Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: cynic-at-heart

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on March 7, 2011

β€œI’m that girl that laughs at everything, especially when it’s not funny. If it’s summer, you’ll find me sitting at the end of my driveway with a friend simply because it’s fun. Technically, my name is Isabelle, but I go by Izzy. Isabelle makes me feel either old or Italian, for some reason, and I am neither. =) I’m a sophomore in high school who’s obsessed with my Psychology class, (don’t ask why; I’ve got no idea. The whole class is full of strange people, and I’ve never been fascinated with human behaviors or anything.) Dance is and always has been my best friend – just not jazz. I suck at jazz dancing. πŸ˜›

β€œI don’t care what anyone says, I’d like to believe I live in Ireland. -__- Sure, our address may be in Minnesota, but addresses can lie. LIE, I SAY.

β€œHaha. Pets. I’ve got two psychotic dogs that I think want to kill me (though I still love them), a rabbit we randomly decided to name Tybalt, and four fish that I swear my little brother is going to kill sometime soon. He feeds them like, eight times a day. O_O”

Though full of humorous quirks, Izzy (aka cynic-at-heart) has become quite the fixture on inkpop since joining in August of 2010. But her time on the site is well spent. According to inkpopper Seattlelover7, β€œShe [cynic-at-heart] free reads all the time and does everything she can for my books (and others that she loves.) She’s been working on a series for the past three years and she’s extremely dedicated, even though she hasn’t posted anything here.” But her lack of posting may change soon…

In your profile you state β€œI’ve finished a trilogy. =o But it needs editing and rewriting. Badly. It’s going to be months before you see it on inkpop, if ever.” Can you tell us anything about this trilogy (genre, what it’s about, etc.)?

cynic-at-heart: Le sigh. The dreaded book question.

Originally, it was just supposed to be a stand alone novel. But once I finished the first book, Bliss, I just couldn’t be done with the characters. πŸ˜› It’s a paranormal romance, and honestly, even after three years, I’m still not sure what it’s about, other than conspiracies and a few psychic people. πŸ˜›

The first book, Bliss, is mainly about the MC, Hayley, discovering everything she should have already known. There’s quite a bit of subtle (Well, I tried to keep it subtle) romance, and the saying “Ignorance is bliss” is kind of the main theme.

The second book, Coarse, is completely different, though it’s the same characters. It takes place in England, mainly, for very specific reasons. ;D The song Blinding by Florence + the Machine has recently become the main theme of it. πŸ˜›

The last book doesn’t even have a title yet. .__. I’ve changed it eight hundred times. I’ve changed the entire book so many times I can’t even remember the first version anymore. πŸ˜€

Is there a reason why you are hesitant to post your trilogy on inkpop?

cynic-at-heart: There are lots of reasons. The main one is that I’m still not happy with it, and I’ve got too many ideas on how to change it. I think comments telling me of ways to fix it would just confuse me at this point – I’d like to do what I want first and then see the viewpoints of others.

You are very active on inkpop in regards to promoting the projects of others. How did you find yourself in this position, as opposed to promoting your own work?

cynic-at-heart: Ha, I just get really attached to things. πŸ˜€ I don’t promote my own for the reasons stated in the previous question, but there are some things on inkpop that I’m practically addicted to. So why shouldn’t I promote them? πŸ˜€

What are your Top 5 favorite inkpop projects at the moment, that you are promoting, and why are they your favorites?

cynic-at-heart: O_O Just five?

1) Paradox by Seattlelover7: This book is just . . . amazing. It was amazing the first time around, and the rewrite is even better. The MC is so hilarious and so realistic – even if it’s a paranormal novel, it’s easy to put yourself in her shoes. The other characters are pretty awesome, too. ;D

2) Shadowed Memory by Seattlelover7: I swear, it’s one of the best books on inkpop. There’s so much suspense, so many questions – and a very interesting hot guy. πŸ˜€ The feelings just immediately come out – the writing is just phenomenal.

3) Windswept by wildgreenskittle: She’s been a top pick twice for a reason. πŸ˜› Again, it’s the characters that caught me. Not to mention the amazing descriptions – especially of the waves.

4) To the Grave by Seattlelover7: Yeah. I’m obsessed with her writing. -_- Sue me. The plot is something I’m not used to – and I love that. I’m always looking forward to new chapters. πŸ˜› It’s a book that actually makes you have to think about what’s going to happen.

5) Video Store Girl by Chrisi: It’s simply a funny book. Andy is one of the best MC’s I’ve ever read about, and it’s almost impossible to be bored throughout this.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

cynic-at-heart: Honestly? I have no idea. I’d like to think my characters are unique and that the setting isn’t something people are used to. I’d like to think that my plot is a twist on something old – because there really isn’t much that hasn’t been done – and I’d like to think I’m able to capture people’s attention. Of course, I have no idea if any of that is true. πŸ˜›

If you had the chance to star as a character in any book what book would it be and why? Would you be a character that has already been created, or a new one?

cynic-at-heart: O_O That takes a lot of thought. D:

I guess I’d probably say I would want to be some random person from The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong. I’d rather be a newer character – I love all the current characters but I would never want to be one of them, LOL. They’ve got too many problems to deal with. πŸ˜›

If you could have a dinner party with five of your favorite authors who would they be and why?

cynic-at-heart: Kelley Armstrong, Simon Holt, Maggie Sitefvater, L.J. Smith, and J.K. Rowling. Just because I love their books so much. πŸ˜€ We’d sit outside and eat potatoes, because I’m addicted, and I’d ask them all about their writing – especially Simon Holt. I’d ask them all where they first came up with their ideas. For some reason, that question has always fascinated me.

What’s on your winter reading list?

cynic-at-heart: Hmm. Not all of them are for Winter. =/

Fearscape by Simon Holt, The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong, Demon Glass by Rachel Hawkins, The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore, Delirium by Lauren Oliver, and Fixing Delilah by Sarah Ockler are a few.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Chocolate chip cookies or cupcakes? Cookies. O_O (Thanks for making my hungry, by the way.)
What’s on your iPod? Paramore, Daughtry, Florence + the Machine, John Mayer, Ryan Adams, All Time Low, The Fray, Flyleaf, Neon Trees, and Enrique Iglesias.
Lucky number? 42
Food you could eat everyday? Potatoes. O_O
Best place to curl up with a good book? My bed. =D

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

4 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: cynic-at-heart”

  1. Beaver said

    Nice interview! πŸ˜€

  2. Blackhills said

    Awesome interview. πŸ˜€

  3. Wildgreenskittle said

    Aww, I could just hug you for mentioning Windswept. ^_^ Great interview dude!!!!

  4. Lexie said

    YAY IZZY.
    POTATOES. O_O I LOVE POTATOES.
    -cough-
    Nice interview. ;D

Leave a Reply

 
