Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: Odin Tiberius Power

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on March 21, 2011

“I have two pets, a cat who’s named Butterscotch but I only ever call him cat and/or kitty. I also have a dog named Scottie, he’s a Shetland Sheepdog. People sometimes call him Beam Me Up, Scottie even though they don’t say that in Star Trek.

“Also, in my dorm, I have four non-existent pet mice: Joss, Basil, Thor and Wesley.

“My hobbies consist of just lying around outside in the sun or at night and watching the sky. I love the sky whether there’s wispy clouds floating across my vision or gleaming stars. Writing is a hobby of mine, I feel like that’s just too obvious to say. I do love to edit though. And I enjoy reading, in a different sense then some people. I love looking and dissecting the use of every word along with the imagery. One of my favorite short stories is called The Dill Pickle, I forget by who but I love to think about the imagery and word choice in this—I recommend it.

“I’m in my freshman year of university and love it, I’m a double major: Communications/English.

“I live in what I personally think is the best city stateside, Washington D.C. Moved there for college, I’m originally from Houston, Texas but grew up just outside Philly, Pennsylvania.

“I think the most interesting thing about me though is that I actually have one of the neatest volunteer jobs. I work at the National Air and Space Museum for story time. Every Thursday and Saturday, I go into DC to work and it feels great.

“I’m very ‘modern’. I love studying history from the 1910s-1960s then I break off with a love for the 1980’s, to the point a lot of people think I’m older than I am. All of this reflects in my writing though.”

Writing for Odin Tiberius Power (aka Odin) doesn’t always come in the form of novels, short stories, or poetry, as it does for many inkpoppers. Rather, Odin puts much time and effort into creating a different type of book…comics!

Your profile states, “I love, love, love comic books. I’m a huge fan of Thor, Batman, Black Canary, Black Cat and I just love birds of prey. Nothing wrong with some girl superheroes. I have a soft spot for Spiderman though. To a lot of people, I tell them I hate him. But really. Deep down. I love him. He’s a tragic hero <3” Where did your passion for comic books and superheroes come from?

Odin Tiberius Power: I really don’t know, it’s an obsession that developed through the years. When I was younger, my fun times with my dad were watching superhero cartoons. They grew on me. Over the years, I started to read comic books until suddenly, I realized that they were a part of me. Which sounds odd. I can’t imagine my life without a comic book sitting near my fingertips. But overall, I think it’s the characters that really made it for me in the end. I mean, when you think of comic books, you think of characters. There’s a reason for this because of how brilliant they are. Brilliance is relative and changes from each person’s opinion, but the characters are different, they are outsiders that are able to accomplish with what most wish.

For the most part, each superhero character becomes loved and a success story. Not all comic books are like this, but I loved sitting there and watching characters such as Peter Parker have a failure in a social life become Spider-Man. In some other favorite comic books such as Buck Rodgers, Flash Gordon and Men in Black, the characters always venture out in a crazy world. One that I want to exist other than that of Marvel/DC Comics (although Men in Black is owned by Marvel). As I continue to ramble, in the end, superheroes create an idea for me, a person who I wish I could be in a world I wish I was in. Besides that, I can’t help but love all the characters especially Thor and his human counterpart, Dr. Don Blake.

Though you don’t currently have any projects posted on inkpop, you mention in your profile that you are working on a comic book. Can you tell us more about this project?

Odin Tiberius Power: For awhile, I was working on a comic series called Heroes are Over With. It took place in alternate realities in the late 1940’s, post WWII. The plot dealt with villains and anti-heroes. Originally, my friend was going to illustrate while I would write. Everything fell apart eventually and I stopped working on the piece. I randomly came up with the idea long before, it was a novel. I was sitting there thinking about how I used to watch all these military helicopters fly past me, and wondered what it would be like in WWII to watch planes. And I liked to look at pictures of the amusement park in Prypiat and bam. . .somehow I had this wild story idea.

