Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Daediel

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on March 14, 2011

“What can I say? I don’t really know where I fit in the world. I’m the quiet/shy girl in the back of the class who never talks, bahaha. Unless, of course, I know you. Then I can be loud. Very loud. XD I like to be by myself most of the time, and my friends know when I get my fill of overexposure to the public masses. In fact, if I spend too much time with people, I get some sort of weird claustrophobic effect that makes me want to run D: Not good.

“On the other hand, even though I’m a quiet person, I’m the kind of girl that has too many opinions to talk about. If you ask me about something I think is interesting, you don’t get me to shut up. 😛 My family fears me when I start to talk about books.

“I tried out for the Speech and Debate team, but then I remembered how I’d rather get taken hostage than speak in front of people. My greatest fear – talking. Yes, I’m not exactly verbose, but at least it saves me from petty conversations with people I want to run away from.

“The thing that really defines me, though, is music. I can’t live without my music. I don’t think I could write without music either. I’ve become more than obsessed, and it’s been more than a few times that my mom has scolded me because she can never talk to me (I always have my earphones on.) It’s my greatest escape, and my greatest inspiration as well.”

inkpoppers couldn’t be more pleased that there is music in the world either; for if it didn’t exist, they may be without Daediel’s impressive writing prowess – such as her paranormal novel Falling, which is currently ranked at # 58 on the charts.

Your project Falling is currently ranked as # 58. How does it feel to be so close to breaking through the Top 50? What is currently going through your mind?

Daediel: Haha, well, I must admit that when I first joined inkpop, the chance to get reviewed by a great company like HarperCollins seemed entirely too good. But then, as I dove into the writing world, I have to say that my interest in breaking through the ranks is being shadowed by the obsession with finishing a novel. But if Falling does get somewhere, I will be celebrating. Very much.

Falling falls into the Paranormal / Romance / Horror genres. Would you say that these are your favorite genres to write? Would you ever consider writing something completely different from these genres – if so, what and why?

Daediel: I would definitely say that they’re my favorite genres, and I don’t think I will stray very far from them in the near future. For one, the paranormal is something that has always interested me. I have always been the introverted teenager who likes to daydream about all the things that may seem imaginary, yet so close to reality that the line between tangible and insubstantial is almost at the point of dissipating. Horror follows with my interest of paranormal, as those two can be tied together to make an epic plot. And, I felt the need to emphasize this, romance is my life. You will never find me reading something that doesn’t have at least a whisk of romance in it. I might try general fiction eventually, but I’m not sure on that fact anymore.

Your profile states, “I have just made March my make-shift NaNoWriMo, so, really, now it’s NaMaWriMo .__. (National March Writing Month) except it’s not really national. It’s mine -__- and by god, if I don’t have 50k on one novel by the end of March, someone has permission to slap me.” Can you tell us a bit about the novel you’re writing (plot and such)? How is your progress on it? Will you be posting it to inkpop when it’s complete?

Daediel: Well, after closer examination of my make-shift NaNoWriMo, I’ve decided that I will focus on a cumulative word count that can be spread between novels. Since I went along with that, I’ve been concentrating on finishing Falling and I’ve also gotten a head start on its companion novel, which was the book I was planning on writing through the month of March in my first sketch of plans. I haven’t completely set the plot on that book yet, but it will have to do with something entirely different than Falling, which is very exciting for me. We’ll see how it goes =) With the help of my trusty music advisors, and the new music I’ve been discovering, I’ve surprisingly exceeded my daily goals of 1.6k words a day, and I’m feeling pretty hopeful on finishing something. If I do, then I will certainly post it on inkpop. =)

What do you feel influences your writing and why?

