Inkpop Blog

Write, Read, Connect

inkpopper of the Week: downwitheggs

Posted by cat eyes & skinny jeans on March 28, 2011

“Hi, I’m Callie! My iPod’s name is Fitzwilliam and my favorite shirt has a dinosaur on it. I’m in high school, probably like many of you other inkies out there.

“I’m supposed to be doing my homework right now, but I’m not (shh! Don’t tell my mom!). I tend to procrastinate on a lot of things, including my writing. It’s a bad habit, I know.

“I love to laugh, and I love making other people laugh. I watch too much TV (I’m addicted to this wonderful lil’ show called Community, and a Youtube channel by the name of Tobuscus), and I really wish I owned a dog. I’m rather random, as you can probably tell by my interview, but I’d like to think that’s what makes me creative. Besides writing, I love hanging out with my friends, swimming, studying psychology, and of course reading!”

To add to that list would be a devotion to inkpop, which is one of the top factors that led Callie (aka downwitheggs) to become inkpopper of the Week. Though her numerous writing projects – which run the gamut from short stories to books, poetry, and even essays – have made her standout in the inkpop world; it was her larger than life personality and presence that has made her adored by so many – resulting in an abundance of nominations for the title of inkpopper of the Week!

Countless inkpoppers nominated/voted for you as inkpopper of the Week. What is it about you that has left so many inkpoppers in awe?

downwitheggs: Honestly, I don’t know! I suppose I’m a little addicted to the forums. 🙂

You have written an incredible amount of books, short stories, and poems that are visible on inkpop. Which format would you say is your favorite to write and why? Is there any format that you have yet to try, but would like to in the future –if so, what?

downwitheggs: Haha yes, I do suppose I go a little overboard sometimes. 🙂 My favorite format is short stories, because you get to make a lot of things happen really quickly. Your characters get to be really dynamic, because there’s not as much time to get to know them. And they’re faster to write than books too, so you can try all different genres!

In your profile you state, “So I am working on eight books.” Can you tell us a bit more about this endeavor? Are they eight separate books; or an eight-part series? Will you be posting these projects to inkpop once you have completed them – why or why not?

downwitheggs: No, they’re not a series. Two of them are visible on inkpop: Salus and Cassandra REM. Both are adventure books, which is new for me. I’m having fun with it! As for the rest, it might be surprising to some that none of them are horror novels. One is historical, two are fantasy, and the rest are general fiction. I don’t know if any others are going to be posted here—it’s so hard to manage what I have now, and I don’t want to get overwhelming!

Do you feel that it is difficult to, at the same time, have various separate writing projects in the works? Why or why not? How do you keep things straight between them?

downwitheggs: It is difficult. A lot of my projects are still in the planning stages, since I don’t often have time during the week to write, and I wish they were farther along. I keep a notebook of ideas, as well as information about each on my laptop and on my iPod. When I work on one, I just have to get into the mindset of the book, remember what’s going on and who’s where and all that.

What makes your writing unique? What sets it apart from other inkpop projects and books that have already been published?

downwitheggs: What sets my work apart from YA in general, I think, is that I love to write horror stories. I don’t mean vampire/werewolf/paranormal horror either. It’s purely horror, where the only goal is to both entertain you and give you nightmares.

How do you combat writer’s block? Do you have any tips for beating out writer’s block that you’d like to share with us?

downwitheggs: I try to imagine a movie I’d like to see, one that hasn’t been invented yet. My books actually start out as movie trailers in my mind, which is really helpful because when you come up with a movie trailer you need characters, ideas, drama, and intrigue, all in a short span of time. It also really helps because you’re picturing everything, and then you don’t have to worry about coming up with descriptions.

If you had the chance to star as a character in any book what book would it be and why? Would you be a character that has already been created, or a new one?

downwitheggs: I always thought it’d be fun to be Hermione Granger. She’s super smart, gets to go to Hogwarts, and is best friends with Harry Potter! I find her really relatable, and I think it would be fun to be in her shoes—with magic, there are so many possibilities.

What made you fall in love with writing?

downwitheggs: I went to a summer camp when I was about seven or eight, and I took a creative writing workshop. The instructor was phenomenal—he showed real interest in everyone’s work, and was so positive about all of our ideas. I think that’s really what got me into it.

Anything else you’d like to add?

downwitheggs: Never let anyone tell you your writing is “a waste of time.” As John Lennon said, “Time you enjoyed wasting was not wasted.”

Pop, Pop, Pop! Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite movie? Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.
What’s on your iPod? Scouting For Girls, Aerosmith, Maroon 5, Jason Mraz, and Blake Lewis.
Ron Weasley or Harry Potter? Weasley for the win!
Cake or ice cream? Cake! Warm, delicious, chocolate cake. 🙂
Favorite season? Spring!

Over to you…who do you think should be the next inkpopper of the Week?

Erika (aka inkpoperika)

3 Responses to “inkpopper of the Week: downwitheggs”

  1. Lexie said

    YAY EGGIE!
    XD Awesome interview.
    But….eight books? o_O
    I don’t know how you do it.

  2. Lithiawood said

    EGGSSSSSSSSSSSSS! ❤
    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 😀

    Dude…dogs are awesome sauce. You should totally adopt one. 🙂
    And eight books? Aye-aye-ayeee (or however you spell that). Good luck missy. XD

    Great interview!!!

  3. Jesse said

    Aww, that’s was great Egglet!
    Awesome interview, and best of luck with ALL those books!
    😀

Leave a Reply

 