I also have a comic short called The Day the World Went Away, it’s too short and hard to explain. The idea is from a short story I wrote for my class, our assignment was to take a song and write a plot to it. My song was The Day the World Went Away by Nine Inch Nails. This project is sort of in stand-still due to the fact I don’t have an illustrator.

Now I’m working on a new comic book just to work on one. Later I’ll decide whether I want to continue with the project, it’ll be nice to write without anybody depending upon me.

What are you working on right now?

Odin Tiberius Power: I have one project:

The other is a comic book script for Script Frenzy that I would someday like to further develop into something greater. First, I need to finish the piece and second, I need an illustrator who will stay with me to the end. Anyhow, the comic book will either take place in the late 1920s or early 1930s. It comes from all my gritty, noir private detective movies and pulp fiction inspiration. The story revolves around Maxine Evans and Jim Grady (a ghost) who need to solve a mystery, although each mystery starts out separately. Jim Grady has to find an artifact stolen from a Smithsonian while Maxine chases after a serial killer who always leaves behind a red apple. This being my favorite of the two because I love Jim Grady, he’s my favorite character.

What do you feel influences your creativity/writing and why?

Odin Tiberius Power: Imagery and colors. It sounds weird but I constantly think from the perspective of film. I have weird broken up thoughts, but color tends to inspire me because there’s so much meaning. Blue tends to be my color for inspiration. Blue, black and white. I work in DC and it helps being surrounded by white, but snow also helps with creative bursts. I use all the colors and imagery to use in my writing. In my mind, it creates more of a literary sense. Also, I like to write more comic books. Therefore, even though I don’t illustrate, it helps me develop overarching color schemes for a story line.

Do you hope to make writing and/or creating comic books a career; or do you have other aspirations?

Odin Tiberius Power: My dream job would be to work on the editorial board for Marvel someday. I don’t know if that will ever happen or not. Currently, I’m working towards working in the publications department of one of the Smithsonian Institutions. I don’t think I could ever sit around and just be an author although it would be nice to be a comic book writer for Marvel, but I would be scared of the rabid fans. Sometimes I even stop buying certain comic book series because I don’t like the writing for the current run.

What made you fall in love with writing and the creative process?

Odin Tiberius Power: I started to make up my own stories/comic strips as a kid. They always were about magical time traveling cats or cats descended from ancient civilization that would possess one main power. Ex. The cat I had from Atlantis was able to control water. Ever since then, I never really stopped writing. For awhile, I stopped making comic strips. I would write crazy stories that would go on and on and on for pages without a plot. Yeah. I was a nutcase and probably still am.

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite quote? “Remember to always be yourself, unless you suck.” –Joss Whedon
What’s on your iPod? Pink Floyd, Depeche Mode, James Newton Howard and Muse.
London or Paris? London.
Favorite pizza topping? Pepperoni.
If you were granted three wishes from a genie, what would you wish for and why?
1. To either have superpowers and exist within a comic book world
2. To live even for a day or two in the 1920’s-1940’s
3. A pet talking cat and/or mouse.

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

8 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: Odin Tiberius Power”

  1. Lexie said

    Yay Odin! =D Awesome interview.
    Pet kitties. D: I wish I could have pet kitties. ='(

  2. Blackhills said

    You have an amazing taste in music! Wow.

    Awesome interview. =]

  3. Autumn said

    Congrats on being Inkpopper of the Week, Odin! Great interview 🙂

  4. Wildgreenskittle said

    I want to steal your TRON T-shirt! 😀
    Awesome interview!

  5. The Beaver said

    Whoooooo! Yeah, Odin! Great interview, and well-deserved. 😀

  6. Nella said

    Yay!
    =] you’re a rambler, just like me.
    Except in this comment I’m not really rambling.
    Or am I?

    GO SPIDEY AND SUPERHERO STORIES AND COMICS.

  7. Ash said

    ODINNNNNNNN ❤

  8. Lithiawood said

    OMFZG! Congrats on a great interview! 😀

    How am I not surprised you’re a fan of Joss Whedon? 😛

Leave a Reply

 