Daediel: The biggest thing that influences my writing is music, really. Not exactly my ideas and my characters, but more of the mood that my writing takes. For the storylines and such, I think that my own questions and ponderings have given me the biggest pushes, surprisingly. Sometimes, books and movies also influence my ideas, but I only realize that after I’ve written a few chapters.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

Daediel: Hmm, tough one. I’d say my obsession with commas. . . though that’s not entirely a good thing x_x On the other hand, I also always strive to make my metaphors unique in my writing, and I like to think that I have a different view on emotions and the world than some. It’s different reading your own writing and critiquing it as opposed to others, so I don’t know if I really do have a different mood to my own work, or if it’s something else entirely.

Who is your favorite character(s) in any of your work and why?

Daediel: Definitely Reagan. Why? Hmm, I really feel like he’s the character that I am, more so than any of my other characters. Subconsciously, I think I’ve spilled so many of my own secrets onto Reagan than most people know, and the way he deals with things is something I have struggled with everyday. He is entirely unique though, and I think he is someone I didn’t intend bring out like this, yet he is the way he is, and he continues to surprise me.

If you had the chance to star as a character in any book what book would it be and why? Would you be a character that has already been created, or a new one?

Daediel: I’d like to be a character in the book Graceling, by Kristine Cashore. I absolutely love that book, and I think the possibility of having a completely revamped talent like Kristine’s Graced is awesome. I would like to be someone new, and that way, I’d get to meet all the characters that I already love as well as having a new opportunity at being someone unique.

Anything else you’d like to add?

Daediel: My last words (and this is the quote I live by):

[Be]lieve in
[You]rself

I always have this special mantra for myself, and I believe that the most important thing in life is not letting anyone else define you. That’s what I live for – being what I want to be, no matter what that is.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite ice cream topping? Caramel.
What’s on your iPod? Sick Puppies, Florence + The Machine, Anberlin, Keane, Meg & Dia, Addison Road, and OneRepublic (there’s a lot more, but the list would bore you guys to death).
Hidden talent? I can go without breathing for 45 seconds. o_O
Favorite cartoon character? Spongebob Squarepants, bahaha.
Favorite vacation spot? Flagstaff, Arizona.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

14 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Daediel”

  1. gaby said

    JELLO BUDDY, YAY! -clings forever- so interesting~

  2. Wildgreenskittle said

    LEID!!! ^_^
    I love Spongebob too!! WHOOHOO!!! 😀

  3. Lexie said

    DAE. O_O
    -is a creeper-
    You’re really pretty. O_O
    -creeps-
    In other news, great interview. >_>
    BUT I CAN GO WITHOUT BREATHING FOR LONGER. D:<

  4. Jesse said

    Dae! Congrats on being IOTW! this was really great interview, I loved it!
    and I agree with Lexie, you iz beautiful 😀
    Loved that final quote! Think I’ll live by it too, now 🙂

  5. gaby said

    -creepin on the creepers- gaby agrees with both lex and jesse x3

  6. Beaver said

    Great interview, and gorgeous face. ;D
    I LOVE CARAMEL TOO. SO YUMS.

  7. Tiny1 said

    Woah! We are so alike, its freaky lol XP
    I can’t live without music either 🙂

    Plus, Spongebob is awesome 😀

  8. Ravenous said

    Dae! You’re so pretty! And I agree. Spongebob rules the world.

  9. Lithiawood said

    -sings-
    daedae is the inkiee
    offf the weekie
    daedae is the inkiee
    offf the weekie

    YAYNESS! ^_^

    P.S. — the Graceling is uhmazing. I lurve that book!

  10. Jelsa said

    Yay, Dae! Aw, that rhymed :). You totally deserve this! Oh, and if you’re reading this, Cailey really misses Jace right now ;).
    And whoo, pretty pictys. :).

  11. Kelly said

    -stares at Dae and slowly noms on Reese’s Cup-
    I SEE YOU.
    Ehm.
    YAY! You really deserved this! XD
    -continues to nom on candy-

  12. Klmay34 said

    I’m goin to Flagstaff first week of May!! 🙂 it must be fun if you say it is!!

  13. thatcinderellastory said

    AHHHH!!!! It’s youuu! 😀
    this is fantastic, and I am SUPERRR jealous of your Perry T-shirt!


    XO,
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

 
