Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: BlackHills

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on February 28, 2011

“First off, my real name is Briony, though most people on inkpop call me BlackHills or just ‘Hills.’ I’m 14, and I live in the town that was named ‘the very centre of England,’ meaning I live about as far away from a beach as you could possibly get. I live in a small, historic market town in a valley near Oxford, which is about forty-seven minutes from London.

“I also love singing, dancing and acting, and I have performed with my theatre group at the London Palladium and The Royal Albert Hall.

“I have a dog – Jack – who is a big, soppy, playful black Labrador. He is only five years old, but already acts like an old granddad! His great, great, great grandmother was one of the Queen’s dogs, so we often treat him like royalty. 😉 I also have a younger brother, who has autism, whom I adore with all my heart. He, and the rest of my family, are a continuing source of inspiration to me.”

But it is not just Briony’s (aka BlackHills) family whom constantly inspire her; it is everyone on inkpop who has reviewed her work, left invaluable feedback, and supported each and every one of her writing endeavors since she joined the site back in August of 2010.

The end of 2010 was pretty exciting for you, as you were named the Best Poem winner in inkpop’s Second Annual inkie Awards for Alone. Has the success from last year made you more determined to accomplish even bigger and better things in regards to your writing for 2011?

BlackHills: It certainly has been exciting! I think Alone winning ‘Best Poem’ really gave me the final confidence booster that I needed to work harder on my writing, and for that I am very grateful. I’ve found myself trying to aim higher with my writing, and I’ve definitely been experimenting with other styles and formats.

You currently have two projects uploaded to inkpop – Alone, which is a poem, and The Letter., which is a short story. Would you say that these are your favorite formats to write? Would you ever consider writing something in a different format – a novel, perhaps? Why or why not?

BlackHills: I love writing short stories, but I am working on a novel and when I take a break from either I can dive into poetry as relaxation.

Back in December 2010, when we spoke to you about your inkie Awards win you mentioned that you were working on a NaNoWriMo project entitled Nothing Compares. Are you still working on this piece? Will you be posting it to inkpop anytime soon?

BlackHills: Yes, I am most definitely still working on it. Like most first-time NaNoWriMo projects, it is quite rushed and the plot is sort of all over the place, but I’m definitely trying to make it better. 🙂 I’m not sure if I’ll ever post it to inkpop, but if I do, it’ll be quite a long time from now.

Can you tell us a bit about Nothing Compares? A teaser, perhaps?

BlackHills: Nothing Compares is the first novel I’ve ever seen through from start to finish. 🙂 It’s a coming out book, sort of, but from the point of view of the girlfriend. I’m not quite sure how to explain it, as I said, the plot sort of trails off randomly, but I’m hoping to fix it up.

“Trent watched the smoke hang lazily in the air for a moment before it dispersed into the wind. Bringing the cigarette to his lips, he took another drag. He felt calm inside of him as he inhaled, but sighed when it was broken by his deep exhale.

“The air was crisp and fresh, the sky clear and blue. The faint smell of morning dew hung in the air, mixing together with the thick smell of cigarette smoke and aftershave. It made for an interesting aroma..

“Ella observed with limited interest. She hated it when Trent smoked, hated it with a passion. The smell, the taste, the after-effects. Everything. She knew he couldn’t stop now though, of course he couldn’t. He was addicted to both the taste and the feeling.

“Just like she was addicted to him.”

What are your crazy writing quirks? What do you need in order to get inspired and kick yourself into the mood to write?

BlackHills: I have to have a bowl of noodles before I start writing. There’s something about noodles that always relaxes me and gets me in the mood for writing.

If you had the chance to star as a character in any book what book would it be and why? Would you be a character that has already been created, or a new one?

BlackHills: Hm, if I could star in any book, it’d probably have to be one of the books from the Power of Five series by Anthony Horowitz. Even though the setting sounds really scary, I’ve fallen in love with all the main characters, and I’d love to have a chance to actually meet them. 😀

You live in England…do you feel that your location influences how/what you write? For instance, do you feel that your writing, or the subjects you select to write about, would be different if you lived in the States?

