris? London. Hands down. I love the weather, and their accents. LOL.
Favorite pizza topping? I’m allergic to dairy, so when I have pizza all I have is sauce. I don’t know what I’m missing, so it doesn’t bother me.
If you were granted three wishes from a genie, what would you ask for? 1, to have my books published and loved (obviously, LOL); 2, to be able to eat all I want and never gain a pound; 3, to be able to fly.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

2 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: CovertKat”

  1. Blackhills said

    Great interview! 🙂

  2. Wildgreenskittle said

    BANANA!!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