BlackHills: The locations I write about are mostly from my imagination, so yes they are influenced by the fact I live in England. The history and the scenery alone make me think a certain way. I think I already write with an American feel sometimes as in England we are exposed to a lot of American culture in the form of clichés.

Do you hope to make writing a career; or do you have other aspirations?

BlackHills: I’d love to have a career in writing, but I have many other dreams and aspirations. From a young age I’ve wanted to work around disabled children and teenagers, so if my writing plans don’t come through, I’m pretty sure that’s what I’ll end up doing. 🙂

What made you fall in love with writing?

BlackHills: I started writing when I traveled down South to my cousin’s house for a holiday. She started telling me about this story she was writing, and I instantly wanted to try it. The moment I got home I switched on my computer and began to write, and I guess I’ve never really looked back.

I love everything about writing. The freedom to do or say whatever I want, the ability to create the characters and scenarios that are in my head. I especially love the way I can sometimes make people smile or laugh or cry, there is nothing better, in my opinion, than stirring up emotions in people.

Who was your favorite childhood author and why?

BlackHills: Enid Blyton, most definitely. My dad used to read her books to me before bed every night, and I always found her imagery and characters enchanting. I’ve always wanted a dog like Timmy. 😀

Anything else you’d like to add?

BlackHills: Hm…I love inkpop for helping me to improve my writing. 😀 All the people that read/commented on The Letter and Alone, I appreciate it more than I think I could ever express in words.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite movie? Honestly? South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut. But a non-animated, slightly less vulgar movie… hm, probably Dirty Dancing! Nobody puts baby in the corner. 😀
What’s on your iPod? Lots and lots of Eurovision songs, I love cheesy stuff like that. Lots of Oasis and Blur. Madcon and Katy Perry, too. I don’t really have a specific music taste; I just listen to whatever sounds good. 🙂
Ron Weasley or Harry Potter? Ron Weasley. I love gingers.
Cake or ice cream? I don’t really like either, but cake I guess!
Favorite season? Spring in France, autumn in England. 🙂

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

12 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: BlackHills”

  1. Yazi said

    EEEE, congratulations, bree. Proud of my little (older) friend. i have no idea what inkpop is so like yeah…um…congratz, and stuff…YAY, i’m gonna throw chocolate at you one day at the street and scream “CONGRATZ”…yeah

    • Blackhills said

      I love you so much, dude. Like, crazy lots.

      My little Fanfiction buddy. <33333

      Thank you for reading, even though you have no idea what it's about!

      STYLE LOVE TO YOU!
      x

      • Yazi said

        All i know, bree, is that you one an award. That counts as somthing? xD

        STAHL LUV TO JOO TO
        X

  2. Lexie said

    Awesome interview! =D YAY! It’s about time. =]

  3. Lithiawood said

    Congrats! 😀

    And you are my new Southpark buddy! XD

    • Blackhills said

      Eek, you like South Park?! *pulls into a hug.*

      Thank you by the way. :3

      • Lithiawood said

        I addoooreee South Park, much to the dismay of my parents. XD

        I have a friend who is obsessed with it too, when I get back to the States we’re going to play his South Park trivia game thing. I’m so excited! 😀

      • Blackhills said

        Haha, my mum and dad have actually watched a few episodes with me! ;3

        A south park trivia game?! That sounds so awesome. I waaaant.

        Hm, I’m *slightly* obsessed too. 😀 But most definitely proud of it. 😉

  4. Wildgreenskittle said

    Awesome interview!! Congrats!! 😀

  5. Alexia said

    First of all congrats Black hills! You deserve it! A great interview 🙂
    Now quick question but has inkpop crashed for anyone else? Because this is the only part of the site I could reach :/

Leave a Reply

 
